We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staying in townsville”

Ocean Breeze by the Strand
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Townsville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ocean Breeze by the Strand
Singleton, New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“staying in townsville”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

stayed in studio room quite a good size everything there i needed.good size bathroom ,balcony looking at the stand and beach and staff where helpfull

Room Tip: two people can stay easy in a studio room everything is there you need and quite reasonable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
13
22
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Nice place, good location. Very clean and all required amenities but don't bother asking for a room on a higher floor. Booked 10 weeks in advance and asked for a high floor but when rang a week before stay was told our room was on ground floor. When I said I'd asked for a high floor they said they'd see what they could do. On arrival we found we had been given a room on 1st floor with an obscured view off the side of the balcony of the beach and no chance of changing our room. Also, balconies not very private as you can see directly on to your neighbours balcony. Doubt I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We would highly recommend Ocean Breeze for self contained accomodation in Townsville, from what we can see, it must be in the top 3 of great rooms/location/cost. Ocean Breeze is very well located right in the middle of the Strand although the pictures are a little deceiving, it is on a side street so while most of the rooms have some view, it's a little obscured, best to ask for one with a premier view! The Strand is a nice play to stay near as there are lots of cafes/bars/restaurants and some shops (including supermarket) 100m up on Gregory street. It is nicer there than in the centre of the city which is just had big development, and is only a 10min walk into town. Rooms had all equipment needed to cook, clean rooms, nice balcony, helpful staff. Good security with swipe access for main gain and then front door.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Aussie8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Ocean Breeze was a beautiful, peaceful, relaxing place to stay in Townsville. It's located just off the Strand, with lovely views over to Magnetic Island. Our stay was made even more special by Denice, the lovely lady who works on the front desk and will go out of her way to make your stay enjoyable. Her friend even offered to drive us to the shopping centre when we were looking for directions! These apartments were clean and spacious with nice balconies. We also stayed at a 5 star resort on Magnetic Island, which cost almost double the price of Ocean Breeze and was shocking, poor service, lousy and dirty rooms and unresponsive staff. I have to say, Ocean Breeze was the eact opposite. Would reccommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank keirabilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

We stayed here for 7 nights. The room itself was lovely - very bright and cheery. The rooms were not serviced the entire time we were there. The kitchen did not have enough basic utensils. The office was unstaffed over the weekend and were not contactable - at one point I did see someone in there, but the door was locked and she waved me away. Staff were generally quite unhelpful and I got the impression that once we had arrived they didn't want to see us. Good positioning. LOVED the water park and Juliets for amazing gelati. Overall fairly good - but definately need to up the service levels for the price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ShellBelleMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Townsville hotels
0.1 km away
Waters Edge The Strand
Waters Edge The Strand
#2 of 2 in North Ward
203 reviews
1.4 km away
Grand Hotel and Apartments Townsville
1.4 km away
The Ville Resort-Casino
The Ville Resort-Casino
#8 of 41 in Townsville
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Quest Townsville
Quest Townsville
#1 of 41 in Townsville
419 reviews
1.4 km away
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
Oaks Gateway on Palmer
#16 of 41 in Townsville
391 reviews
0.2 km away
Aquarius on the Beach
Aquarius on the Beach
#7 of 41 in Townsville
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze by the Strand? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze by the Strand

Property: Ocean Breeze by the Strand
Address: 81 Mitchell Street | North Ward, Townsville, Queensland 4810, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Townsville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Townsville
Number of rooms: 176

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing