We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Tasmania's Affordable Best"”
Review of Wrest Point

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wrest Point
Ranked #15 of 47 Hotels in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We just spent 2 glorious days and nights in a stunning Tower Harbour View Room at beautifully located Wrest Point. It surely cannot be any better than what we experienced, everything and everyone at the popular venue was as perfect as we hoped. The daytime and nightime views out across Hobart and the River Derwent bay were simply impressive. Our room was quiet, cosy, clean and comfortable with a king bed. The a-la-carte full breakfast and evening dining experience could not have been better. Of special mention was our contact with the friendly and helpful Staff, all of whom made our stay so memorable. We are already keenly looking to again visiting this fabulous venue.

Room Tip: Tower Harbour View room are best. Free car parking.. Excellent venue for dining. Gamblers will en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionel Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Have stayed here probably 20 times over the years and am enjoying the refurbishments of the rooms & suites. Last visit coincided with a few of the eating establishments being closed, but it's due to major renovations & Hobart has many food options.
Looking forward to the new & refreshed eating options when they open.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank EatDrinkSleeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

I stayed in the motel lodge. Last time I came to Wrest Point was in the mid nineties and the hotel stood on its own at the edge of the water. This time it is hemmed in by buildings which have spawned off the main one and spoil the architectural look of the place. The corridors and stairway - no lift to the first floor - were akin to student accommodation. The room was more comfortable and well serviced, although heating had not been turned on and it was cold when I arrived late evening. I was disappointed in the food I ordered. Luke warm soup and a bowl of fruit which was fairly unripe. I was at a conference at the hotel so it was good to be able to walk each day to the conference and that was better than in the nineties where we had to walk through the casino but this hotel could be better.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank woolrichii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

I stayed at Wrest Point for 3 days for the CONASTA conference in July. The hotel was nice clean with great staff, especially the barman in the Birdcage bar who is very knowledgeable and gave us some great advice of places to visit.
However, and this is more for parents of guests as this would be the same in most if not all hotels across the globe. PLEASE if you 12 year old son wants to learn how to play the guitar, PLEASE don't let them bring it to a hotel and let them try to play it at 6am in the morning. It makes people cranky.
Being a mother of a 6 year old I am used to sleep deprivation and being woken up in a variety of unusual manners.
If this is something you have done, especially at Wrest Point in the 11th and 12th of July 2017, please please do not do this again. Your son, will never make a rock god, unless you get him lessons. Repeatedly massacring the work of the legends that are Nirvana throughout the morning and night is not conducive to a happy morning for other.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Manda_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

I spent 3 nights here in July. My room had water views and was on the 1st floor. The water views were across the casino roof which is covered in white gravel.

The reception staff were polite, efficient and helpful with giving information on where to get food, coffee etc. Reception itself is a bit tired - it gets a lot of traffic.

My room was on the 1st floor. I was disappointed that I wasn't a bit higher, but the room still had good views down towards the Derwent Bridge. The room was quite tired. But having said that, the bed was comfy, the shower was good, and there was little noise from outside. And, thank heavens, the windows opened a little. So I was able to turn off the air con fan, open the window and not overheat at night.

The main problem is the location of the hotel. It is a $20 cab ride from the centre of Hobart, Salamanca Markets, Constitution Dock etc. It is a 10 minute walk to the Sandy Bay shopping villages which has supermarket and LOTS of Chinese restaurants.

Would I stay here again? Nope. I'd rather stay in Hobart itself where I can walk to attractions easily.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank JLW14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WrestPoint, Manager at Wrest Point, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it was great to read that you found the staff polite, efficient and helpful and enjoyed the beautiful views the hotel has to offer. You may be interested to know that we are currently refurbishing the hotel rooms which will be presented in a new contemporary style.

Kind regards
Andrew Fox
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hobart hotels
2.4 km away
Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart
2.2 km away
RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel
2.5 km away
Mantra Collins Hotel
Mantra Collins Hotel
#12 of 47 in Hobart
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Fountainside Hotel
Fountainside Hotel
#8 of 47 in Hobart
1,235 reviews
2.3 km away
The Henry Jones Art Hotel
1.8 km away
Salamanca Inn
Salamanca Inn
#5 of 47 in Hobart
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrest Point? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrest Point

Address: 410 Sandy Bay Rd, Hobart, Tasmania 7005, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Greater Hobart > Hobart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Hobart
#12 Business Hotel in Hobart
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hobart
#14 Romantic Hotel in Hobart
Price Range: ₹ 7,228 - ₹ 15,677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wrest Point 4.5*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an absolute Hobart waterfront destination at Wrest Point; with spectacular river and mountain views, many fantastic dining experiences - including the award winning 17th floor Point Revolving Restaurant - a range of entertainment and genuine Tasmanian hospitality. For accommodation in an amazing location, great service and quality food and wine, look no further than Wrest Point. Choose from 4 Star Water Edge Rooms or superb 4 1/2 star Rooms and Suites in the famous Wrest Point Tower that capture stunning views of the river, majestic Mount Wellington, Hobart city and surrounds. Equal access rooms are available on request in the Tower. Wrest Point also offers a choice of 5 restaurants and 4 bars, from one of Hobart's premier dining restaurants, the Point Revolving Restaurant to the absolute waterfront location of Pier One Restaurant and Bar; to Tassie's best cocktails and live music 7 nights a week in the iconic Birdcage Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wrest Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrest Point Hotel Sandy Bay
Wrest Point Landmark Hotel
Hotel Wrest Point Landmark
Wrest Point Hobart, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing