We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Choosing Dockland's prestige apartments was the best thing we could have done. Close to tram services, shopping and so much more.
This was our first family holiday overseas with three grown children. The 3 bedroom apartment was exceptional. Fully self contained kitchen, seperate laundry, 3 large bedrooms, master with ensuite and even a walk in robe, and fanatastic views. Everything was of such a high standard. Dealing with "Ash" for the entire booking was a dream. From the first phone call to our arrival she had taken care of everything. Thank you Ash for making our stay a fantastic time to remember, so appreciated and we look forward to our next time in Melbourne with Docklands *****
cheers - The Longley Family - Hawke's Bay New Zealand

Room Tip: We were very lucky and were on the 19th floor. All the apartments have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mons42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 70 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

Docklands was very overpriced for the service we received. Reception is not even in same building and was a walk to the apartment. Close to shops and easy to get around and to the city. Good quality restaurants nearby.

Shower had no hot water and no pressure at all- also hardly any water in general.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank courtneyccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanda R, Manager at Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest

As an apartment the number of guest can be five in a 2 bedroom apartment. This does make a great value for money and lot cheaper than hotel prices.

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We booked our stay with Docklands Prestige thinking we had found a really nice place to stay for us and our friends whilst staying in Melbourne for 6 nights. We paid $460 per night, which would have been fine if all had been well, considering the Australian Open was running at the time which boosted the price. On arriving, we realized that the apartments were randoms,privately owned and run by Docklands Prestige Apartments, within a whole complex of apartments (Mercure Docklands etc), which we had stayed with prior, at a rate of $230 p.n. So we were not happy to start with! By the next morning I had a list of 10 things wrong with the apartment and visited the office, who said that the Manager needed to be spoken to and someone would call back. No phone call, but 2 cleaners/maintenance people turned up to fix things. They did fix the hot plate, rangehood light, washed 2 toothbrush holders, and took a bedside lamp they couldn't fix and left the side table pulled out from wall and clock unplugged. I waited for another day to see if anything else would be done, nothing. I emailed the office on the morning of the fourth day and detailed all problems. I did receive a phone call promptly and was offered a meal out at one of the Docklands restaurants for the 4 of us, which we accepted, as they would not refund any monies at all, saying the price was because of the tennis. The meal was nice but didnt alter the fact that the apartment was a disaster. The whole place needed a very good clean,there were hairs caught up in cords, dust and dirt on architraves, grubby kitchen walls and rangehood etc, venetian blinds were dirty, broken, a window handle broken off so that you couldnt shut it,light globes needed replacing, the handle/lock was completely missing on one of the sliding doors to the deck, so we couldn't lock the doors. The main pantry pull out door was about to fall apart and wouldn't open and close properly, the washing machine had no instructions and the symbols had half worn off which made things difficult and once we had it going properly it 'walked' out of the cupboard it was sitting in and a knob fell off and a panel of the front, as well. Foxtel was not working either which was the last straw for the boys! These apartments are NOT prestige by any means and I cannot understand why they are not maintained properly - NO ONE CARES. Wish I had read Mrs_Renee_GC s review first!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
33  Thank DGtravels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanda R, Manager at Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest

I believe it was a very difficult time with your husband being ill. Our cleaners and management made every effort to make your stay more comfortable. We could not move you due to being fully booked and decided to offer the four of you a lovely meal at one of our best restaurants in Docklands. The bill came to $750.00 we do so hope you enjoyed the complimentary dinner on us.

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We had been trying for several years to book an apartment on the Docklands for New Years Celebrations and were finally successful and very excited but after reading previous reviews of the Dockland Prestige Apartments I was very nervous on check in and thought what have we got myself in for. But we had no need to worry! Wanda was very helpful and after being checked in and personally escorted to our carpark and then our apartment, we were very excited to see our beautiful room. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment in St Elia building with a balcony overlooking the boardwalk and the harbour. The apartment was very neat and clean and tastefully decorated and a great size. The kitchen was well stocked with all utensils and the stove and fridge were of a high standard. The air conditioning was quiet and cold, which we were very thankful for, as New Years Eve and News Years Day were in the high 30's. Our night was capped off with spectacular views of the NYE Fireworks from our balcony. The only downside and this is being picky, is the outlet for the airconditioner is on the balcony which blows hot air on to you, and as the night was extremely hot, it was uncomfortable but my husband being as clever as he is put 2 chairs with a blanket draped over it to blow the air in the direction off the balcony.
We had a brillant stay and have already booked in again for next New Years Eve.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Wow! Literally just got back home and soooooo pleased that my hideous experience at Docklands "Prestige" Apartments is OVER! I have absolutely never encountered such rude and obnoxious staff in my life.

We were literally abused for turning up at 9pm (sorry, should have asked the captain of our plane to step on it!)....and when I stated that I had two babies (8 months old and 21 months old) and to stop yelling at us and calm down the General Manager (being the lovely Wanda Robinson) actually said "I don't care about your kids, I'll leave you right now!" and she turned around and walked away from us leaving my two frightened children, my husband, our PA and I absolutely stunned and in the freezing cold!

After returning as a result of a desperate plea to take us to our room, our "friend" Wanda screamed at us for no word of a lie, twenty minutes about the fact we should have read our paperwork and turned up at a different entrance (god for bid she actually had to walk 5 minutes to meet us when we spent $1,745 to stay there for 4 nights!!!!).

The abuse was absolutely unbelieveable. I have never experienced anything like it and to think someone would do that in the presence of two young babies, and why, because we turned up to a different entrance? What kind of "business" are you guys trying to run?

The fact that this woman is the GENERAL MANAGER, I find absolutely unbelievable (particularly as she's also the customer face of the business and sits on the front desk - can't be that busy hey Wanda?).

Aside from the hideous character they call a Manager, the room was sub-standard. The electrics were appaling - the TV barely worked, the dishwasher kept going and going and actually never stopped and there is no internet (expect a $40 dongle for 24 hours) - what a joke!!!

The room smelt musty, there was no cleaning as part of the "prestigous" package we thought we were getting and it really is in a shoddy location.

Certainly wouldn't recommend it for a business trip which we were on and most DEFINITELY would never recommend it for families.

What a nightmare of an experience, so glad to be home and as far away from anyone by the name of WANDA ROBINSON!

Room Tip: Don't do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
42  Thank Mrs_Renee_GC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanda R, Manager at Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Valued Guest

We realised that arriving early hours in the morning with the plane being delayed and having two small children can leave you extremely frazzled. After hours staff did their upmos t to calm the family down and get them settled as soon as possible. We are disappointed that travelling was so stressful that our staff was the targeted at the end of your trip.

Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#59 of 161 in Melbourne
723 reviews
Docklands
Four Points By Sheraton Melbourne Docklands
Docklands
Accommodation Corporate Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne

Address: 7 Caravel Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 156 Speciality Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: ₹ 9,084 - ₹ 23,388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing