We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveller rating
183
307
152
51
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
307
152
51
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate buildingcentral marketstudio roomgouger streetno elevatorbreak freesmall kitchenettefree wifiquiet locationroom was clean and comfortableshort staysingle bedwithin walking distancean overnight staycomfortable staypublic transporteasy walk
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 730 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We booked this accommodation for a one night stopover. The location suited us being close to train station and centre of town with plenty of places to chose from to eat. The room was small but had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fish058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alis0nbaker, General Manager at BreakFree Director's Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am pleased that you found the accommodation and location suitable for your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Nice and clean Studio, close to ChinaTown and Central Market (10 min walk), can enjoy food there. Close (also 10 min walk) to Coles Express and Hungry Jack (running 24 hours), which is convenient for tourist

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank samueltkfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alis0nbaker, General Manager at BreakFree Director's Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the location suited your needs. China Town is a great place to grab a bite to eat, so much choice, certainly one of my favourite places to go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

We were quoted $ 85 per night but were charged $94. We have stayed many times over the years and were disappointed with the initial reception we received. We were indeed offred the hotel part of the property. What part Loyalty?

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tonyks33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alis0nbaker, General Manager at BreakFree Director's Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Good morning Tony, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with Breakfree Directors Studios. As discussed on the telephone, I sincerely apologies for the mix up on accommodation rates due to the change in the number of nights of your stay. I am glad that we were able to resolve this issue and look forward to welcoming you back to soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

The staff were friendly and extremely helpful regarding directions, transport options and dining tips. The location is not far from the Chinatown district which has some fabulous cheap food options. We were also given a free upgrade on our room for the duration of our stay. Our unserviced room still came with garbage collection so there is no reason to worry about accumulation of mess if you were needing to book a longer stay. Absolutely no complaints!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kirsten B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alis0nbaker, General Manager at BreakFree Director's Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Hi Kirsten, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Breakfree Directors Studios. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Chinatown is definitely one of my favorite areas for grabbing a bite to eat and no matter if you are looking for something fancy or just a quick meal there is always a choice! I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

I asked for a quiet room and got it. The hotel is an older one but well kept and the room was all we needed. You can pay more but really this is great. We were picked up for a tour of Adelaide and dropped off at the end of the day, we dined at the Star of Siam restaurant for a truly delicious Thai meal, only a few minutes walk from the Hotel and right in the middle of many other restaurants. Also the middle of Chinatown.
Coming from the airport, take a taxi, only $20 to $25. Friendly Cafe right next door for breakfast.

Room Tip: only slept there so view was not a priority (just as well)
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DavidMcM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alis0nbaker, General Manager at BreakFree Director's Studios, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Thank you for your kind comments David. We are all pleased that you enjoyed your time in our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews