We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Ranked #20 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
648 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

We arrived after a LONG day after flying in from LAX. It was a pleasant surprise to find our room ready at 10 am and the complimentary upgrade. We had access to the executive floor lounge for breakfast, etc. and it is the best we have ever seen around the world at a Hilton. Overall the stay there was absolutely outstanding.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank dil345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,119
    1,044
    248
    82
    37
See reviews for
457
1,271
203
1,208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (850)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Recently stayed in a Queen Family Room during Global Atheist Convention at the adjoining Melbourne Convention Centre. The rooms are modern and clean, with bathroom ameneties including moisturiser, shower cap and razor (I asked reception for that). The blackout blinds are an excellent touch, keeping the room completely dark for that perfect sleep in which is great because the beds and the duvets are supremely comfortable. There's also a pillow menu if the ones in your room aren't to your liking. But breakfast is really where the magic happens here. The breakfast buffet is the best I've had in Melbourne. The standard fare is there, but there's a great selection of cold meats, including fish, and pastries baked continuously throughout the morning. Perfectly located for anyone attending a convention, Crown Casino or the Exhibition Centre. Plenty or restaurants nearby. Love it. Will definitely be a regular.

The only negative was the reservation process. I made the mistake of calling the hotel rather than doing it online. The lady I spoke to had very limited English. I had to spell my name 4 times, had to spell Victoria twice. The reservation process took over 20 minutes which was very frustrating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Travelled for business - one night. Excellent book in. Efficient friendly staff. Lovely room in every way. Executive lounge very nice. Breakfast buffet downstairs also very nice - better than most. Contemporary design. A little off the beaten track for walking but thats fine. Lovely view of the river and black-out blinds work very well. Room for improvement??? Not much that I could see. Given the rate and comparing to other 5* hotels - this one rocks! Easily stay here again.

Room Tip: River view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuTravelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear reviewer,

I really value your comments. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review.

Regards,

Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Martha, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Fantastic hotel. Can't really say much more as we only stayed for one night, but everything we experienced was first class. Bit of walk from the main CBD and Southbank, but South Wharf shopping centre (DFO) is right outside the front door and Crown Casino is only a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simarjoshlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay.

Regards,

Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We last stayed here 18 months ago. We had a city view then which was wonderful. This time we had a bay view that was just as good. So whatever room you have you should have a great view. The room itself was large and well fitted out with a very comfortable king bed. The fittings are all of a very high standard and the bathroom and separate shower both fit into that category. There is no noise problems and air conditioning was excellent. It is on the outskirts of the city about a 20 minute walk to the heart of the CBD or a few minutes walk to the free City Circle tram. There was alittle variance in staff performance varying from outstanding to average. On check in we had a very pleasant woman serve us but she broke off into a personal conversation with someone she obviously was friends with about half way through the process. Not really acceptable at a 5 star hotel or any hotel for that matter. However overall this is agreat hotel and if you like Tapas the hotel has the Solano restaurant and the food and service there were very good.

Room Tip: If you want a city view you will get an excellent view of the river and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisycutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Hilton Melbourne South Wharf, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

I was so pleased to hear that your enjoyed our product and services.

Regarding your comment about the Receptionist, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. I can assure you that our Front Office Manager will address this with his team.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,267 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#26 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,951 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#24 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Melbourne South Wharf? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Melbourne South Wharf

Property: Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,181 - ₹ 24,371
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Melbourne South Wharf 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf is located in the riverside South Wharf leisure precinct, on the banks of the Yarra River. Overlooking heritage sheds filled with dining and bar options and the Polly Woodside tall ship, the 396 bedroom hotel is a 10 minute walk to Etihad Stadium, the Melbourne Aquarium, Crown Entertainment Complex and Southbank. The free City Circle tram stops just across the river from the hotel, taking guests to the historic city centre, renowned Melbourne laneways and major tourist attractions. At the hotel, it is easy to indulge and relax, no matter what the occasion. With floor-to-ceiling windows offering spectacular views from every room, the Relaxation and Yarra Suites offer dramatic ambiance for a romantic getaway. The unique Two-Bedroom Suites are ideal for families or for longer stays. The expansive executive lounge features a riverside outdoor terrace on which to enjoy an aperitif at the end of a day's sightseeing, and complimentary breakfast. The hotel also offers in-room spa and massage services, a spacious complimentary Fitness Centre, upmarket Dock 37 Bar and Kitchen and casual Caffe Cino. The hotel offers guests the expertise of the Hilton brand, and the bold styling, intimate service and stylish boutique touches of an innovative, modern hotel - a perfect city getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Melbourne South Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing