We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magical”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bedarra Island, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cbwils0n
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are both still dreaming of Bedarra. The property and the island itself are unforgettable. There is a feeling of luxury everywhere you turn in the house. Waking up to the unobstructed sea view from the bed room would be something i could never tire of.
Thanks for a wonderful stay. Definitely the highlight of our holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stav P
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding beach stay with the incredible Bedarra as a backdrop!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We cannot recommend the amazing Bedarra Beach House highly enough. We thoroughly enjoyed all elements of the house and found the very well considered details really completed the experience. Aside from the incredible decor (and the amazing backdrop that is Bedarra island) we really enjoyed using the kitchen and deck areas. The pantry was very well stocked with all we needed to complete our meals. We were particularly appreciative of the 'extras' included for emergency use (pasta, pasta sauce). The bedroom with its grand double doors was gorgeous, and the bed very comfortable. A second tv in the bedroom was an unexpected surprise but was especially usefully on the one day we had bad weather and spent most of the day lazing about. We also found the location of the house perfect as it was central to the two beaches we had access to. Overall we were thrilled with the entire experience. Also to say Jason and Bec from Mission Beach Charters were exceptional. We will definitely be recommending both yourselves and Jason and Bec to all our family and friends who may be considering visiting Bedarra.

P.s. The Moët in the fridge came in handy when Ken proposed on our final night and we celebrated with dinner and champagne on the deck.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and it's interiors. As well as it's details and high quality finishes and the access to the two private beaches.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DIVCP
Mission Beach, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“You take my breath away”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Berlin may have done the original, but this cover version by Bedarra Beach House would have Kelly McGillis falling in love with a small American motorcycle-riding F16 pilot all over again. The house is beautiful, the view is beautiful, the hidden beach is beautiful. This really is a little spot of paradise. And no evening in paradise is complete without Top Gun on DVD. Bruce: "Hey Bedarra Beach House, you can be my wingman anytime." BBH: "No, you can be mine."

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OzGourmet...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing. Paradise Found!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013
4
people found this review helpful

A part of me wants to keep Bedarra Beach House a secret all to myself, but it wouldn't be fair not to share how amazing this incredible beach house is. We stayed here for 6 nights to celebrate my 30th birthday and it was the best holiday rental we've ever stayed in (and we stay in quite a number every year).

The Island:
Firstly, the island is beautiful. One side is the fancy and eye-wateringly expensive resort (which now knowing that you can rent a house we have no desire to stay in), and the other side is for private residences (I believe 8 in total). Guests of the resort can't access the resident side of the island and vice versa, but there's plenty of beautiful spots to go around. Bedarra Island is like a picture postcard with white sandy, palm tree fringed beaches and the clearest water we've ever seen. Fish and marine life is abundant. There are no roads and certainly no daytrippers allowed which means that you practically have the whole island to yourself. In the 7 days we were there we saw a total of 6 other people the entire time (and two were the island caretakers). The owners provided some fantastic tips for spots for picnics and sunset drinks (our favourite was the rocks on the east side of the island past the caretakers house). The house provides two sunloungers of one of two private beaches for the residents (we only had to share the beach for 1 hour once and the rest we had all to ourselves!), so pack a picnic and a good book and enjoy.

The House:
What can I say - it's beautiful. Everything has been so perfectly designed to suit the climate and lifestyle of island living. It's great to see that it's eco friendly and solar powered. My husband and I loved that there were two of everything - two hammocks, two sunbeds.
The sleeping pavillion is incredibly spacious and the bathroom beautiful. The best thing about the sleeping pavillion is waking up in the morning, opening the french doors and just drinking in the view from bed. Stunning.
The living pavillion and outdoor area is again very spacious and perfectly designed. The kitchen is definitely a cook's kitchen! I wish I could transport it home so I could cook with the windows open looking over the Coral sea forever.
The view from the deck over the sea and all the little spots that are set up to read, sunbake or cook a BBQ are phenominal.

One of the things that set Bedarra Beach House apart from the rest is how well equipped the house is, as well as the quality of the finishes and provisions. The pantry is really well stocked and there's even an emergency meal if you've undercatered. The little details that are often missed in holiday homes like plenty of Glad wrap, foil, champagne stoppers, wine savers and so much more were provided. The cutlery is french, the knives are global, the saucepans are KitchenAid - we really appreciated the quality that was provided. We also loved that there were plenty of snorkels and flippers if you didn't bring your own. The house also has a kayak with glass view holes that we used three times and circumnavigated the island (takes around 2 hours non-stop or half a day if you like us pull into the little beaches to snorkel and picnic).

Activities:
As previously mentioned, we used the kayak to go around the island and snorkel in a number of the little coves (you'll have the beaches all to yourself. You can't walk very far on the island, but it didn't bother us too much as we love being in the water. If you were better fisherman than we are and brought your own gear there'd be plenty of spots to try. Picnics and plenty of eating, drinking and relaxing are definitely top of the list.

Other notes:
The owners John and Anne were super helpful throughout the booking process. Bec the house manager and her partner Jason are also fantastic. All Bec's tips on the logistics and local details were great. We shopped for much of our stuff in Cairns and then drove it down. From the minute we arrived at Mission Beach Charters Jason & Bec really took care of the rest for us. Jason loaded the boat as we drove the rental to Sugarland. We were then driven by Sugarland to the wharf and then hopped on the boat. When we arrived, our bags were whisked away so we didn't have to worry and Bec showed us the house. It was set up like a boutique hotel, right down to the hibiscus in the water bath at the front door. On leaving we were delighted when Bec was so gracious to do much of the stressful tasks that I often dread on the last day when you rent other holiday rentals. The boat ride back with Jason was great and we saw stringrays leaping, two types of dolphins and a number of other amazing creatures to finish off the perfect holiday.

I can't recommend Bedarra Beach House highly enough. We'll definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house, the island, the view.
Liked least: That we had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2013
Thankyou for your fantastic review.
We are now on Facebook.com/BedarraBeachHouse and would love to share our news with you.
Hope you come back to Bedarra one day and keep in touch.
Kind regards
Anne Herbert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis J
Noosaville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb seclusion.”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My wife and I stayed at Bedarra Beach House for a week in June. The biggest challenge is getting the right amount of food and drinks organized for a week. As we discovered, Mission Beach has pretty much everything to provision for the week so this is not a big deal. The house itself is quite stunning with great views and a layout that leaves no doubt that you are on holiday - even if someone has to prepare the meals in the (very well equipped) kitchen. We hardly saw another sould during the week and even when kayacking around the island, there was virtually nobody else to be seen. The people who look after the house made sure everything was spot-on and getting our "stuff" up the hill to the house was all done for us - then a whole week to ourselves without the need to find assistance for anything. Departing was just as easy even if we felt tha heading back to the mainland was to reprovision for another week rather than head home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Seclusion - views, and a really nice place to be.
Liked least: Can't think of anything.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2013
Thankyou for your great review.
We are now on facebook.com/BedarraBeachHouse and look forward to keeping in touch with our news and updates.
Kind regards
Anne Herbert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing