We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel even if it is a short stay.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rydges Hotel Hobart
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel even if it is a short stay.....”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

The hotel publishes that it is 15minutes from the centre, it is much longer and in reference to the size of Hobart is far from the centre. Rooms are not clean. Given it does get very hot in summer days such as when I was in Hobart, there is no AC or fan. The staff had no training which meant the only reply they had was - we don't have this in any room of the hotel. No wifi. The hotel itself is in the opposite end of where all the bars and resturants which is by unhandy.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flying-mnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Good Morning Flying-mnky

It was very disappointing to read that you really didn't enjoy your stay with us because some of our our rooms don't have air conditioning and that you felt we were too far from town. We do have 24 Superior rooms which have air conditioning and I will ensure the entire team are fully aware of this at our next meeting. It would be great to have air conditioning in every room and is something we are looking into on a company level.

Unfortunately I am unable to assist with the location of the hotel but would like to mention that we do have 105 free car parking spots and are away from the hustle and bustle of town

I do hope you give us the opportunity of welcoming you back to Rydges Hobart on your next visit so you can see for yourself the improvements we are making on an ongoing basis.

Kind regards'
Danny Veis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    246
    162
    84
    103
See reviews for
157
251
46
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed in Hobart for one night with 2 friends. The antique double twin suite is aptly named - being very tired and old. As a contradiction, the beds were excellent. The accommodation is not conveniently located and not in easy walking distance to anywhere we wanted to go.
After receiving directions on how to get to our suite, it turned out to be a bit of a feat to actually find the suite. Upon reporting a faulty top window to our sitting room that couldn't be closed and secured, the night manager inspected and dismissed it and did not offer to move us to another suite. We were forced to endure a night feeling insecure and worried if intruders would climb through the window, as well as putting up with the cold air coming through the open window.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Dear Bonnie 512,

It was great to read that you found the beds to be excellent. We do receive a lot of fantastic feedback about the Rydges Dream Beds but was disappointed to read that you didn't receive any action from the night manager. I will be following this up at our next morning meeting with the heads of department and implementing strategies to ensure this type of thing does not reoccur.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Rydges Hobart in the near future.

Kind regards

Danny Veis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hobart hotels

Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

On arrival, we were pleasantly surprised with the size of our two bedroom suite. It was very spacious. But once we had a close look, we were disappointed with the facilities and the cleanliness. Prior to arrival, I contacted the hotel and was informed that our suite would have a microwave, a coffee plunger, and everything necessary for cooking. However, we only found one small pot and one small frying pan in the kitchen. In the end, as we were staying for 8 nights, we went and bought a pot, a pan and other necessary things (if you are lucky, you might find these we left behind). There were only two dining chairs for three of us. The suite was generally clean, but in corners, especially on the stairs, we could see built-up dust. I doubt the room was vacuumed during our 8 night stay and the linen was never changed. We also had to take a shower without any light for three nights as the maintenance was not available over the weekend. The hotel has a good pool and sauna, but it was disappointing that there was no spa (there was a sign for spa but no spa). The staff was OK and the room was very reasonably priced. So on average, we were happy with the hotel and we may go back again next year as long as we can get good facilities!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pengapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Good Morning Pengapa,

I am disappointed that you were not happy with your overall stay here in Hobart. Cleanliness of the hotel is something we have been working hard to ensure happens and I, myself check five random rooms per day as an extra measure.

I will follow up with my Executive Housekeeper to ensure the rooms are being vacuumed and the linen and towels are being changed as per our hotel policy.

Unfortunately, we had to remove the spa due to ongoing issues but have replaced it with new gym equipment and have had the pool and surrounding area refurbished.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Hobart in the near future.

Kind regards
Danny Veis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We recently stayed for 4 nights at the Rydges Hotel Hobart - what an excellent experience with such immensely helpful staff - Michael (chef), Stephen, Fiona and Danny - who made our stay in Tasmania a more enjoyable stay. This is a great hotel, very soft comfortable beds, lovely restaurant (we ate herE 2 nIghts out of 4) and wonderful staff. We stay in many hotels around the world and this is one of the best!!
It is only 2 km from the centre of town, quiet and accessible.
We recommend this hotel highly.

Room Tip: Soft comfortable beds, great service
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborahG255100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Dear deborahG255100,

Well, this is truly a great way to start my working day. I am extremely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It's always nice to receive positive feedback and will be sure to pass on your comments to the rest of the team, particularly Michael, Stephen and Fiona.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Rydges Hobart in the near future.

Kind regards
Danny Veis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed in January 2012. We arrived to find that there had been a mix up and our rooms wern't as requested, this was rather dissapointing as we have stayed at this hotel approx 5 times and we called a week before our arrival just to double check and then it still wasn't done for us when we arrived. As they were booked out there was nothing they could do for us that night so the manager came and spoke to us and offered compensation and the next day changed our rooms for us and fixed the problem.

The restaraunt was lovely, we had breakfast and dinner on several occasions and the service and food was both great!

It is in a good location, it's not quite walking distance to alot of places so you should have a hire car, as for some other peoples comments about the decor etc, the bathrooms and furniture are a little tired looking but for the price and facilities you couldn't really complain, these people must only be able to pay for 3 star and expect 5 star, i thought it was a great room for the money compared to other hotels in hobart!

The beds are amazing, so comfortable you have a great nights sleep. The only annoying thing with the rooms is the plumbing is quite loud, you could hear the neighbours toilets flushing and showers running quite loudly but apart from that i thinks it's a great place for the price!

Apart from afew mix ups by some staff which we were told were relatively new, the manager is very nice and when problems are brought to his attention he deals with them and trys to make the situation better for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kea17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny V, General Manager at Rydges Hotel Hobart, responded to this review, 22 January 2012
Hello Kea17,

I am glad we managed to sort out your rooming issue and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay. I enjoyed our chats in the restaurant and in the bar that night when you guys were playing pool.

I will definately pass on your comments about the food to the Executive Chef as he has been working hard to ensure the level of food and presentation has been lifted.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Rydges Hobart in the near future and perhaps even joining you for a game of pool in the Manor Bar.

Kind regards
Danny Veis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
0.9 km away
Graham Apartments
Graham Apartments
#24 of 48 in Hobart
171 reviews
1.8 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#7 of 48 in Hobart
1,217 reviews
2.0 km away
Quest Savoy
Quest Savoy
#18 of 48 in Hobart
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Quality Hotel Hobart Midcity
4.3 km away
Wrest Point
Wrest Point
#16 of 48 in Hobart
924 reviews
1.9 km away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 48 in Hobart
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Hotel Hobart? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Hotel Hobart

Property: Rydges Hotel Hobart
Address: Cnr Argyle and Lewis St, Hobart, Tasmania 7000, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 48 Hotels in Hobart
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,004 - ₹ 11,753
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rydges Hotel Hobart 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Federation style hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, EaseMyTrip and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Hotel Hobart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobart Rydges Hotel
Rydges Hotel Hobart Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing