We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good tour but on a bus not a jeep”
Review of Cool Dingo Tours

Cool Dingo Tours
Ranked #2 of 8 Tours in Fraser Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Discover what makes Fraser Island one of Australia’s “must-visit” destinations. Dive into crystal clear fresh-water lakes, discover untouched sand dunes and ancient rainforests and explore spectacular 75-mile Beach, complete with a shipwreck on your Cool Dingo Tour. Two and three-day tours are fully guided and all-inclusive, with comfy lodge accommodation, hearty buffet meals, air-conditioned 4WD tours and return transfers. There's plenty of 4WD action, great value and amazing scenery - best of all you get to have all the fun and none of the boring stuff: no tents, no cooking, no sleeping bags, no driving and no worries. Tours depart from Hervey Bay, Rainbow Beach and Brisbane.
Reviewed 5 December 2011

This tour was very good. Our tour guide Brian was lovely. We did not get stuck one in the sand. The accomondation was lovely and the showers were great. The food was ok, nothing specially but lots of it.
The only thing against this tour is that you are on a bus and not a jeep. A lot of people on the tour had booked assuming that we would be in Jeep but this is not the case!
Fraiser island itself is amazing

Thank Traveller1081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Cool Dingo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2011

Dear Traveller1081
Thanks for the cool comments regarding your Tour Guide Brian and your time on Fraser Island - we're glad you love it as much as we do.

On reading your comments, we do want to encourage all our guests to visit cooldingo.com; our Cool Dingo Facebook page and/or pick up one of our Cool Dingo brochures. Our marketing messages state that we have 4x4 buses or that "there is no driving, no cooking and no worries". Our social media pages also have pics of our brand new hot pink and turquoise buses which throughout our Facebook albums and on our Youtube videos. We hope that helps with any confusion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

579 - 583 of 657 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2011

We went on the 3 day 2 night cool dingo tour and i cannot praise it enough. The island itself is amazing and is definitely a must on any oz itinerary. we toyed with the idea of doing a self drive but after seeing how many people were getting stuck in the sand i am very glad we took the tour option.
The tour itself was excellent, we were never bored and at the same time never felt rushed. I feel we saw a good amount of the island (sadly no dingos though!) and even though on our middle day the weather wasn't great it didn't really affect us too much.
The food was excellent. lunches were salads and were always fresh and plentiful. dinners were hot canteen meals with a salad bar and you could eat as much as you wanted. a well timed happy our meant beer was well priced as well.
What really made our trip was our guide Kirstey. she was knowledgeable, interesting and enthusiastic about the island. you got the feeling that she genuinely cared about fraser island and that enthusiasm rubbed off onto everyone on the tour. near the end of our second day our bus suffered a damaged wheel which ended up meaning we had to wait for a new bus and then a tree had fallen down and blocked the track which meant kirstey had to go and get help as phone reception was down in that area and the angle of the tree was such that she couldnt tow it out with our bus. At no point during these 2 situations did kirstey stress, get grumpy or annoyed at all even though darkness was setting in. she took it all in her stride and was still able to have a laugh and a joke with us and still got us back for dinner and beers!
im sure all the cool dingo guides are excellent but if you get kirstey as your guide you are guaranteed an excellent tour.

1  Thank Rory E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Cool Dingo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Dear RoryE
Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your adventures with Kirstey on Fraser Island. As you've seen the island can be a little unpredictable at times, but we're glad you had such a good time. If you have any pics, we'd love to see them posted here. Safe travels and thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I went on a 3 day cool dingo tour of Fraser Island. Our tour guides were Craig/Paul and Kevin, who were all amazing with a wealth of knowledge to share with us. The tour takes you to amazing places on the Island and does involve a lot of walking some days (but you are never forced to walk as there is always the option of joining the tour guide in the bus).

There is always plenty of food available and always nice cold water to fill up our water bottles.

Tour guide always accommodating to needs when they arise (such as extra toilet stops). And always trying his hardest to get through the tough sand tracks which had been causing trouble on previous days to ensure we got to see all the wonderful sites on Fraser Island.

Accommodation is clean and comfortable. One comment will be the availability of only two showers between 9 girls who all want a nice clean shower before dinner can become a little busy waiting for an empty shower.

I would recommend taking the extra day of the tour if you can afford it as the extra day is a much more relaxing day to end the trip on and you get to see some beautiful lakes which are so quiet and have a lovely buffet lunch.

I had a lovely experience on this tour and met some amazing people from all over the globe considering I was the only 'aussie' in our tour group!

1  Thank paz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Cool Dingo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Hi there paz86 from Cooroy
On behalf of Kevvie, Craig and Paul I wanted to thank you for your cool comments about your recent Fraser Island adventure with Cool Dingo. It's always great to see an Aussie out there exploring... and we're chuffed you had a great time in our neck of the woods. Make sure you tell all your friends LOL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I've now returned home from my Adventures in Oz and after reflecting on my holiday I have to say that my Cool Dingo Tour on Fraser Island was the highlight of many amazing experiences. We had an AWESOME tour guide, Kirstey. She was so full of infectious enthusiasm and a fantastic storyteller which made all of the history and information even more interesting and entertaining. She didn't even lose the rag when I left my bag on the bus and put the wrong key in the box!! (Sorry!). We always felt that we were in safe hands. The quality and quantity of food provided was excellent and always on hand. The accommodation was spacious, clean and had fantastic facilities and social areas too. All of the staff were welcoming and friendly - huge thanks to them all!!

Thank Cazbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Cool Dingo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011

Dear Cazbro
Thanks for your cool comments on "the hottest tour on the east coast of Australia" - we're chuffed we made such an impression and Kirstey and the rest of the Cool Dingo Touring Team will be too when we share this with them. Thanks also for your comments on our Cool Dingo Facebook page!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This trip was brilliant was beginning to end. Our guide Pete was very knowledgable and entertaining throughout the trip and his enthusiasium was consistent throughout the 2 day tour.

Also you would never go hungry on this trip as the amount of food given is huge (especially after living from 2 minute noodles for a month previous) and it's also of good quality too.

The accomadation is very good too and much better than camping. You also get to meet other good people too, who I have continued to keep in contact with after the tour.

Cool Dingos is definately worth the investment and pleased I done this instead of the Self Drive trips.

2  Thank graemesmith1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KingfisherBayTeam, Manager at Cool Dingo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2011

Dear graemesmith1984
On behalf of Ranger Pete and the Cool Dingo team we wanted to send a HUGE THANKS for your kind words on Trip Advisor and our Facebook page. We're thrilled you had a cool time out exploring Fraser Island with Pete over the two days you were with us and hope you'll tell all your friends. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cool Dingo Tours also viewed

Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
Fraser Island, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Cool Dingo Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing