We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Utterly average”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in late April as we had organized our wedding on the island.

We didn't have huge expectations as we were constantly having to chase up our wedding coordinator which left us skeptical of whether we would have the wedding day of our dreams. We definitely felt that we were treated as a number. Nothing comes cheap on daydream island (especially not weddings) and we really felt that we did not get the service that we paid for! On the day, everything came together though and our ceremony at lovers cove was incredible.

Wedding aside, nothing on daydream island was a stand out. The bathrooms had mould in them although the rooms themselves were spacious.

The lack of choice for food was extremely frustrating - and the cost of the food was exorbitant for what you got! We were stuck with buffets for 2 of our 3 nights!

If you are looking for a romantic getaway, look elsewhere as daydream is certainly not the place to be! You would also expect that there would be room service - especially as they bill the resort as being a retreat for couples!

We were also surprised to learn that the beaches aren't sand - they are sharp coral which is extremely uncomfortable underfoot. Photos of the beaches are quite misleading!

Daydream island is a solid 3 star but you really don't get what you pay for! We would consider going back but only for the special memories of our wedding not for the service or the experience!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    616
    384
    234
    205
See reviews for
698
780
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This resort has some really lovely aspects.
The staff are really friendly and we were greeted each morning for breakfast with a smiling face. The buffet breakfast offered everything from ‘to die for pancakes’ to healthy fruit and yogurts plus the traditional hot breakfast. All food was replaced as soon as it was low so you could do an early breakfast or late breakfast.
We stayed in the coral room and these were clean and tidy and quite spacious.
The pool area’s- and there are quite a few pools at this resort had a lot of chairs / lounges for guests so where some resorts you have to get their at the crack of dawn to get a chair, this is not the case here – all beach towels are provided so you can replace with fresh towels each day.
The living reef gets you up close and personal with some wonderful marine life – there are sharks, large lemon shark , reef sharks and lots of stingrays – not to mention smaller fish. Daily fish feeding happens at 10am and is highly recommended to see
Night Cinema – really nice to chill out on deck chairs and watch a movie – take something warm as can get a bit cool
We went to the reef which was awesome- the staff on the boat really were lovely and went out of their way to make you feel comfortable and to make sure you were well looked after. We took a helicopter flight from the boat to the hotel (via heart reef) and that was to die for. Emma organised the flight and we were lucky to have Phillip as our pilot. The memories from that flight will live with us forever – if you can afford it, do it
The not so great
The tennis courts – really in poor shape, if you play tennis like we do then you will be deeply disappointed. We gave feedback to the manager who assures us that this is in the cards to be fixed – I hope so as someone will really hurt themselves.
The cost to ferry across to Airlie beach is expensive $50 return and the trip takes 15 minutes and if you want to visit Hamilton island, it will cost you approx. $180 pp as the Ferry at Daydream doesn’t have the contract to Hamilton so you have to go to Airlie and change companies- hence why so expensive
Food: Can be expensive, best value is the Fish Bowl which serves pub style meals at a reasonable price – average main $24, kids average $13.
Some tips if staying at the resort
Book your spa treatment the day you arrive, it gets busy
It’s an island, food can be expensive- bring snacks along that you can have in between meals – we all get hungry throughout the day so having these on hand will reduce cost
Grog – this is a licensed island so you will get questioned if you bring a slab of beer to the island – we brought a couple bottles of wine which was not an issue

Would I go back –I would base myself at Airlie beach, book a unit and hire a car and use the mainland as my base. You can then do islands at a fraction of the cost as there are all the cruisers go from Airlie. You can buy food their (Coles) and so your cost will reduce substantially
Best time to visit Whitsundays is June July – nice temperature and low wind

Room Tip: Families- ask for rooms near the main pools
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Suem2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaydreamIsland, General Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Daydream Island Resort and Spa.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and took advantage of some of Daydreams unique attractions in our Living Reef and out door cinema.
As mentioned refurbishment of our tennis courts has started this week and we look forward to the finished product.
We would like the opportunity to welcome you back to Daydream, when you are next in the beautiful Whitsunday’s.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Warren McCorriston
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

boy that was bad, this place is starting to look derelict, ugly deco, lousy food, a relic from the past, better to be a troglodyte bring the A team, blow the place up and start fresh with new owners

Room Tip: no good rooms there, a poor 2 stars
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank air198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaydreamIsland, General Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Daydream Island Resort and Spa.
Naturally, we welcome constructive feedback and opinion, however in this case your feedback provides no substance. Should you like to provide us with more exact feedback please contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Warren McCorriston
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daydream Island hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

As part of our 30th anniversary visiting the Whitsundays we spent 4 days on Daydream Island. We had a beautiful Garden balcony rom overlooking one of the many pools. The resort is well maintained throughout and a living reef set around the main entrance/foyer area gives guests the opportunity to watch the daily fish feeding as well as being educational.
The resort offers many daily activities and optional water sports.The snorkelling at Lovers Cove was just brilliant well worth taking our own gear too. The buffet breakfasts which were overloaded with variety so much to choose from, we chose to eat in the private dining area overlooking the amazing waterfall....spectacular at night!
Staff were very friendly and it made our stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our Garden balcony on the 3rd floor overlooking one of the pools was excellent and we had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
141 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A fun place to relax with the family and enjoy the warmth of North Queensland. There were lots of activities for our son. The games the activities people run are great for all. Much of the time we relaxed and read a book or swam by the pool. We enjoyed the outdoor movie on two nights we were there. Letting our son sail the catamaran was the highlight for me - the expression of his face when he could feel the wind and water in his hands. I know some would prefer more eating options - but I had a magnificent meal at the Mermaids restaurant the night we ate there.

Room Tip: Views to the sea are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenPatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daydream Island
10.7 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
249 reviews
18.2 km away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,320 reviews
4.7 km away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 km away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
17.9 km away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#4 of 5 in Hamilton Island
544 reviews
10.2 km away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daydream Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daydream Island Resort & Spa

Property: Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Address: 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Daydream Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,729 - ₹ 81,718
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Daydream Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Daydream Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daydream Island Resort And Spa
Daydream Island Hotel Daydream Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing