We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Seaview Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge(American River)(Great Value!)
US$ 110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 107
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 189
US$ 134
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kangaroo Island Seaside Inn(Kingscote)(Great Value!)
US$ 162
US$ 149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 144
US$ 115
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 86
US$ 78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Kangaroo Island Acacia Apartments(Kingscote)(Great Value!)
US$ 149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casuarina Coastal Units(American River)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
12
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2014 via mobile

Great location close to the ferry in Penneshaw.
Lovely country house with great attention to detail.
Tasty local foods for breakfast and hot breakfast cooked to order.
Great romantic getaway with private rooms and bathrooms.
Thanks for a great weekend away Barbara!

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank anmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

A warm welcome awaits your arrival at Seaview Lodge from host Barbara and Heidi (beautifully behaved dog). This lovely old home, dating from the mid 1800's has beautiful features of the era but with mod cons and thoughtful gestures to ensure guests' comfort. Our lovely double room had a 4 poster bed, polished timber floorboards, adequate heating/cooling, sitting chairs and a large ensuite (shower).

We enjoyed tea and biccies in the guest lounge which also boasted a TV and reading material. Breakfast was generous with endless choice of fresh fruit, cereals, Kangaroo Island yogurt and honey, and home made specialties including stewed prunes (delicious) and jams - apricots for the apricot jam were grown on site!

Seaview Lodge is a very short drive from Penneshaw main street with options for an evening meal, a well stocked supermarket and bottle shop and other essentials. We also took the opportunity of an evening penguin tour. It is a great base for exploring the eastern and central parts of Kangaroo Island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed at the Seaview Lodge for 2nights and 3 days. Could certainly have stayed much longer to enjoy the hospitality and the wonderful island.
Where to start??
After a lot of research, I think staying in Penneshaw (where the ferry docks) was the best choice, rather than trying to centrally locate yourself on the island. We had a car, and the attractions are spread north, south, east and west, so no-where is close to everything.

Our hostess:
Barbara was very welcoming and gave us tips on where to eat lunch or dinner at spots around the island. Her dog, Heidi, is so beautiful and well behaved. My husband told Barbara it was my birthday on the Sunday (Mothers Day too) and she whipped up a batch of cup cakes in the morning, popped the candles on them and surprised me at breakfast. So thoughtful. Made my birthday extra special.

Our room:
We chose The Jasmine Room. Nice and quiet, the furniture was all well looked after, cupboards to hang up your clothes and our four-poster bed was very, very comfortable, bathroom had everything you needed. Shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Plenty of nice soft towels too.
Loved the heater/light/exhaust fan combo too.

The Guest Lounge:
The guest lounge is fully equipped for chatting, planning next day's adventure, watching telly, or reading and having a cup of tea or coffee and yummy biscuits. Spent our after dinner time in here next to a roaring fire Plenty of books to keep you occupied.

Breakfast:
A full breakfast with a choice of cereals, fruits, juice, tea, coffee, toast and eggs was a great start to the day. Make sure you definitely have the prunes. They are just so tasty.

Grounds:
The garden area is lovely and I can imagine sitting out on the back deck or side veranda in summer. Plenty of parking on site.
I would certainly recommend this lodge to anyone. Just a lovely overall experience. Definitely value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

Chose this property as part of a tour of Kangaroo island for my parents visiting from Europe. They absolutely loved the personal and friendly welcome from the owner (plus little canine friend Heidi). A very quirky and beautiful hotel with an outstanding breakfast. Well recommended

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurence_baillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed at Seaview Lodge on our final night on Kangaroo Island and loved it. The property is a wonderful old stone house, excellently refurbished, set on a hill with views to the shore. Barbara and Heidi (a beautiful border collie with a lovely nature) were on hand to welcome us, full of information, but happy to let us settle in and relax. We stayed in the Rose room (having chosen the room from the house layout online) with a four poster bed & period furnishing, but modern en suite. The house is slightly out of town, but no more than a 10 minute walk to many restaurants & shops, as well as the ferry terminal.
The breakfast Barbara served was sensational, with local produce (yoghurt, honey, homemade stewed fruit) as well as full cooked breakfast. She even had gluten free toast, despite the fact that we hadn't requested this!
The room and house were spotlessly clean, and the guest lounge (which we had to ourselves) was well supplied with books, games, a TV, hot drink paraphernalia, even a photo album showing the changes the house has been through in the past 2 decades.
I would love to spend a few more nights with Barbara at the Seaview Lodge next time we visit Kangaroo Island!

Room Tip: Check out the room descriptions and house floor plan online to choose a room which best suits your needs. The Jasmine room only has 2 single beds
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauranMattF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews