We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Drift away ...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drift away ...
Kestrel Downs - awe inspiring northern view from our property across Pelican Lagoon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Drift away ...
Kestrel Downs - awe inspiring northern view from our property across Pelican Lagoon
Spacious open plan living
Dine to water views
Relax in comfort
Harmony
Sparkling new kitchen
Master bedroom
2-way bathroom
Kestrel Downs - stunning bird's eye view to the Southern Ocean
Flying fish welcome
Relax on the verandah
Shy visitors at our bird bath
Northern aspect
Verandah view - glorious sunrise over Pelican Lagoon
A tranquil spot
Feathered friends at our bird bath
Stonework in local limestone
Spring time at Kestrel downs
Spring time at Kestrel Downs
Walk across Kestrel Downs to climb the towering dune of Prospect Hill
Our local beach - beautiful Pennington Bay
Evening at Pennington Bay
Early morning at Pennington Bay
Morning light, Pennington Bay
Walk quietly - endangered Hooded Plovers at Pennington Bay
Residents of our local habitat, Pelican Lagoon
Black Swans at Pelican Lagoon - our local habitat
Calm waters of nearby Island Beach
Wander the serene Cannery Walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
AnnGeorgi...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely loved our stay at Kestrel Downs. I stayed here with my mature parents for 2 nights, to explore Kangaroo Island. Wish we could have stayed much longer! Kestrel Downs is such a beautiful property, with great facilities and surrounded by beautiful bushland. The kitchen is huge and fully stocked. The bathroom was very clean. The beds were extremely comfortable and all the linens were top quality. It was the best I'd slept in a long time! There was a large selection of DVDs to choose from. Was lovely sitting on the veranda in the evening, drinking wine and watching the local wildlife. Saw lots of lovely birds, wallabies and even a kangaroo. Would definitely stay here again! Sally was very helpful, and we had no issue finding the place or getting inside. Sally also emailed through a great list of things to do while on the island, which was very helpful. Kangaroo Island is an amazing place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful view
Liked least: Nothing, it was perfect!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs. We very much value your feedback and are delighted that you had such a good time. We are lucky to be surrounded by native bushland which provides habitat to many of Kangaroo Island's native birds and animals - and allows guests some very special visitors. We hope you are able to return one day. Always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anulaa79
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Secluded location with a beautiful view”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed 3 nights at Kestrel Downs. The house was very clean, specious and tastefully designed with all necessary facilities and amenities. The kitchen was well equipped so we could prepare Christmas dinner and have breakfast each morning while overlooking a beautiful bay. Sally and her husband were very helpful, we had a small problem with the internet access, and despite the holiday season and limited access to internet providers, our hosts went out of their way to help us resolving the issue. We would highly recommend staying in Kestrel Downs for a short and long term stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, view, house itself
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and are very pleased that we were able solve the unexpcted internet issue. We continue to provide uninterrupted WiFi service for our guests. It must have been lovely to look out over the water while enjoying your Christmas dinner. Please come back our way again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biebieee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great house at a beautiful spot”
Reviewed 24 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed for 4 nights in this great house. It was just the two of us so we had loads of space. Loved the views, the tranquility and the wildlife around the house. The house was very clean, well provided with a great double bed and a fantastic shower. We enjoyed all kinds of weather. We used the fireplace one night and had dinner outside the other night enjoying all the marsupians hopping around.
You do have to bring lots of food since you don't want to spend your precious time on this fantastic island looking for a supermarket or such. KD is very convenient situated close to the ferry. If you want to visit Flinders Chase you have to rise early to get there early but it's worth it. The very friendly owner Sally left loads of tips for activities on the island.
We think this place is absolutely a great place to stay if you go to this special island. We just loved it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and tranquility
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of Kestrel Downs. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and even dined in the company of our beautiful kangaroos and wallabies! It was a pleasure to have you stay and we hope you may come again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laula-69
Duesseldorf
2 reviews
“Beyond words”
Reviewed 23 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Yes, that's what it is... beyond words.
We had a fantastic stay. The house had all we could have wished for.
Cleanliness, comfort, peace, cosiness and great views.
So happy that we had the chance to spend time there.
Would have loved to stay much longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness, comfort, great view and wildlife
Liked least: there is nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We always endeavour to provide the best possible experience for our guests, so it's wonderful to hear that you really enjoyed your stay at Kestrel Downs. Its peaceful and secluded location is certainly a great attraction. Hopefully you might return one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noble1966
Esperance, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This lovely home was a perfect location for WA & NSW family to meet. Centrally located to every attraction, yet isolated - giving us the feeling no-one else lived on the island. The house was spotless, but Sally's artistic touch with furnishings etc made it a lovely home away from home. We just wished we could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of a home away from home
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs and for your lovely comments. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we think the peaceful coastal location is really special, surrounded by native fauna habitat and still close to everything. always welcome!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 150
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing