We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great if you want to go to the strippers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in Adelaide
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great if you want to go to the strippers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

I have stayed here a few times on business including a stay over a weekend. Each time the hotel has been really good as far as service goes. The rooms could do with some touch ups to fix stains on walls etc, but in general it doesn't feel too tired and is definitely comfortable enough. The restaurant does a decent meal for dinner and the breakfast buffet is ok if included in your rate, but I don't understand how any hotel can charge $25 for breakfast.

The BIG PROBLEM with this hotel is the location. It's right at the start of the Kings Cross/King St/Seedy part of the Adelaide CBD. Next door is a Club X sex shop with peep shows. Down the street are all manner of dodgy bars, crap clubs and strip joints. Over the weekend you will see 18 year olds parading down the street wearing nothing much. A lot of them seem to stay at this hotel on weekends as well doe to the proximity. Chances are you'll have to dodge some vomit around the entrance to the hotel. During the week venturing out the front door means being asked for change or similar.

It's not something the hotel can control unfortunately, more something for the Adelaide council to address. Oh, one thing the hotel can do is address the amount of noise that gets into the rooms at night. Double glazing is definitely in order.

Room Tip: I would guess that the higher you go the less noise you get from the street and clubs around the are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7S_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear MR_S1_11

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

Again, thank you for your feedback.


Kind regards


Simon deJong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    689
    274
    80
    43
See reviews for
216
572
125
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

First of all this hotel is located on Hindley street which is where most of Adelaide's nightclubs bars etc are located. BUT once we stepped inside the hotel, we forgot all about that. The entry, bar area is really nice. Room was modern & sparkling clean. The staff were very helpful. For this price & one night in the city you really can't do much better in my opinion! We Will be back regularly!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie-Traveller598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Dear Aussie-Traveller598

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.
We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commending the staff and hotel services.
It is our continual mission to anticipate and exceed the expectations of our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon deJong

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Nice city hotel in a good location to walk most places. Make sure you book a room on a high floor as the hotel is in the middle of a lot of clubs and bars so if you want a quiet sleep I would definitely recommend the high floors.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Rockstar,

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

It is our continual mission to anticipate and exceed the expectations of our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon deJong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Central to everything enjoyed our five nights stay. Good transport on your doorstep. Room service was good room clean and well serviced. I loved Adelaide.
We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pottsofroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Pottsofroses,

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

We value the constructive feedback that we receive from our guests by expressing their opinions both positive and negative.

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commending the staff and hotel services. It is our continual mission to anticipate and exceed the expectations of our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

You have quite a few options in Adelaide, and this hotel, for the money, is a heck of a good option. Room was neat tidy and well laid out, parking easier and access to everything is of course very good. It's on the upper end (Rundle Mall) of Hindley Street, which is handy. Just keep in mind on a Fri & Sat night this is going to be noisy. This said, an impressive hotel and great value for money

Room Tip: As always, be polite on check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreshieFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesAdelaide, General Manager at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear Freshieflyer,

Greetings from Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley.

It is always a pleasure to read when our guests have enjoyed their stay by commending the staff and hotel services.

It is our continual mission to anticipate and exceed the expectations of our guests.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming back to the Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley in the near future.

Kind regards


Simon de Jong

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelaide hotels
0.7 km away
Ibis Adelaide
Ibis Adelaide
#9 of 59 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.9 km away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#7 of 59 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
0.2 km away
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#1 of 59 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 km away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 59 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,804 reviews
0.2 km away
Miller Apartments Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley

Property: Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley
Address: 65 Hindley St, Adelaide, South Australia 5000, Australia
Region: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Adelaide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adelaide
#15 Luxury Hotel in Adelaide
#22 Business Hotel in Adelaide
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,458 - ₹ 13,415
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley, is conveniently located in downtown Adelaide, just 3 minutes walk from the Convention Centre and a short stroll from the vibrant Rundle Mall.There are 208 well appointed rooms. Guest rooms are non-smoking and are equipped with cable/satellite TV, pay on demand movies, broadband internet access, iron/ ironing board and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grand Chancellor Adelaide on Hindley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Adelaide
Adelaide Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing