We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great weekend!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Focus Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Focus Apartments
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Had the best weekend with my girlfriends! Its the perfect location close to everything and so great to be able to chill by the pool and just walk down to the beach.
Would certainly stay at Focus again and wish I was still there now!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    50
    28
    17
    18
See reviews for
104
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Diary of last two days at focus! Whatta joke!

FOCUS APARTMENTS 11/2/12 Saturday


Compliance plate in lifts out of date
No emergency lighting in hallways 21st floor ( supposedly the un-affected floor/ safe floor we were moved to)
$11 parking fee plus $ 50 fine Due to delay in being un-able to return to parking at apartment.
Down sized room offered....1 x family member now having to use roll away bedding in cramped apartment this was supposed to be a relaxing enjoyable family getaway we have been planning and saving  for a while! 
Dryer over heated twice extremely hot  to touch (fire risk)
Reception closed prior to 8:30pm ( disgraceful considering problems we have had today) seems as soon as they relocated everyone they went home!)  
No sorry for disruption......stated oh you've only got 2 nights here to go ( regardless of our time left this is our holiday time it's not time we can get back easily, we worked hard to pay for this accommodation and accrue the time off.)
No assistance in relocating...no trolleys offered...no torches either!
No tv signal in new apartment.
Fridge down sized in new apartment
When we told reception "what about our fridge items as power was out for at least 6 hrs " they said it will be fine.....
no access to unit/facilities for 6 hrs...... 
Couldn't retrieve passes to theme parks/ swimmers for beach. So cost us money to keep 4 kids entertained....around $150 
No alternative accomodation was offered or refund!
Staff very abrupt and non apologetic nor helpful.

Sunday  12th February 2012:

No lighting in fire stairs.     Partner strained right calf muscle hurrying down 21 flights of stairs with 4 kids.                                                                               
No fire extinguisher level 21 fire depot
False alarm Sunday 12/2/12
On complaining to the staff .they stated put it in a letter....manager will give you what you want!
Asked for alternate accomodation at 9:30am  was rung 1 hr later stating that they're is no accomodation elsewhere but if we chose not to spend our last night at focus
 we would be refunded in the monday morning.
When staff confronted about reception closing early on sat Arvo....they lied to our face stating they were here till 10 pm at the counter.....( funny that the counter shutter was closed and lights off in there)
No lighting in fire stairwells.( lucky we had a small torch)
Kids very traumatized by this event not sleeping much last night and will have to sleep with us tonight! Great! So looks like not much sleeping happening tonight.
                            -----------------–--------------------------------------
Best thing about this accommodation is that On return from our holiday we did receive a full refund! Queensland Fire Service was also contacted regarding safety concerns and has since investigated this accommodation, however due to regulations in place...not much will change! 
Rooms average! Cleanliness average! View great! Customer service CRAP!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KOhenoja72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FocusAp, Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your review. We experienced a small fire in a residential apartment which caused the power outage in all apartments below the 15th floor. Qld Fire Service attended and handed the building back as compliant and safe after 5 hours. All guests below the 15th floor were relocated either to other buildings or higher floors and we were able to relocate you to a higher floor. All guests were told if they were not happy to move to another apartment they could relocate to another property and you said it was late and you decided to stay. Reception closed as 10.30pm on the night in question and both managers were called in from 1.30pm. We left the building at 10.30pm and a 24 hour security guard was on duty from 5.00pm as well as our resident Night Manager. Video footage confirms this. We were confronted with a very difficult situation relocating 150 people but thankfully the majority were very understanding. I am happy to say that all safety requirements were met with Qld Fire Service and the missing fire extinguisher on your floor had been taken by another guest and was returned. The loss of TV reception and foyer lighting was rectified within a 48 hour period and we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.
Pam, Manager - Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beechmont, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We are a family with 3 kids and recently stayed at Focus Apartments. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment which had ocean views from every room (unit 54) and the decor was modern and very smart. We loved to sit on the balcony watching the swimmers at the beach across the road and the receptionist told us they often see whales migrating to Hervey Bay and back.

The kids used the swimming pool and spa and they loved the ping pong and tennis facilities. The equipment is available at reception with a refundable deposit when you return the bats/raquets.

We also ate at the chinese restaurant on the ground floor and the food was very good. We will be back again next year.

Room Tip: We loved unit 54 and it had everything we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed at Focus Apartments over the xmas holidays and was pleasantly surprised by the size of the apartment and the gorgeous ocean views from every room. The grounds were large and I especially liked using the gym every day. My partner liked the fact that it was across the road from the beach and we both liked that it was a patrolled beach.

The apartment had been renovated and was spotlessly clean and the location was just great. We ate at the chinese restaurant downstairs one night and the food was lovely. All in all we had a great time and have booked to stay again.

Room Tip: Our room was a north east aspect which had an ocean view from every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Seaarching the Internet for our accommodation, Focus apartments appeared to be the best! Great Price, location and the rooms looked so fresh, clean and new - we didn't hesitate to book straight away. Upon arrival, tired and ready for a rest from the red eye flight (no sleep) we were all looking forward to getting to the room. Only when we opened the door, the room was nothing like the website - it was dirty, old looking and just felt gritty. The girls found a bed and went to sleep. I however looked through the room. It really was dirty! I rang reception to question if they accidently gave us the 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom standard room. I was told "No this is the superior room". I advised them that someone needed to come up and re clean the room (Which within 1/2 hour were in the room re cleaning it). The Kitchen was not cleaned, oil on the tiles, food still crusted on the benches, floors not swept and carpet not vaccumed. Ciggarette butts on the balcony. The cleaner told me that this is one of the better rooms and we should feel lucky! The kettle was plugged into a broken power point with wires exposed, the bathroom power points were loose and not safe to use, the ceiling above the shower/spa bath was falling down, the stove top was eroded. The washing machine wouldn't spin dry the clothes (Took me an hour to just to get the water out from the machine). The Balcony windows were that dirty, the veiws were hard to see anyway! None of the ceiling fans worked in any of the rooms.
The website is very decieving, it looks so new and fresh, but in reality not what you expect on arrival at all. They sent an electrician to fix the kettle power point and someone to maintain the washing machine - this helped! Definately not a 4 + star stay. Focus needs to change their rating to only 2 star, then you would expect the old and dingy feel of the room, not the glossy, fresh and modern images from their website. Reading some of the reveiws, our room we stayed in was referred to by the managers response as a standard room - so this is confusing. Perhaps I should have demanded to see some of the other rooms that were not as good as ours? I believe Focus apartments need to do some renovations and make the rooms look like the website or upload photos and description that truley reflect the rooms available - "Great veiws, location and within minutes to beach, restaurants and shopping. Experience gritty rooms, in need of repair and maintainence, not the cleanest, but under the circumstances of such old rooms that have not been maintained this is expected! I will not reccommend Focus Apartments and will not stay at them again in the future. Thank you for allowing me to share my view...

Room Tip: Don't look at the website pictures for your room choice, very decieving. These are always glosse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FocusAp, Guest Relations Manager at Focus Apartments, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for your comments in relation to your stay at Focus Apartments. We have addressed all the issues raised in your review and apologise for any inconvenience caused. All apartments are individually owned and are classified according to the fact that they have new kitchens, air conditioning, renovated bathrooms, etc. In this case the apartment had all these requisites. The maintenance and cleaning issues were addressed immediately upon request. As regards our star rating, this is done independently by AAA Tourism each year and we are not self rated.
We hope you enjoyed our great facilities and fantastic location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#3 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,436 reviews
0.2 km away
The Shore Holiday Apartments
The Shore Holiday Apartments
#48 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.1 km away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#27 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartm...
#1 of 12 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.5 km away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#11 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
0.2 km away
BreakFree Imperial Surf
BreakFree Imperial Surf
#12 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Focus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Focus Apartments

Property: Focus Apartments
Address: Focus Apartments 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,934 - ₹ 50,017
Hotel Class:4 star — Focus Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focus Apartments is situated at 114 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise - we're the round, 32 storey, white building that's right opposite the beach. We are within easy walking distance of Cavill Avenue - the hub of Surfers Paradise. With convenient underground parking and intercom security access, Focus welcomes you to the Gold Coast, 365 days a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Focus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Focus Apartments Surfers Paradise
Focus Apartments Gold Coast/Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing