We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast Buffet in Melbourne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pan Pacific Melbourne
Ranked #21 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Recently stayed in a Queen Family Room during Global Atheist Convention at the adjoining Melbourne Convention Centre. The rooms are modern and clean, with bathroom ameneties including moisturiser, shower cap and razor (I asked reception for that). The blackout blinds are an excellent touch, keeping the room completely dark for that perfect sleep in which is great because the beds and the duvets are supremely comfortable. There's also a pillow menu if the ones in your room aren't to your liking. But breakfast is really where the magic happens here. The breakfast buffet is the best I've had in Melbourne. The standard fare is there, but there's a great selection of cold meats, including fish, and pastries baked continuously throughout the morning. Perfectly located for anyone attending a convention, Crown Casino or the Exhibition Centre. Plenty or restaurants nearby. Love it. Will definitely be a regular.

The only negative was the reservation process. I made the mistake of calling the hotel rather than doing it online. The lady I spoke to had very limited English. I had to spell my name 4 times, had to spell Victoria twice. The reservation process took over 20 minutes which was very frustrating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dazman73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,708)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,986 - 2,990 of 3,708 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Travelled for business - one night. Excellent book in. Efficient friendly staff. Lovely room in every way. Executive lounge very nice. Breakfast buffet downstairs also very nice - better than most. Contemporary design. A little off the beaten track for walking but thats fine. Lovely view of the river and black-out blinds work very well. Room for improvement??? Not much that I could see. Given the rate and comparing to other 5* hotels - this one rocks! Easily stay here again.

Room Tip: River view is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuTravelots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear reviewer,

I really value your comments. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review.

Regards,

Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Fantastic hotel. Can't really say much more as we only stayed for one night, but everything we experienced was first class. Bit of walk from the main CBD and Southbank, but South Wharf shopping centre (DFO) is right outside the front door and Crown Casino is only a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simarjoshlib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay.

Regards,

Brett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We last stayed here 18 months ago. We had a city view then which was wonderful. This time we had a bay view that was just as good. So whatever room you have you should have a great view. The room itself was large and well fitted out with a very comfortable king bed. The fittings are all of a very high standard and the bathroom and separate shower both fit into that category. There is no noise problems and air conditioning was excellent. It is on the outskirts of the city about a 20 minute walk to the heart of the CBD or a few minutes walk to the free City Circle tram. There was alittle variance in staff performance varying from outstanding to average. On check in we had a very pleasant woman serve us but she broke off into a personal conversation with someone she obviously was friends with about half way through the process. Not really acceptable at a 5 star hotel or any hotel for that matter. However overall this is agreat hotel and if you like Tapas the hotel has the Solano restaurant and the food and service there were very good.

Room Tip: If you want a city view you will get an excellent view of the river and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisycutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review.

I was so pleased to hear that your enjoyed our product and services.

Regarding your comment about the Receptionist, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. I can assure you that our Front Office Manager will address this with his team.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I visited this hotel last month during my official trip to Melbourne.

The room was nice with stunning views of Yarra river. The location was also perfect for after-office leisure. There were a lot of cafes & restaurants within 10 mins walk at the Southbank. Also the free city circle tram was 5 mins walk away. Flinders street railway station was about 10-15 mins walk.

I had my daily buffet breakfast at the hotel all 5 days of my stay. The restaurant staff was superb. They were very helpful and always smiling & greetng their guests. One of the best if I can say. The only thing I was not too happy with is having exactly the same items all 5 days on the buffet! The housekeeping was also fabulous & I had no complaints.

The DFO next door was also a good place to spend time.

It was primarily the location & the service that made my stay wonderful :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willseedworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSouthWharf, General Manager at Pan Pacific Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2012

Thank you so much for your review.

I really value your comments and I’m glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,697 reviews
Crown Metropol Melbourne
#32 of 162 in Melbourne
3,922 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 162 in Melbourne
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
Crowne Plaza Melbourne
#80 of 162 in Melbourne
1,497 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#13 of 162 in Melbourne
1,118 reviews
Southbank
Crown Promenade Melbourne
Crown Promenade Melbourne
#26 of 162 in Melbourne
2,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Melbourne

Address: 2 Convention Centre Place | South Wharf, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#20 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: ₹ 9,275 - ₹ 25,776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pan Pacific Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pan Pacific Melbourne will feature 396 rooms and suites, with floor to ceiling windows that offer panoramic views of the Yarra River, Port Phillip Bay and city, complete with thoughtfully appointed amenities and modern furnishings. Guests will be able to choose from two dining outlets, an all-day-dining restaurant and bar which offers international cuisine and a nightcap in the evening, or a more relaxed cafe setting for a light meal or quick coffee. Refresh your senses at the end of a long day with our wellness facilities, including a well-equipped 24-hour fitness centre. With over 400 square metres of versatile meeting space and its proximity to the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, Pan Pacific Melbourne will be an ideal base for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pan Pacific Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing