We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect house with a perfect view”
other travellers have booked this property
Drift away ...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drift away ...
Kestrel Downs - awe inspiring northern view from our property across Pelican Lagoon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Drift away ...
Kestrel Downs - awe inspiring northern view from our property across Pelican Lagoon
Spacious open plan living
Dine to water views
Relax in comfort
Harmony
Sparkling new kitchen
Master bedroom
2-way bathroom
Kestrel Downs - stunning bird's eye view to the Southern Ocean
Flying fish welcome
Relax on the verandah
Shy visitors at our bird bath
Northern aspect
Verandah view - glorious sunrise over Pelican Lagoon
A tranquil spot
Feathered friends at our bird bath
Stonework in local limestone
Spring time at Kestrel downs
Spring time at Kestrel Downs
Walk across Kestrel Downs to climb the towering dune of Prospect Hill
Our local beach - beautiful Pennington Bay
Evening at Pennington Bay
Early morning at Pennington Bay
Morning light, Pennington Bay
Walk quietly - endangered Hooded Plovers at Pennington Bay
Residents of our local habitat, Pelican Lagoon
Black Swans at Pelican Lagoon - our local habitat
Calm waters of nearby Island Beach
Wander the serene Cannery Walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kangaroo Island, South Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Luke C
1 review
“The perfect house with a perfect view”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I stayed here with my wife and baby, and had a fantastic time. The house is very well equipped with everything you need. The wood fire was the standout for me. I will be coming back again for sure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Kestrel Downs. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your holiday. Winter is a lovely time on the island and yes, the fire at night is a welcome finish to the day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
Greater Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic self contained holiday house”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Only 25 km from Penneshaw, where the ferry brings you when coming to Kangaroo Island from Cape Jervis in South Australia. The house is set amongst native bushland on a hill overlooking Pelican Lagoon with stunning views over the water. The front veranda is a place to sit in peace and tranquillity, with no noise but the breeze in the gums and the native birds. Wallabies (small kangaroos) come close to the house and I saw several when going for a walk along the bush track driveway from the house out to the road (go slow in your car and you will be fine, and probably see some wallabies!!). Inside is a very comfortable modern 3 bedroom home with 2 double bedrooms and one room with two single beds - beds are very comfortable and all linen, quilts and towels are supplied. Modern bathroom with shower and vanity. Separate toilet. Laundry with washing machine, clothes line outside. Comfortable lounge room with multiple sofas and a slow combustion stove which works really well (we needed it in June in South Australia) with wood supplied. Dining room has plenty of space and great views. Kitchen is very modern and well equipped, including a 5 burner gas cook top that was a pleasure to cook on - all pots and pans, crockery and cutlery supplied. Ample car parking outside. I have been recommending this to my friends and colleagues since I first stayed there and have the view from the car park over Pelican Lagoon as my screensaver on the mobile! Nearby is Pennington Bay and great beach fishinG for Australian Salmon (I caught 3 big ones the first afternoon). There are other more sheltered beaches nearby to walk along or swim at in summer and it is not far to Kingscote, the main town on the island. Kestrel Downs is excellent and I highly recommend it to anyone considering a self catered holiday on beautiful Kangaroo Island. "K.I." has lots of tourist attractions, e.g. Flinders Chase National Park, seal colony, Remarkable Rocks, fossils, world class hand-blown glass craft ware, a distillery, fishing, swimming, surfing, majestic gums, beautiful coastline. The island is well worth a visit and "Kestrel Downs" is about as good as it gets in the affordable price range.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet and totally private
Liked least: You need to drive slowly along the driveway, it is a track through bushland
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justwanta...
Myersville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views and nice spacious house.”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

In the middle of Penneshaw and Kingscote. Beautiful isolated property with great views of the American River. Very clean and spacious with three bedrooms.

A few words for Americans
The property comes with a washing machine but no dryer. It does have a clothesline apparatus outside and a drying rack inside. There is no drop off laundry service in the island.

No dishwasher so you will have to wash your dishes.

No central heat - there is a split system ductless unit in the kitchen and a wood stove in the living room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at Kestrel Downs. It was lovely to meet you when I called by to check that all was well. It is always interesting to experience different domestic cultural customs. Australians dry their clothes on outdoor clothes lines, as it is eco-friendly, many items can be dried at one time and it imparts a fresh air fragrance to washing. Indoor clothes dryers, if present, are more often used for emergencies. Also, Australian houses do not have central heating. The usual means of heating/cooling a home is with reverse cycle air conditioning, such as the unit we have in our living area. Log fires like the one at Kestrel Downs, are also very popular for their warm ambiance. Happy travels!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abu2007
paris
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Forest and Sea”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We really enjoyed our stay in the house, the fact that we are in the middle of the forest and yet with a superb view on the bay, the wallabies hoping around on the way to the house... Sally was very nice and nicely checked if we were happy during our stay in a non-intrusive manner which we really appreciated.
We really enjoyed making fire during the cold nights, and the house was well prepared to welcome us as home.
The kitchen is very spacious, modern and clean, and we were very happy with that too.
Our toddleralso felt in love with the 2 statues at the entry and wanted to give them a kiss every time she was passing by them...
Thank you Sally for an unforgettable stay

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley...
Glenelg, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 15 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The perfect getaway for lovers or family. We stay 2 nights I could have stayed 2 weeks. The views from most rooms of this lovely home are astounding. The mattresses on the beds are the best I have ever slept on anywhere. (I have travelled to many parts of the world)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing