We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice but Expensive”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This resort has some really lovely aspects.
The staff are really friendly and we were greeted each morning for breakfast with a smiling face. The buffet breakfast offered everything from ‘to die for pancakes’ to healthy fruit and yogurts plus the traditional hot breakfast. All food was replaced as soon as it was low so you could do an early breakfast or late breakfast.
We stayed in the coral room and these were clean and tidy and quite spacious.
The pool area’s- and there are quite a few pools at this resort had a lot of chairs / lounges for guests so where some resorts you have to get their at the crack of dawn to get a chair, this is not the case here – all beach towels are provided so you can replace with fresh towels each day.
The living reef gets you up close and personal with some wonderful marine life – there are sharks, large lemon shark , reef sharks and lots of stingrays – not to mention smaller fish. Daily fish feeding happens at 10am and is highly recommended to see
Night Cinema – really nice to chill out on deck chairs and watch a movie – take something warm as can get a bit cool
We went to the reef which was awesome- the staff on the boat really were lovely and went out of their way to make you feel comfortable and to make sure you were well looked after. We took a helicopter flight from the boat to the hotel (via heart reef) and that was to die for. Emma organised the flight and we were lucky to have Phillip as our pilot. The memories from that flight will live with us forever – if you can afford it, do it
The not so great
The tennis courts – really in poor shape, if you play tennis like we do then you will be deeply disappointed. We gave feedback to the manager who assures us that this is in the cards to be fixed – I hope so as someone will really hurt themselves.
The cost to ferry across to Airlie beach is expensive $50 return and the trip takes 15 minutes and if you want to visit Hamilton island, it will cost you approx. $180 pp as the Ferry at Daydream doesn’t have the contract to Hamilton so you have to go to Airlie and change companies- hence why so expensive
Food: Can be expensive, best value is the Fish Bowl which serves pub style meals at a reasonable price – average main $24, kids average $13.
Some tips if staying at the resort
Book your spa treatment the day you arrive, it gets busy
It’s an island, food can be expensive- bring snacks along that you can have in between meals – we all get hungry throughout the day so having these on hand will reduce cost
Grog – this is a licensed island so you will get questioned if you bring a slab of beer to the island – we brought a couple bottles of wine which was not an issue

Would I go back –I would base myself at Airlie beach, book a unit and hire a car and use the mainland as my base. You can then do islands at a fraction of the cost as there are all the cruisers go from Airlie. You can buy food their (Coles) and so your cost will reduce substantially
Best time to visit Whitsundays is June July – nice temperature and low wind

Room Tip: Families- ask for rooms near the main pools
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Suem2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaydreamIsland, General Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Daydream Island Resort and Spa.
It is great to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and took advantage of some of Daydreams unique attractions in our Living Reef and out door cinema.
As mentioned refurbishment of our tennis courts has started this week and we look forward to the finished product.
We would like the opportunity to welcome you back to Daydream, when you are next in the beautiful Whitsunday’s.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Warren McCorriston
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    616
    384
    234
    204
See reviews for
697
780
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

boy that was bad, this place is starting to look derelict, ugly deco, lousy food, a relic from the past, better to be a troglodyte bring the A team, blow the place up and start fresh with new owners

Room Tip: no good rooms there, a poor 2 stars
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank air198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaydreamIsland, General Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Daydream Island Resort and Spa.
Naturally, we welcome constructive feedback and opinion, however in this case your feedback provides no substance. Should you like to provide us with more exact feedback please contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Warren McCorriston
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Daydream Island hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

As part of our 30th anniversary visiting the Whitsundays we spent 4 days on Daydream Island. We had a beautiful Garden balcony rom overlooking one of the many pools. The resort is well maintained throughout and a living reef set around the main entrance/foyer area gives guests the opportunity to watch the daily fish feeding as well as being educational.
The resort offers many daily activities and optional water sports.The snorkelling at Lovers Cove was just brilliant well worth taking our own gear too. The buffet breakfasts which were overloaded with variety so much to choose from, we chose to eat in the private dining area overlooking the amazing waterfall....spectacular at night!
Staff were very friendly and it made our stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our Garden balcony on the 3rd floor overlooking one of the pools was excellent and we had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

A fun place to relax with the family and enjoy the warmth of North Queensland. There were lots of activities for our son. The games the activities people run are great for all. Much of the time we relaxed and read a book or swam by the pool. We enjoyed the outdoor movie on two nights we were there. Letting our son sail the catamaran was the highlight for me - the expression of his face when he could feel the wind and water in his hands. I know some would prefer more eating options - but I had a magnificent meal at the Mermaids restaurant the night we ate there.

Room Tip: Views to the sea are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenPatric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Friends of ours share the same wedding anniversary, so to celebrate their 40th and our 34th, we decided to treat the girls to a weekend on Daydream Island.
The trip didn't get off to a great start when the windows of the ferry transferring us to the island were so dirty we couldn't see the scenery on the way over.
We were met at the jetty and taken to a reception area, before checking into our rooms. Our room had dust and rubbish inside the wardrobe, and there was bird poo (looked like it had been there for some time) on one of the 2 chairs on the balcony.
There were only 2 restaurants open that night and we were planning a big night at one of those to celebrate our anniversaries the following night, so we went to the other, the Fish Bowl, where we were caught in the crossfire of two movies - one on a giant screen near the beach and the other inside the restaurant. The noise was deafening, with the sound of screaming kids adding to the din.
Next day we decided to have a game of tennis, but when we arrived at the courts, both were in a very bad state of disrepair, with large holes and tears in the synthetic surface. I wondered what Workplace Health & Safety would have done had they seen them. Later we decided to try a round of mini golf, but refused to pay what we regarded as an outrageous entry fee of $10 per person ($40 for 4).
Our big dinner on Saturday night at Mermaids Restaurant (billed as the resort's top restaurant but not much better than a cafe) got off to a bad start when we arrived and the manager led us to a table inside the restaurant. I explained that when making the reservation we had asked for a table out the front (in the breeze overlooking the beach) but he said none were available. I pointed out that there were 2 empty tables out the front, but he said they were being saved for "other people". Rather than spoil the night for the girls, we accepted the inside table, but watched with interest to see what happened to the 2 spare tables out the front. They remained vacant for about an hour, and were eventually occupied by 2 families with young children. One of the families (mum, dad and small child) spent the entire evening sitting with their backs to the beach, so we doubted they would have "reserved" a table out front.
We ordered a bottle of red wine (at an outrageous price) which was served hot - way above room temperature. I mentioned this to the waitress, but she just shrugged her shoulders and walked away. In the end we were forced to add ice to the wine to make it drinkable. On the positive side the meals were delicious and we refused to let the restaurant manager's poor PR skills and the hot wine spoil our celebration.
But there is one thing worth noting if you eat out on Daydream: flyers throughout the resort boast that Daydream is the first/only resort to have its own fishing licence, so the Catch of the Day will be fresh. Quality fish like coral trout were mentioned. However, I couldn't help but notice several boxes of frozen fish being unloaded from the ferry while we were there - and it certainly wasn't coral trout!
Daydream Island has a lot going for it - it is modern, the views are fantastic, and it has some great swimming pools and bars.
But management needs to lift its act if it wants to keep its customers satisfied.
PS: Tennis players should take out insurance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aussie8869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daydream Island
10.7 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
18.2 km away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,293 reviews
18.3 km away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
4.7 km away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
23.0 km away
One&Only Hayman Island
One&Only Hayman Island
#1 of 1 in Hayman Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daydream Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daydream Island Resort & Spa

Property: Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Address: 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Daydream Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,113 - ₹ 23,122
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Daydream Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Daydream Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daydream Island Resort And Spa
Daydream Island Hotel Daydream Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing