We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #13 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Weekend”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We just returned from a weekend in Melbourne, choosing the Blackman in the art series hotels. I am a huge fan of Charles Blackman, particularly his Alice in Wonderland series, so it was the perfect choice. The rooms are beautifully decorated, modern but also a bit homely.

It was our ten year wedding anniversary and great choice of hotel. The staff were very polite and attentive, yet understated. We were also very pleased to find a bottle of bubbles in our room with a lovely note from the hotel. Very nice.

If I was returning to Melbourne I would definitely stay at one of the art series hotels. The others are possibly more centrally located, but I could not fault our experience. The only downside was the weather – quite cold and I wish I packed a few jackets!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyLennox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Guest,
What a lovely review, and we are extermely pleased that you have taken the time to let us know about your weekend.
The staff will be thrilled that you had a wonderful time here at the hotel and that you chose the Blackman hotel to celebrate your 10th wedding anniversary!!!
We do hope to see you again one day soon.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,321
    539
    133
    37
    27
See reviews for
230
915
117
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay of Plenty
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

I enjoyed a one night stay. My accommodation overlooked an office block but this did not matter on a Saturday night, in fact it was nice and quiet!
Receptionist was aloof and did not go the extra mile.
The decor in my spacious room was gorgeous - expect some wow factor for the $ paid.
Next day I walked from accommodation into city. I later read that there was complimentary shuttle but was never advised when I checked in.

Room Tip: If you stay on a Saturday night, ask for room looking out onto office block - I found it quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write this comment about your recent stay with us at the Blackman.
It sounds like you loved the hotel, however, I am disappointed to hear your comment on your check in experience. This service from our Reception staff is not our usual high standard, and will be discussed at our next staff meeting.
We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We stayed here for a week and cannot fault this hotel. Its 2 mins walk to tram/ bus stop which takes you either to the city or St Kilda. The room has everything you could want and it's very well equiped. We hope to stay here again when we next travel to Melbourne.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welltravelledpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know that you had a wonderful stay here at the Blackman.
We do hope to see you again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I travel quite often with work from Sydney and I was compelled to write a review following my last stay at The Blackman.
I usually stay at the Park View on St Kilda road. On my last trip into Melbourne they were full so my company put me up at The Blackman and I'm glad they did. The rooms are clean and modern, I liked the touch of the cooking facilities. The beds are incredibly soft, it's the best nights sleep I've had in a hotel in a long time. The gym is ok a little small but functional.
The thing that separates this hotel from others is the staff. I arrived late in the evening and Rob was fantastic. He was welcoming and even though it was late he introduced himself, ran through the whole hotel and told me when he would be on for the next few days. It was nice to have a point of contact.
Also Argin (I'm not sure of the spelling) the night manager was very helpful and greeted me each morning of my stay.

Thank you to all at The Blackman I'll be returning soon

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlarkin1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for this wonderful review. We are very pleased to here that we will now be your choice of accommodation when you are staying in Melbourne. As you do travel for business, the hotel does offer very competive corporate rates, please contact the hotel's sales department if you are interested.
The staff really are what makes a great hotel. Both Rob and Arjun have been with us since the opening of the hotel, and are very valued members of our team. I will be certain to tell them of your very kind words, they will be extremely pleased.
We look forward to seeing you here again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I stayed in a studio suite balcony and it was altogether a nice experience :
Situation is not central but within easy access by trams. Nothing fancy in the area except some nice office buildings and converted old villas. Only a very small choice of dining venues are within walking distance, it is a business area.
The rooms are big and nicely decorated but all the hotel theme is about one artist so, if this is important to you, you'd better check on internet if his artistic style is suiting you.!
Nice kitchenette and original modern furniture in the room. Very harmonious tones, all together, the room makes you feel fine and relax (again if you've got nothing against the artist's style)
The room was very quite but with no view (7th floor).
Main drawback is the staff, The receptionist asks for your credit card and that's it; staff met in the corridors or lifts don't say hello. This is very often the case in arty or boutique hotels, no surprise on that level at The Blackman.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois_d6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haylee J, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing this review about your recent stay with us at the Blackman. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are extremely honoured to have our hotel named after the famous Australian artist, Charles Blackman, and to have his art works throughout the building. The hotel is all themed around Charles artwork.
It is very disappointing to read, that you found our staff to be unfriendly. This is certainly not acceptable and it is certainly not our standard level of service, as you have read from all our previous tripadvisor comments about our staff.
We do hope that you will come back to the hotel and stay with us again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Julie Dale
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,471 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,514 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
7,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Property: Art Series - The Blackman
Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,347 - ₹ 14,811
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing