We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location, great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great location, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

I've stayed here once or twice a year for the last few years and it is always a good experience. A great location in the centre of Adelaide - the service is good, staff very friendly and helpful, the rooms are great value, and free wifi is always a good thing! Easy to walk to shopping, great restaurants, the north terrace precinct, and the central market, and there is good access to public transport for things further afield.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms have smaller windows - ask for something on a lower level at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newcarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear newcarolyn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and thank you for your continued loyalty when choosing accommodation in Adelaide. It is great to see that you have had such a positive experience with us and that you have found our location and service to be positive.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    621
    99
    27
    9
See reviews for
117
890
119
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed here for a short business trip and found the service fantastic. Can't really fault the hotel and is in a great location. Be warned if using the car park though, the ramps are very narrow so a large car will find it difficult. Not the hotels fault though, just a tip. All up, good stay and I highly recommend the Mars Bar Cheesecake.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTWRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear RTWRC,

Thank you for your positive review of our Hotel. I am delighted to read that you found our hotel to be to your liking and that our service exceeded your expectations. Unfortunately, the car park that we utilise for guests that decide to park their own vehicle is a bit narrow but we do have a valet parking service available where our staff would be more than happy to park the car for you.

I look forward to seeing you again soon and I will make sure we have some mars bar cheesecake available in Culshaw’s for your next stay.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley Beach, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Saturday night we had dinner at Culshaw's Grill, the restaurant on the ground floor of the Majestic Hotel on Frome Street - OMG! Definitely our new favourite restaurant! Service was very good but the star was the amazingly yummy food - great starters (and well explained how the get the interesting flavours by the staff) and our steaks were simply the best I've had in a very long time. We had the eye fillet and the scotch fillet and both were cooked to perfection. Dessert was the nougat and caramel cheesecake (which pleasantly surprised me that none of the sweet flavours were overpowering, but were subtle and worked really well together) and the piece de resistance, the decadent chocolate plate - if you love chocolate you simply MUST have this! As with the cheesecake, nothing over sweet, but so so good! Our meal was topped off with a great bottle of Nepenthe bubbles. We can't recommend this restaurant highly enough now, definitely will be back, with friends. 11/10!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Dear Nick H,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Restaurant. I am extremely pleased to read that the food you ordered was served to your liking and that you had an opportunity to sample some of our decadent deserts.

We look forward to seeing you again for dinner with your friends.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

The service here is 10/10. The rooms are very nicely decorated and are very spacious. We slept very well and there is little to fault. I would happily stay here again. I liked all the sculptures on the roof, worth a look! We didn't eat in the hotel but did get an early morning breakfast box on a day-trip to Kangaroo Island with a very early start - the breakfast was very expensive for what it was but we did enjoy it. I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatFarrell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear Cattipoops,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our service to be 10/10. And thank you for your comments regarding our breakfast as we are currently reviewing our breakfast options to enhance our guest experience in our restaurant and we will certainly consider your feedback.

We trust you enjoyed Kangaroo Island and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
183 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Hotel is very modern, smaller, tall and thin. Tiny lobby, just the front desk, a small computer area, restaurant on one end. Up to our room, 509. Fresh and modern, two twin beds with a desk,comfy chair,flat screen tv, lots of dresser and closet space. Small bar with fridge, and drawers hold glasses, tableware and wine, for a fee, plus snacks and drinks with honor bar. 
Bathroom is styled with sliding doors and windows, tub, glass shower, very nice. Toiletries, soft, large towels. The best is a small balcony, completely enclosed that you can look out over the area. Nice!
Euro styling where you put your card in a holder by the door to run all things like lights, heat, etc. No pool, but up on rooftop there's a garden area, overlooks the city, pretty area with a waterfall and seating. Tiny gym with three machines.Bfree wifi which is a big plus! Worked great and easy to use.
Hotel is central and an easy walk to Rundle St. with its pedestrian mall and many restaurants. At the end of Rundle you can catch the trolley (small fee) and ride around the city or to the end of the line where the beaches are. Also museums and university are a few blocks away.
Front desk staff is very helpful, lending us umbrellas, suggesting restaurants and helping us with maps. Always available, they greet you with a smile. A great hotel, would highly recommend! 

Room Tip: Ours faced away from the street, was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Manager at Majestic Roof Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear laenie,

Thank you for your positive comments on our Hotel and your experience during your stay. I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that you found our facilities to be to a high standard. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary wireless internet and that you found our service and staff to be helpful. I will certainly ensure I pass on your feedback to our team.

Thank you for recommending us and we hope to welcome you back next time you are in Adelaide.

Regards,
Michael Collis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.8 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
1.1 km away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Adelaide Treasury
0.6 km away
Adabco Boutique Hotel
Adabco Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
0.3 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#10 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Roof Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Roof Garden Hotel

Property: Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Address: 55 Frome St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Business Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Romantic Hotel in Adelaide
#3 Family Hotel in Adelaide
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,186 - ₹ 10,826
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Majestic Roof Garden Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic Roof Garden Hotel is the award winning four-and-a-half (4.5) star flagship property of Majestic Hotels. Opened in Adelaide in 2004 and awarded the Best Value Hotel in 2009, it has been created with the discerning traveller in mind and despite its upmarket appearance, provides great deals on accommodation. Location is key. This Adelaide hotel is only 50 metres from the ever-vibrant Rundle Street with its huge variety of bars, restaurants and eclectic shopping. Walk 5 minutes to Rundle Mall or 10 minutes to the Art Gallery, Adelaide University and Museum. 20 minutes will find you at the Adelaide Convention Centre, National Wine Museum or Adelaide Zoo. All 120 rooms feature modern bathrooms, king size beds, full mini-bar, 24-hour room service and in-room broadband. Plus all the usual conveniences you would expect from a 4.5 star hotel such as 24-hour reception, security card access, business centre, mini-gymnasium, outstanding in-house restaurant and on-site secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Majestic Roof Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Roof Garden Adelaide
Hotel Majestic Roof Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing