We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay”
Review of Surfers Aquarius

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfers Aquarius
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Aquarius loved it.!!!after a disastrous start to our holiday (refer review the penthouses)it was like finding an Oasis in the desert we were so pleased to be able to get into Aquarius.We also ended up in apartment 22E which was really great with magnificent views.The people on reception were so very nice and nothing was a bother.They will organise transport,tickets to shows,print out bus timetables to theme parks and all with a smile.Makes such a difference dealing with people who are happy and in the right job.!! Reception is manned 24 hours a day which is also good.Aquarius is set in really lovely grounds with outside pool and comfy loungers also kids pool and small playground.There is an inside heated pool and two spa's.Everything is clean and well cared for.There are lovely bbq areas.We happened to be home one day and the people arrived to clean apartment 3 arrived all doing different jobs was so efficient pretty amazing.The location is great and absolute beachfront is a plus.Would have to say this is one of the best we have stayed at and is our 'new place" now.Can't wait to go back and planning to go again at the end of the year.

Room Tip: If you are wanting beach views the sides you need to book are A and E.However am sure the views are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    52
    17
    12
    7
See reviews for
89
37
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed at Surfers Aquarius for 6 nights at the start of the December school holidays. Got an excellent rate through Wotif ($130 a night - booked a few months ago) and were apprehensive, due to the mixed reviews, that we would get a dodgy apartment. HOWEVER we loved our apartment - 22E.

The views were great from the lounge, kitchen and bedrooms, the apartment and furnishings were clean and comfortable, and the facilities excellent. This 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment had ample space for our family of four. We played tennis (lovely courts and leafy surrounds with BBQs and tables) and used the pools - indoor and out - and spas every day. We parked the car underneath the building and walked everywhere we wanted to go, particularly up to Cavill Avenue for dinner etc. This would be one of the better places we've stayed in Surfers due to its location and views (our windows were even cleaned during our stay to make the view even more sparkling).

The only negatives I would suggest are that the gym isn't at all inviting (small and not much equipment) and there is no wireless (unless you pay the quite steep rates). We enjoyed having Foxtel, there was a TV in both the lounge and master bedroom and the apartment had a DVD player.

We have highly recommended Surfers Aquarius to our friends who would like an inexpensive, comfortable, fun family holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pikachuAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wodonga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We had saved up for six months for our family vaction, everything was going to plan until we got to the resort. The first apartment we were in was disgusting. The tiles in the kitchen were all chipped, there was marks on EVER wall and the tiles were lifted in the lounge room, the where you went out onto the balcony and the furniture was very outdated. VERY VERY Tired looking apartment. We complained and were given another apartment it was better but still very tired looking. The facilities were great but BE CAREFUL when booking, the Ocean views are amazing but the rooms are very average and are not that clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akcamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment on wotif at a discounted rate so were unsure of what we would get. I phoned beforehand and requested a ocean view if possible and what we got was AMAZING!! We were on the 39th floor with incredible views overlooking surfers paradise and the ocean, I didn't want to leave the room! Although it is an older Hotel is has been refurbished nicely and the apartment was spacious. Its a great location as so close to the heart of Surfers Paradise without being right in the middle of it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Iv been going here for the past 17 years. (I am 17) and I love it. My grandfather owns 2 apartments in his building (most of them are privately owned) and even tho they are not modern I love them. I'd rather a family-home vibe (rooms are huuuge!) then a small modern room. I love the pools the spas the close beach the tennis courts the views. This has been my home away from home my whole life and I love it here!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloemeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 km away
Regent Apartments
Regent Apartments
#28 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.4 km away
The Breakers
The Breakers
#6 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 km away
Dorchester on the Beach
Dorchester on the Beach
#23 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Penthouses
The Penthouses
#54 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.6 km away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
0.2 km away
Mantra Wings
Mantra Wings
#2 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Aquarius? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Aquarius

Property: Surfers Aquarius
Address: 4-12 Old Burleigh Rd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,299 - ₹ 13,346
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfers Aquarius 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfers Aquarius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Aquarius Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Aquarius Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing