We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pub - CLOSED

The Pub
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 33
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: Southbank
Essex
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

we went here every evening as they served good, basic food for us English

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gladys45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    14
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Give it a miss”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Did not have a good meal at the pub we were a table of 10 they missed 2 of out meals and when we asked how much longer they would be the so called staff were not very nice or helpful everyone had finished by the time the 2 chicken parmers came out and to top it off they were cold give it a miss there are a lot of places to eat in Crown that are good.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank iamKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeparit
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Good value for money meals served by friendly staff. Children are catered for with high chairs colouring books and pencils . Babies upwards are most welcome. This is a really friendly place to eat.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A pub worth re-visiting over & over again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Pub at Crown is an excellent place to get a hearty meal. Being a pub it isnt a table service. The deocr is excellent, not your usual pub interior. They offer the usual pub meals, burgers, steaks, fish and chips but also have plently of your international dishes. Myself and my partner have been here numerous times as it is very inexpensive and we always leave satisfied. It is probably the cheapest meal we have experience in Melbourne, other than your usual China Town suspects which can be a bit of a hit and miss in terms of price and enjoyment. It can be difficult to get a table on weekends, as they dont take bookings on Saturday nights.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food, good service - what more can you ask.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Had a great meal in The Pub on a Saturday night on one of Melbourne's busiest nights - Moomba. The place was packed but the food was all lovely and served hot and reasonably fast. I had the Guiness Beef pie which was exceptional and i would highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan2041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pub also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing