We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
18
28
11
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
28
11
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location across the road queen bed bar fridge room was clean within walking distance free wifi reception staff car park rockpool strand microwave
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

1positive - clean bedding that’s it.

On the negative:
- air con was louder than a freight train, keep us up all night.
- ceiling fan only worked on low speed setting.
- room was stinking hot during stay (May 2018), it was cooler outside!!!
- chipped and broken tiles in the shower.
- sink had cracks in it.
- dual flush toilet only did short flush... no long flush.
- curtain fell down constantly because the rail has no end caps.
- Tiny TV (19 inch TEAC)... didn’t know you could still buy TVs this small. Difficult to watch in bed.
- Mirror in bathroom was partly missing (mirror coating on mirror was peeling/worn off).
-ANTS & COCKROACHES in the room!!!

It was a budget room ($140/night), it was a humiliating experience for us and I will not recommend to our friends. Even worse was finding out better hotels had cheaper prices, don’t I feel like a c*** now.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally K, Manager at Shoredrive Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Good Morning Jeff,
We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us.
What a shame you didn't tell us that you had a problem with the room while you were here, as
we would have been happy to upgrade you to a fully renovated standard room.
As there was a large music festival and a convention on in Townsville the night you stayed, prices had been increased due to high demand.
I have looked up comparitive prices for other hotels on the Strand, and could not find any that we cheaper than us for that date.
We wish you safe travelling, regards,
Sally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in 2 seperate rooms facing the beach. We had one room upstairs with a queen and single, the room downstairs had a queen bed.
Both rooms were spacious with a kitchenette, electric fry pan, microwave, kettle, toaster and bar fridge.
Service from the staff/managers was amazing!
We came home with some coronas and next minute we get a knock at the door and they deliver limes and stubby coolers!
We had trouble with the hot water system one night, which they fixed in no time and let us shower in another room that night.
This is a hidden gem on the strand which we always stay at and love!
Down the corner is a nice little restaurant called Odyssey which I highly recommend and the staff there are just as fabulous as Shoredrive.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank aussiecowgirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Walked in after 5pm on a Saturday afternoon with no booking. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating.
Rooms were clean and comfortable for our family of 4 (kids 11 & 12). Great location on The Strand to walk to restaurants.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Discover515107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

We booked two premium rooms with balconies for New Years Eve. Perfect, quiet location right on The Strand. Rooms were lovely and big with comfy beds and a convenient kitchenette. The pool was great. Staff were extremely nice. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Tracey_Townsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

It is a nice place located just beside of a new bar and in front of the rock pool. Rockpool is a protected area where you can have a swim even in summer.
Relatively close to town and starting point to a beautiful walk to the Jezzine park or along The Strand.
The motel itself is clean, include all the basic to have a coffee, tea. Good air conditioning. And a lovely pool just crossing from the beach
The price is fair for such a good location

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ximena_CB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews