We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Shelf Top Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #19 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
171 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Top Shelf Top Price”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed at the Hilton for 3 nights whilst attending a conference and it ticks all the five star boxes including the price.

$39,95 for a room service club sandwich is getting up there but it was HUGE - too much for one person. The rooms especially the beds are very comfortable and the sleep quality is superb with the black out automatic blinds.

Didn't try the breakie due to miscommunication between the organisors & the hotel. When your registration states hotel breakfast included versus convention centre breakfast - you don't expect to get asked to $20 by the hotel maitre'd.

The hotel cafe has a great bacon & egg bagel with a cup of barrista coffee for about $12.

Warning_ the hotel is accessed via a small service road that crosses a major freeway entrance - at peak hour it can tahe a long time to get out of the hotel/shops prescint.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GILLRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,164
    1,060
    255
    86
    37
See reviews for
467
1,296
205
1,238
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Having arrived at 10am after a very long trip from the US, we were hoping to check in early. Not only was this not a problem, we didn't even have to ask, they just checked us straight in.
The room was clean, comfortable, quiet and plenty of space for dumping your bags, shopping etc..And as for those black out blinds - Boy do they work!!!
The staff were incredibly helpful and the concierge was everything you expect (but don't usually get), Booked our restaurants and a hire car as we asked.
This hotel may be a little out of the way (for those of you who are too lazy to walk anywhere), but there are LOADS of GREAT restaurants about and mainstream shopping is right next door. We will definitely stay here again, but if you're thinking this review is too good to be true, I do have one negative! The continental breakfast is too pricey, you'd be better off going to the hotel cafe or one of the many available places within a very short distance outside.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleJLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
I really appreciate your review.

Thank you ever so much for sharing your positive experience with your fellow travelers. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay and our friendly staff looked after you well.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This was my first trip to Melbourne as part of a trip with a close friend, on check-in we were upgraded into a suite which was an amazing room - great size, well fitted out, the view was absolutely stunning and the shower was fantastic. The bed was also very, very comfortable.

The entire property has a modern design, the rooms are reasonably well equipped and most of the staff were great. The front desk team were fantastic, as were the concierge team (except for running out of umbrellas one day, but they can't be blamed for Melbourne's crummy weather). They were responsive to all enquiries, efficient at dealing with requests and gave good recommendations.

The location is just on the edge of town, so depending where you need to be this might be worth double checking but we found it handy and close to what we needed, it's just a short stroll into town or to the tram stop, and very close to Crown.

There were just a few let-downs however, on our first night we headed to the Executive Lounge for celebratory drinks - taking a bottle of wine from the bar to our table to save getting up while we talked and wound down from a long day. The young man who was clearing the tables came past and snatched it off us, snapping "leave it at the bar". Not the kind of service you expect from a hotel like this, nor is it a big deal, but enough to leave a sour taste in my mouth.

Another minor gripe, on both nights I had barely even gotten off the lounge to answer the door to find Housekeeping had already opened it. She then just looked sheepish, handed me a chocolate and left without even attempting or asking if we would like the turn-down service. Another staff member came by to check the status of the minibar during the day and similarly knocked once and entered almost immediately. I'd hate to think what would have happened if I had been in the shower or in the process of getting dressed.

Other than that, the only other noteworthy thing would be breakfast in the Executive Lounge - the staff then were great, friendly and efficient and there's a good selection of hot and cold items available. Not a huge buffet, but more than adequate and was kept well stocked.

All in all, it was a good stay and I'd probably not hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fakem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed review.

I appreciate your feedback and have discussed this with my senior management team. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with regards Team Members knocking on your door once and entering. I can assure you that I have personally addressed this with my Team.

Once again, thank you for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Modern, clean, well position and excellent views of the CBD and docklands if you are staying on the higher level floors.

Service was very good - I stayed one night on business during the week and was offerred a room upgrade at reception.

Location - Easy walk to southbank or into the CBD.

Hotel Room - Excellent bed and bathroom. Remote control blinds a bonus if you are looking for a sleep in.

Only negative would be the lack of leisure facilities. But overall an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is the first time we have stayed in a hotel in Melbourne but found the experience very good. On check in we were asked if we wanted a room on the higher floors as we wanted to take photos we said yes one with a view. The Lady on reception told us that all the rooms left had a view of the Bay so that was good. The room had a lovely view of the Bay and West Gate Bridge also the Dockland's area. Room was a lovely big room with a full size bath and separate toilet and full size shower. Beds were very comfortable and the black out curtain was great as we didn't get any light into the room until we put the blind up. These is good if you want to sleep late. This hotel is in walking distrance of the CBD, Crown Casino, Polly Woodside and trams to South Melbourne also the Immigration Museum. There is also some bars along the Waterfront area. South Wharf DFO shopping centre is also in walking distrance. We checked out on the Sunday morning and had no trouble leaving our luggage while we did some more sightseeeing before we left the city to return home. Would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing West have views of the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tullagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Thank you for the fantastic review.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Glad you liked the room and our blinds are surely the best, especially when you want to sleep in till late.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,263 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
3,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,130 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
7,747 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#25 of 159 in Melbourne
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,948 - ₹ 22,200
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing