We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing and romantic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing and romantic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary on DDI. We had a wonderful time, soaking up the sunshine poolside. We took the rainforest walk, had quiet time in a hammock ,cocktails in the pool bar, lovely dinners at Mermaids. We were very happy with the hamper filled with food and a bottle of wine. We chose to eat watching the sunset on the pier all alone. It was fantastic. We received congratulations from a wonderful staff member who had provided gift from staff delivered to our room. We were so impressed with how friendly and helpful all the staff were. We supported our meals having brought a few food items with us and this worked out perfectly as the room has a good size bar fridge and they have tea and coffee in the room. We were also pleased with other amenities in the room, All over a wonderful memory and one we hope to repeat. Thankyou DDI

Room Tip: Ocean balcony room has great view and quiet location. Choose the rainforest wing, level two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    615
    383
    232
    204
See reviews for
696
777
30
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Went there for my sisters wedding, staff were lovely although thought it was alittle expensive for two people to stay not somewhere to take childern.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaydreamIsland, General Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Daydream Island Resort and Spa. I was very surprised that you felt that Daydream is somewhere not to bring children.

We have a great activities centre catering for children of all ages: Skippers Club.

We also offer a range of activities that children love, not the least of which is our 19 hole mini golf children’s playground, swimming pools, the outdoor movie screen and children simply can’t get enough of the Living Reef.

We offer great packages for families, include children eating free at breakfast.

Again I thank you for your feedback I do hope that you consider a return visit to the island.

Kind Regards
Warren McCorriston
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We arrived just before Cyclone Anthony hit & left on the 2nd day after that when we were evacuated ahead of Cyclone Yasi - but I'll try not to focus on those aspects as you can't help that! Prior to coming here we'd be camping on the mainland so had no clue what was happening.

Good: we got a refund for the night Anthony hit as well as the nights we missed out on, the hotel didn't charge for numerous long phone calls to the airlines, excellent welcome when we arrived, the sea life tour they run was great, gorgeous surroundings, good cocktails, when our room was flooded by the cyclone it was cleaned up quickly.
Bad: trying to be too much as once - we came for a romantic holiday as advertised, ended up surrounded by screaming kids & reps with microphones. Pick one, family or romantic. All the restaurants were shut bar the pizza place! The other end of the island was shut. When we arrived, the hotel had given current guests the option to leave because of the cyclones - not that they told us as new guests that, or had phoned us in advance so we didn't get the boat over, not helpful & thus ruined the excellent welcome I mentioned above.

If this place picks one marketing aspect (probably family holidays, all the infrastructure is there) it will do so much better. If I lived in Australia with kids I'd definitely return, as a couple I wouldn't bother.

(Travelled Feb 2011)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank h_woodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaydreamIsland, General Manager at Daydream Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Daydream Island Resort and Spa.
Your response relates your stay which was quiet some time ago.
Whilst not ideal to cut your holiday short, under the circumstances it was our pleasure to assistance you.

As you point out, the island is very popular with families; However Daydream does cater to a great many travellers including romantic couples and groups; weddings are a regular occurrence; and we offers an extensive range of packages and activities to suit everybody. I would therefore encourage any potential guest to review our website for all the wonderful services and packages available.

We would like the opportunity to welcome you back to Daydream, when you are next in the beautiful Whitsunday’s.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Warren McCorriston
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

We did a day trip over to DDI from Airlie Beach. We spent half the day lounging at the pool and the beach. The 2nd half of the day we put our kiddo in the kids club while we went to the spa. The spa staff were super nice, welcoming, and kind. The spa was pricy, but what resort spa isn't pricy these days?
All the staff at DDI seemed to have customer service as priority #1.

FYI - the free fish feeding is daily @ 10am.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxAg04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile

Good
- location, access to Great Barrier Reef
- Spa staff responsiveness to queries
- wildlife above and below water
- very kid friendly
Bad
- too kid friendly if you don't have kids....eg screeching tour guide with group of kids next to adults quiet room at breakfast
- generally unhelpful staff - generally seemed like anything we asked was just too painful or too much for them to do, most staff didn't seem happy to be here!
- safe locked items in, but didn't re-open and was initially told it would take over 12 hours to open
- aggressive birds in eating areas - even staff member said "those birds are evil"
- limited food options and over priced

Great location to access other things such as heli tours and sailing tours, however you can access these things from other islands that don't provide these negative experiences. Disappointing Daydream.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank terryinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Daydream Island
10.7 km away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
18.2 km away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
18.3 km away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Palm Bungalows
Palm Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
4.7 km away
Coral Point Lodge
Coral Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Shute Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
23.0 km away
One&Only Hayman Island
One&Only Hayman Island
#1 of 1 in Hayman Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daydream Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daydream Island Resort & Spa

Property: Daydream Island Resort & Spa
Address: 4740, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Whitsunday Islands > Daydream Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Daydream Island
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,011 - ₹ 21,457
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Daydream Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 289
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Daydream Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daydream Island Resort And Spa
Daydream Island Hotel Daydream Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing