We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm relaxed and comfortable experience”
Review of Quest Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quest Waterfront
Ranked #19 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm relaxed and comfortable experience”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

We stayed here on our Wedding night.

We checked in after reception was closed, however this was no problem. Our room was ready and waiting for us. We had chocolates and champagne ( well sparkiling Grape Juice for us as I am pregnant - such a thoughtful touch) waiting for us in our room.

The room was lovely and quiet and we felt very relaxed staying therel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QuestWaterfront, General Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this review, 13 April 2017
Dear AMBentlry,

Thank you for feedback and apologies for the time it has taken to respond. We recently upgraded our online feedback platform which has caused several delays. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was and allowing us to rectify any concerns that you had.

Kind Regards,

Vanessa Lyons
Operations Manager – Quest Hobart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    126
    89
    30
    13
See reviews for
80
86
18
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Although somewhat dated (1980s) the rooms here are large with plenty of space for 3 children. There is limited parking in front of the hotel however we did book one of the parking spaces in the lock up garage, which was quite empty during our stay. Unfortunately the parking space was very small to park our very large people mover, however with a small car it would be fine. The location is fantastic being easy walk from Salamanca place and Constitution dock. This is not a hotel with a view, in fact the windows are quite small and overlook a back street. Staff were very helpful, although reception does close at 9pm and night porter does not have access to cleaner's cupboards - which we would have appreciated as one of our children was ill. However, all in all would recommend and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witch63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qwaterfront, Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 December 2010
Thank you for the feedback in regards to your stay at Quest Waterfront, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will be speaking with our night security staff to let them know the location of extra cleaning products for any future problems. If you ever return to Hobart we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Three night stay in room 13 (directly opposite the lift). Average room, small size, basic 90's decor, poor lighting and noisy air con but otherwise clean.

The only advantage this property may have over other hotels is the location, as the hotel name suggests it's located on the waterfront, two minutes walk to Salamanca Place and 5 minutes walk to Elizabeth St Mall. Very central and convenient location.

Apart from the location it doesn't have much going for it. The staff (if you get them on a good day) can be fantastic. The lady on reception at the time of check-in was very pleasant and helpful, however other staff I encountered later in the week were less enthusiastic.

In my opinion this hotel has the potential of becoming a premier destination in itself but in order to become this it needs significant updating and renovation. In its current condition it lacks character amongst many other things.

For now in my opinion this hotel would barely rate as 3 stars. There are no facilities, very dull and uninspiring, it's basically just a room in a convenient location.

I believe it would meet the requirements of travellers looking for low range or budget accommodation.

I would not recommend this hotel to family, friends or work colleagues.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qwaterfront, Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this review, 30 December 2010
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay at Quest Waterfront we appreciate all feedback and thank you for bringing certain items to our attention.

Customer Service is extremely important to us and it is disappointing to hear that you did not receive the service that we pride ourselves on; I will be ensuring that this does not occur in the future by monitoring staff daily.

I once again apologise that you were disappointed with your stay.

Kind Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Stayed there a while ago, it is in a great location but parking was a hassle because each time we wanted to leave the carpark we had to get the person at the front desk to open up the gate and after 9pm we couldnt leave or get back into the carpark.
Upon arrival was forced to pay $200 deposit (cash only, wouldnt accept credit card or debit card and i was the only one with cash) on a room key which took most of my money and was therefore unable to do much, relied on friends to pay for my food, drinks, petrol etc. Ruined my trip down.
Rooms were outdated and we booked for 4 beds but got 2 uncomfortable kid sized singles (werent long enough) and a double bed between 4 people. We got an official warning of eviction about the tv being too loud even though we could hear tvs in other rooms, maybe just letting us know that it could be heard somehow from otherrooms wouldve been more appropriate.
Noise from the bar which was right outside our room wasn't bad as it closed at about 1am, not much sound gets through the small little window in the room.
Overall wouldnt go back unless it was cheap and I only needed a bed for the night.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeyFling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qwaterfront, Front Office Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this review, 14 January 2011
Thank you for the feedback in regards to your stay, we appreciate all feedback and the opportunity to respond.

In regards to the car parking I apologise if you were misinformed when you booked. Due to limited parking in the area we offer over night car parking in a secure lock up; we inform guests of this if they request parking at the time of booking. Access to this is available after reception shuts at nine o’clock until midnight through security; this information is stated in your welcome letter and in the compendium in your room.

The only time that a cash bond is required is if you are paying by cash and this is clearly stated in our policies and confirmations which are sent to guests when they book. The cash bond is to cover any incidentals that you may use during your stay and as security if you do not have a credit card to guarantee the room. This is standard practice throughout the industry and is not meant to hinder our guests in anyway it is merely a necessary security measure for the hotel. We apologise if it was an inconvenience to you. Please be assured that we do not take a bond for the key.

The only time that security is called to the hotel is in the case of noise complaints from other guests. Please be assured that we do not respond to noise complaints relating to loud televisions. The only time that security attends the property is in the case of a guest from another room notifying them of an out of the ordinary noise issue.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the property and I thank you for the feedback and the opportunity to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2010

This was a wonderful place for us to stay! Convenient to all hobrart has on offer. When checking in the staff were exceptionally friendly and helped us out with carparking and reccommended a great seafood restaurant for us to eat at! We checked in to our room a massive studio apartment! Could have easily had people over there was so much room. The view wasn't outstanding but the price we paid we weren't expecting a view. It was so quiet in our room on the third floor. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tg2531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qwaterfront, Manager at Quest Waterfront, responded to this review, 29 December 2010
Thank you for the feedback in regards to your stay at Quest Waterfront, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay; if you ever return to Hobart we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.3 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
0.4 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
0.2 km away
Somerset on the Pier Hobart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
0.5 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
0.3 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#6 of 47 in Hobart
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Waterfront

Property: Quest Waterfront
Address: 3 Brooke St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,818 - ₹ 13,639
Hotel Class:4 star — Quest Waterfront 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quest Waterfront Serviced Apartments Hobart is located in the very heart of Hobart's Historic Sullivan's Cove, just minutes walk from Hobart's famous Salamanca Place and Hobart's CBD. The property offers a range of Hotel Rooms, Studio Apartments and Family Suites and the service that is expected of a four star hotel. We are just about the closest you can get to experience all the delights of Hobart’s Summer Festival! Including the Taste of Tasmania, New Years Celebrations and Festivities, the annual Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race, The Wooden Boat Festival, and of course Salamanca Markets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Quest Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Waterfront Hobart, Tasmania
Quest Waterfront Hotel Hobart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing