We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,528)
Filter reviews
2,528 results
Traveller rating
875
1,097
375
119
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
875
1,097
375
119
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hindley street great location rundle mall central location car park executive room would stay again buffet breakfast saturday night the heart of the city per day public transport great room noise gc casino nightlife
Filter
Updating list...
895 - 900 of 2,528 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Great location, staff helpful and rooms spotless, close to great restaurants, and all major attractions within walking distance. Peel St was close by and had fun restaurants and bars, Rundle Mall was continuation of Hendley St, so it was an easy stroll.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you very much for your review Jenny, I will be sure to pass your kind words on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

We booked into this hotel for a three day stay, prepaid. Apon arrival we found that we could not access the hotels car park. Our vehicle is a 4WD with a roof rack. The height limitation would not let us enter. The hotel could not provide us with a suitable replacement car park. I suffer from chronic rheumatoid arthritis so I needed a close by alternative. To date I have not been offered a refund. We upheld our part of the contract, they did not provide the car parking that we had expected and paid for.Do not book this hotel

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Good Morning James,
I had attempted to make contact with you on the 21st March to advise that due to your unique situation we would be happy to honour your request to cancel the booking and provide a full refund.
Unfortunately with a clearance of 2.03m excessively high vehicles are unable to be parked on site and on this occasion the alternate options provided by the team were not suitable for you.
I shall attempt to make contact again today to ensure you have received this communication.
Kind Regards,
Heath Varcoe
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Whether shopping ,visiting galleries and museums, food markets, leisure and exercise the Grand Chancellor is the ideal base. Friendly, helpful staff and a very good buffet breakfast. Happy hour in the bar is extremely convivial.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank elizabethdL420QL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you very much for your review Elizabeth. It is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Clean and very quiet location considering its in the centre of the city.
I would stay there again.
Only issue we had was the iron flicked the safety switch. Maintenance were contacted and the issue was resolved fast.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 680racheleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you for your review Rachel. Great to hear that any issues were able to be quickly resolved and you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017

If you are checked in to room 804 refuse it........it is like trying to sleep in a night club. There is no sound proofing from outside. The walls reverberate with the base.
The rooms themselves are great and the staff extremely helpful. But no point staying there if unable to sleep!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand-Chancellor, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback Jill. I am sorry to hear that noise has disrupted your recent stay with us and will be sure to pass your feedback on to our General Manager who is continuing to work with our maintenance team and surrounding establishments to minimise the noise disturbance to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews