We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hamilton Island with toddlers”
Enter into Utopia. Stay in a place of ideal perfection. Hamilton Island, The Great Barrier Reef
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter into Utopia. Stay in a place of ideal perfection. Hamilton Island, The Great Barrier Reef
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Enter into Utopia. Stay in a place of ideal perfection. Hamilton Island, The Great Barrier Reef
Entrance and infinity plunge pool
Entertainment deck and dining table with stunning views
Expansive decks with sweeping views connect living, entertainment and sleeping areas
Viewing deck where you can watch turtles swim in the ocean below
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Hamilton Island, Whitsunday Islands, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JJ_Warth
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely but needs some maintenance”
Reviewed 29 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Utopia in April 2013 and although it was lovely, well equipped and had beautiful views, it did require some maintenance. For example a number of the sliding doors were extremely difficult to open or shut and in a number of bedrooms the blinds were missing or broken, ensuring you were awoken with the rising sun. I would also like to point out that broken blinds had been reported on previous stays. Finally, the stove was very difficult to light and keep alight. This has obviously been an issue before as there is a note regarding it.

I agree with previous reviews that the pool is way too cold. We were there in April and it had been beautiful hot sunny weather but it was still too cold to use. Also agree that it would be nice to be able to access the water from the front of the property so you could snorkel around the rocks.

One final complaint is the privacy in the ensuite bathrooms..... the doors are louvre doors which allow all smells and sounds through... not so pleasant.

On a positive note, there is plenty of room and the set up allows everyone to have the own space but also come together either indoors or outdoors. They were also helpful and flexible regarding the room set up and sleeping arrangements. So in summary, I thought it was lovely but definitely not 5 stars or luxury accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The separate sleeping areas and the beautiful view and location.
Liked least: The general upkeep of the property and the bathroom doors.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate your comments on the property.

In regards to some of the comments you brought up I'd like to update you to let you know that in May 2013 all the blinds in each bungalow and every bedroom were replaced with new roller blinds. The existing blinds were continually breaking through usage, so we have replaced them throughout to ensure privacy and block out the sun.

In regards to the stove, this was unfortunately broken by a previous guest and we had to order parts as it is a European design. Unfortunately it has taken some time to receive and install and we had tried a temporary fix in the interim.

Regarding access to the water at the front of the property, this would be nice too but we do not have authority from the Island to build down to the waters edge for public access. From our villa you can enjoy the views, but for the beach experience you do need to take a short 5 minute drive to the Catseye beach.

In regards to your other comments like the sticky doors and pool heating, we will definitely take these comments into consideration.

Thanks again for your time and feedback. It helps us provide you with a better service for next time.

kindest
Utopia Management
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Reviewed 25 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011
7
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LP70
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful property, aptly named!”
Reviewed 25 November 2010 for a stay in October 2010
5
people found this review helpful

We recently had a family holiday at Utopia, which certainly met our high expectations. The house is fabulous, a short walk to the resort facilities and beach, clears views, a great platform to sit and gaze at the ocean, really beautiful place to stay. Isabella who looked after our booking was extremely helpful as was the on-island management.

The design is great for a family group as the main house has the living area, plunge pool, large dining both inside and in the enclosed verandah around the pool, with the bungalows private and set off from the living area. We had many visits and sightings of nature - from super friendly kookaburras to turtles frolicking just off the shoreline.

A couple of things that might be useful to note, there is no beach or ocean access from the property directly. The bungalows are lovely, bungalow 1 and 2 are attached to the main living area (via walkways) bungalow 3 is separate (out the back) - not directly connected but a short walk. Bungalow 3 does not have TVs or radio in either bedroom.

We found the unheated pool way too cold to use in October which was a bit disappointing. Also, during our stay at least there was no real sound system set up (and no ipod docking station) or books/games etc so if you fancy those services check if they've added them.
All up though a really wonderful stay. Wish I could afford it every year!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Nov 2010
Thank you for your review. We have considered your comments and have taken up the following:
- Since your stay we have included new flatscreen tv/dvd players to the third bungalow (both bedrooms) so now all rooms come with tv's.
-We have taken up your suggestion of adding ipod docks/speakers to all 5 bedrooms and an ipod port in the main entertainment area, so you can listen to ipod inside and outside on the pool deck
- we had added several board games, magazines and books for entertainment.

Again we appreciate the time you have taken to comment on our property and we look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.

thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Reviewed 12 August 2010 for a stay in April 2010
5
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing