We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,377)
Filter reviews
1,377 results
Traveller rating
469
520
255
84
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
520
255
84
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrevolving restauranttower roomguest servicescasino hotelsandy bayderwent rivertaxi ridemountain viewwaters edgebit datedmotor innan updatewater viewbuffet breakfastan upgradefree parkingcar park
Filter
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 1,377 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Have stayed here probably 20 times over the years and am enjoying the refurbishments of the rooms & suites. Last visit coincided with a few of the eating establishments being closed, but it's due to major renovations & Hobart has many food options.
Looking forward to the new & refreshed eating options when they open.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank EatDrinkSleeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

I stayed in the motel lodge. Last time I came to Wrest Point was in the mid nineties and the hotel stood on its own at the edge of the water. This time it is hemmed in by buildings which have spawned off the main one and spoil the architectural look of the place. The corridors and stairway - no lift to the first floor - were akin to student accommodation. The room was more comfortable and well serviced, although heating had not been turned on and it was cold when I arrived late evening. I was disappointed in the food I ordered. Luke warm soup and a bowl of fruit which was fairly unripe. I was at a conference at the hotel so it was good to be able to walk each day to the conference and that was better than in the nineties where we had to walk through the casino but this hotel could be better.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank woolrichii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

I stayed at Wrest Point for 3 days for the CONASTA conference in July. The hotel was nice clean with great staff, especially the barman in the Birdcage bar who is very knowledgeable and gave us some great advice of places to visit.
However, and this is more for parents of guests as this would be the same in most if not all hotels across the globe. PLEASE if you 12 year old son wants to learn how to play the guitar, PLEASE don't let them bring it to a hotel and let them try to play it at 6am in the morning. It makes people cranky.
Being a mother of a 6 year old I am used to sleep deprivation and being woken up in a variety of unusual manners.
If this is something you have done, especially at Wrest Point in the 11th and 12th of July 2017, please please do not do this again. Your son, will never make a rock god, unless you get him lessons. Repeatedly massacring the work of the legends that are Nirvana throughout the morning and night is not conducive to a happy morning for other.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Manda_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

I spent 3 nights here in July. My room had water views and was on the 1st floor. The water views were across the casino roof which is covered in white gravel.

The reception staff were polite, efficient and helpful with giving information on where to get food, coffee etc. Reception itself is a bit tired - it gets a lot of traffic.

My room was on the 1st floor. I was disappointed that I wasn't a bit higher, but the room still had good views down towards the Derwent Bridge. The room was quite tired. But having said that, the bed was comfy, the shower was good, and there was little noise from outside. And, thank heavens, the windows opened a little. So I was able to turn off the air con fan, open the window and not overheat at night.

The main problem is the location of the hotel. It is a $20 cab ride from the centre of Hobart, Salamanca Markets, Constitution Dock etc. It is a 10 minute walk to the Sandy Bay shopping villages which has supermarket and LOTS of Chinese restaurants.

Would I stay here again? Nope. I'd rather stay in Hobart itself where I can walk to attractions easily.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank JLW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it was great to read that you found the staff polite, efficient and helpful and enjoyed the beautiful views the hotel has to offer. You may be interested to know that we are currently refurbishing the hotel rooms which will be presented in a new contemporary style.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

It was better than expected, lovely clean room with a great view.Grand and peaceful with exceptional service all round.Great location only a few minutes drive to Hobart city ,Salamanca and battery Point. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews