We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back again!”

The Duke of Brunswick
Ranked #1 of 21 Bars & Pubs in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Description: The world outside, doesn't matter here. Designed to be the perfect place to relax and unwind or to gear up for a busy day, the Duke of Brunswick Hotel located on Gilbert street Adelaide is a beautiful heritage listed building. As Adelaide's only pub with a 100% Gluten Free kitchen you are guaranteed a safe dining experience without fear or risk of cross contamination. Our burgers and Parmys are loved by all our patrons not just those diagnosed with coeliac disease. With an impressive selection of Whisky, Gin and Spirits as well as a keen love for an old fashioned cocktail. The Duke of Brunswick is the place you come to be "Seriously Social" and let the rest of the world disappear for a few hours.
Restaurant details
Description: The world outside, doesn't matter here. Designed to be the perfect place to relax and unwind or to gear up for a busy day, the Duke of Brunswick Hotel located on Gilbert street Adelaide is a beautiful heritage listed building. As Adelaide's only pub with a 100% Gluten Free kitchen you are guaranteed a safe dining experience without fear or risk of cross contamination. Our burgers and Parmys are loved by all our patrons not just those diagnosed with coeliac disease. With an impressive selection of Whisky, Gin and Spirits as well as a keen love for an old fashioned cocktail. The Duke of Brunswick is the place you come to be "Seriously Social" and let the rest of the world disappear for a few hours.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great pub for lunch and drinks! Gluten free so that's a relief for parents with kids with that problem as well as adults. Food was delicious, big serves and a wide choice of wines. Staff very friendly. The place is decorated so well and it has a lot of atmosphere!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank holidayJunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2021

I'll admit it's taken me a few weeks to write this review. Booked for 8 for a Friday lunch. Eight men, in our 50s. All went well at lunch, the group easily dropped a thousand over lunch/wine. Adjourned to a table out front. Food and bevvies were actually rather good. Next thing, we were declined drink service until 'we drank a bottle of water'. Duly done, but then told by the hipster barman 'no further drinks'. No explanation, no negotiation. BTW - NOT pissed. To say we were not happy is an understatement. Then the penny dropped - we were OBVIOUSLY not young or cool enough to occupy such a prominent position out front of their establishment. Screw you. So, off to another pub, then a bar - casually dropped several dollars more. If an Adelaide establishment can be so cavalier with their treatment of the public, I'm certain that we won't be the last to be turned away from had the potential to be a regular haunt. How long until THEY too are struggling, and lamenting the lack of clientele in an Adelaide hospitality market?

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank rabs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 May 2021 via mobile

We were lucky enough while we were visiting Adelaide to get a table and enjoy amazing gluten free food! For anyone out there who is GF it is so hard to go out for tea and wonder what it is you will be able to eat from the menu! It was such a treat to be able to actually enjoy dumplings and salt and pepper squid! Thankyou so much for a great meal and for thinking of all is GF people you guys rock!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 2Hundredadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 May 2021

Had a lovely meal as a family! My wife who is gluten free found this place a real treat not found in many places! Awesome food, options and very kind and happy staff! All round very happy!

Thank you from!
@2hundredadventures

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank gradytomj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2021 via mobile

Great space and welcoming and initially good service from the young lady serving. However experience was spoilt having a wine from a bottle that had obviously opened longer than it should be. Being very familiar with the wine and my experience in the wine industry I was confident in questioning of the quality of the wine but was met with a very dismissive approach from the male behind the bar. So please taste the wine before ordering.
After leaving a wine not drunk we found there were other great drinking and eating spots along Gilbert st where we could enjoy a nice wine.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank ke79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Duke of Brunswick also viewed

Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Duke of Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.