We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of an hotel in Hobart”
Review of Islington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Islington Hotel
Ranked #4 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A real gem of an hotel in Hobart”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We were supposed to stay in another hotel in Hobart for two nights but couldn't get in. Thanks goodness. Instead we were put into this wonderful place in Hobart. It's a bit out of town, but that really didn't matter. One of the very best small hotels we've ever stayed in. It was our first time in Tasmania and it couldn't have got off to a better start. Really comfortable room and the staff made you feel as though you were staying in an exquisite private home. Thomas, the general manager, Joe the chef and Kate who served our food are worth particular mention. They just couldn't do enough for you. Joe makes the best cakes and biscuits for your free afternoon tea, not to mention the most superb breakfasts. His open kitchen means you can just wander over and discuss what you want to eat. Hopscotch the rabbit was another highlight as you wander through the beautifully kept garden. There is no doubt that when we go back to Hobart we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Just loved it.

Room Tip: We had the Regency Twin which was lovely. Didn't see any of the others but imagine they were jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrookieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    35
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
23
318
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Having stayed at the Islington Hotel and enjoyed a wonderful stay in heritage accommodation before the current owners renovated, I was keen to see the changes and improvements. There was no disappointment and only awe. The new conservatory is but one addition, a focus room of the hotel, and ideal for the bespoke breakfasts. In our Garden Room the view of Mt Wellington was only the start to a luxurious and indulgent four night stay. The Aesop toiletries with the rain shower head was special; as was Celine in fulfilling our request to dine with our local friends in the library. Chef John excelled in his kitchen as he prepared superb and delicious meals all served with attention by Francesco. The Islington was and now continues to be Hobart luxury.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My wife found The Islington (on Trip Advisor) when looking for a location for my 60th birthday weekend away from Sydney. It couldn't have been better. No kids, no fuss, no ingratiating staff & no noise! The building is beautiful, the decor is fabulously "accessible", the room perfect and Tara and Thomas were great morning hosts. We only ate breakfast here (which was beautifully cooked & presented, although I failed to score black-pudding to accompany the perfectly poached eggs); the home-made beans are sensational! We were given directions to avoid the parking mayhem around the Saturday markets and "thumbs-up" over our dinner choices for our three nights. The bed in the Wellington Room (guess what is visible from the window when the low cloud lifts?) was as comfortable as promised; best night's sleep, in a hotel, in years. All in all, I couldn't fault the place: many thanks!

Room Tip: I don't think there can be any rooms that are not "good". Our "Wellington" r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwitcherSydney_NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

My partner and I stayed here in May 2011 and were very impressed with the Islington Hotel. The hotel is located in a lovely area of south Hobart but not too far to walk to the main attractions. We had a car and there was ample car parking at the hotel - very tight spaces though!

The room was very spacious with a great view of the garden below and Mt Wellington - it was worth paying extra for that view! The breakfast was excellent and cooked to order. The only negative about our experience was when we asked the staff to recommend us a nice place for dinner in Hobart - they wouldn't recommend anywhere outside the hotel. The food did look excellent but we were looking to get out and experience the city a bit and it was unfortunate the hotel couldn't help us with this.

I would definitely recommend the Islington Hotel for a little splurge when you are in Hobart. It was very quite and relaxing and in a lovely part of the city. We will come back!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a view of Mt Wellington.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We are a mother & daughter travelling pair and from the moment we entered the door of this superb gem of a hotel, we knew we were in for an exceptional experience. The staff could not have done a better job at making us feel welcome and taking care of our every need - and wants too! Compliments to the chefs who turned meals into works of art to match the collection in the building!!! Breakfasts were beautiful...thanks Sarah...eggs and all accompaniments done to perfection, tea hot as it should be, and the staff made it seem so effortless.
Room was spacious, bathroom very modern and luxurious, and service invisible...I can't say enough about our experience and, after we had made three other stops in Australia, we were in dire need of some laundry facilities. Yes, the staff even did that for us at no additional charge which is a big surprise considering what we paid for the same service in other hotels!
if I had to pick a negative, it would be that our three-day stay was just too short!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vijaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
2.5 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
2.4 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
2.2 km away
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
Salamanca Wharf Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
2.1 km away
Lenna of Hobart
Lenna of Hobart
#10 of 48 in Hobart
505 reviews
2.5 km away
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Islington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Islington Hotel

Property: Islington Hotel
Address: 321 Davey Street, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#4 Business Hotel in Hobart
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,830 - ₹ 28,491
Hotel Class:5 star — Islington Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1847, Islington is a fine example of Regency architecture recently restored to showcase its original glory and including 5 star luxuries such as 100 sq/ft glass conservatory with under floor heating throughout, a fine dining restaurant and extensive wine cellar. Surrounded by great service and presentation it has an atmosphere of serenity, luxury and tranquility. Islington’s recent awards include winner, ‘Best Boutique Hotel in Australia’ by Australian Gourmet Traveler and winning entrant into the prestigious ‘Kurosawa Collection’ for small luxury accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Islington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islington Hotel Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing