We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel and its culture” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A hotel and its culture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Henry Jones for the first leg of our honeymoon. Our accommodation started with a Harbour view room for the first night, and then moved to a 'standard' room for the remaining three nights.
The success of a hospitality venue is largely determined by the organisational culture, and the trophy of this is what you will experience at the Henry Jones Art Hotel: Informed, relaxed, helpful, friendly and competent. Check in was swift, no-one avoided eye contact / dodged contact when we went down with a question. Nothing appeared to be any trouble. They appeared to be really happy to do their job.
Regarding the rooms, each has its own character and whilst the harbour view room was lovely, my husband and I preferred the rustic, warm character of the standard room. The place is actually engaging, and has a story in it's theming which carries across to nearly all parts of the hotel. All parts, except the restaurant.
The restaurant was the only place where the decor wasn't finished, and I nearly cancelled as I feared it would be a dodgy over-priced hotel-restaurant experience. The blood red walls with it's swirled artwork on each walk was faintly nauseating and a questionable design concept in a dining environment.
If it weren't for the concierge convincing us to eat there, we would have missed out on an excellent dining experience. Sure, there were a couple of points that could be refined, but it was not for lack of effort and so we left truly happy.
Overall , the Henry Jones was a comfortable and confident experience, which I would heartily recommend to anyone wanting a warm, non-sterile, original hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    316
    82
    36
    10
See reviews for
98
745
46
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brandon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights. First night could not sleep with crying baby next door!!! Being quite central you do have a fair share of noise from traffic, and then from those who wish to talk at all hours at the front of the hotel. Not the quitest of hotels. Food quality was wonderful so this balanced the stay for us.

Room Tip: Do not have a room on the habour side. Great view but noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 33FJC33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at The Henry James Art Hotel for three days recently. It is really well located and within walking distance to the many attractions of Hobart including the docks where boats to MONA and water tours start. The staff is exceptional - very helpful and follow up on details. When we complained that the maid always left the room with the air conditioning turned up (too cold), someone from the front desk stopped by the room the next afternoon to check the temperature.
The only drawback to this hotel is the room was pretty average despite a high room price. The bathroom was tiny - room for one with a small shower, one sink, and a toilet. They should have had bigger bathrooms and eliminated the refrigerator.
There is art work throughout the hotel, but most was not that great.
Overall, I would recommend a stay here despite the small bathrooms.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We liked our room, ( double deluxe spa) the bed and the huge bath. The room was quiet. The wifi did not work in the room as it was too far from the source. That was a disappointment. For a hotel that bills itself as a "five star" hotel, the linens were inferior. The towels were worn and some were "holely". I did ask for new ones one time. Do not miss the Art tour if you are there on a Friday evening. Book your room early and get a better price on other sites besides the hotel website. Did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel. This was a good introduction to Australia and Tassie.
Also DO NOT miss MONA

Room Tip: Get one in the back of the hotel and not the Studios. Not too far from the lobby as the wifi will no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The Henry Jones is located right on the main quay and is a quirky and interesting hotel. The building is part of the old IXL jam factory, and features lots of exposed beams and corrugated iron. There is a lot of art works on display throughout the hotel, which is regularly changed.

Rooms are comfortable but not that large, although the bathrooms are (at least in the executive suites) massive and wonderful. The hotel has a great bar on the ground floor, and the restaurant is outstanding - probably one of the best in Hobart.

Being on the quay it is conveniently located to catch the ferry to MONA, a trip well worth making. Free valet parking is also available.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the harbour are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutcho_Hutcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.2 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.7 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.8 km away
Islington Hotel
Islington Hotel
#1 of 46 in Hobart
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.6 km away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#4 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.8 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 46 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Jones Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Jones Art Hotel

Property: The Henry Jones Art Hotel
Address: 25 Hunter St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hobart
#1 Family Hotel in Hobart
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,081 - ₹ 29,857
Hotel Class:5 star — The Henry Jones Art Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Australia's first dedicated art hotel stands proudly on Hobart's glorious waterfront. A handsome row of historic warehouses dating from the 1820s (the former IXL jam factory) have been creatively transformed into an enthralling multi-award winning first class hotel. The hotel itself is a work of art. Here you'll be fascinated by the unexpected combination of the antique and the ultra modern. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your The Henry Jones Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henry Jones Art Hobart
Henry Jones Art Hotel
The Henry Jones Art Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing