We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Down Budget Hotel that needs repairs and renovations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Run Down Budget Hotel that needs repairs and renovations”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed Here in April 2012,

The First room i was in had very bad air condiditoner that was extremly noisy and there was no way i could sleep with it on, and its was to hot to turn it off. Also this room had nothing at all in the Mini bar and was very run down and not very clean. My company had paid full price for the room and i had a feeling they had given me a dodgey room that was on a low level becasue it was mid week and i wasn't wearing a suit. (just a theory)

I complained and they said all the rooms have a noisy air con, i asked to move and they moved me. to an exact same room on a higher level. (they didn't offer an upgrade, which i found insulting considering the hotel was empty and work paid full price for the room.

The next room was better but was also run down and had a noisy Air con, not as bad but still pretty noisy. Everything in the hotel was budget and run down and looked like it hadn't been renovated since the 90's

And even in the new room the noise form the air con was borderline, and was almost too noisy to sleep.

I got room service and steak was below average and cooked wrong (i asked for medium well and it was medium rare) also cheese platter was pretty bad.

Service was also below average as the staff never made me feel like they were sorry about the first room and acted like i was just a winger. Not being able to sleep in your hotel room surely warrants a new room!

I can understand staying here if you get a cheap rate but even then i have stayed at much better hotels in Surfers for much less that this place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower levels seem to be worse, ask for a room higher than level 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJHazmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear DJHazmat

Thank you for your feedback on the Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, as we really appreciate hearing all kinds of feedback

Sorry to hear that your experience during your stay was unpleasant, if you like to discuss it further at any stage, I would love to discuss this with you.
I am contactable on (07) 5539 0444 .

Kind Regards
Glenn Thurston
Hotel Duty Manager
Vibe Hotel gold Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    1,193
    698
    287
    219
See reviews for
549
1,367
229
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012 via mobile

Room was ok nice view over the river.

When arrived in the room,went to the toilet but it was so discusting that their was a big poo in their,yes I guess that's where it's ment to be but it was not mine it was maybe the guests before me or maybe the housekeepers,you don't expect this and should not have to put up with this type of thing. I was offered another room but it was to later because I flushed it away allredy. I would not stay here again makes you wonder what else is left and not cleaned,too scarey

Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Raehort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Raehort
Thank you for your feedback on the Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, as we really appreciate hearing all kinds of feedback

Sorry to hear that your experience during your stay was unpleasant, if you like to discuss it further at any stage, I would love to discuss this with you.
I am contactable on (07) 5539 0444 .

Kind Regards
Glenn Thurston
Hotel Duty Manager
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

Just last week we had a large number of family and friends stay at Vibe for our wedding which was also hosted by Vibe in their function room. WOW, they were absolutely awesome in every way! From food, to service to making our wedding absolutely stress free!
Although we live on the Gold Coast, we also spend a few nights there after the wedding. The view is amazing, food is great, and everyone is extra friendly.
I highly recommend this hotel!
Thanks Vibe!
Kate & Mark :-)

Room Tip: River View = Awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktemly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear ktemly
The team at Vibe Hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us on the Gold Coast and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your special wedding day at the Vibe Gold Coast, enjoy your honeymoon and the team hope to see you back at the hotel sometime in the near future.


Kind Regards
Glenn Thurston
Hotel Duty Manager
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Vibe for three nights and were impressed with the high standard of accommodation and service we received. We got a great deal through a booking company and weren't sure what to expect, but we were pleasantly surprised. Will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellie-paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Kellie-Paul
The team at Vibe Hotel are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us on the Gold Coast and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay while you were in the hotel, looking forward to having you back sometime in the near future & feel free to check out our own website for upcoming specials.

Kind Regards
Glenn Thurston
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Loved the colour scheme and design of the overall hotel. The breakfast wasn't fabulous, but decent to start day with ! The staff are really friendly and especially Peter, the guy at the main desk was great ! He sorted our booking out (which had not yet dropped into reservation systems as I booked it whilst standing in the hotel foyer, as the price on another booking website was cheaper than the actual hotel itself !) He said the room we booked was not available and therefore we would be upgraded, which was a nice surprise. Parking also only $8 for the night, which is cheaper than most of the other hotels close by. (some hotel's do offer free parking though, so check this out before you book.) Happy Hour in the bar could be a Buy-1-get-1-free deal, BUt instead they had a 20% reduction on drinks, which wasn't that bad. Overall, a pleasant experience and modern decor really does wonders for a an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Anything above Level 12 would provide a better view of Gold Coast hinterland and Nerang River - and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VibeHotelGC, Manager at Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear Rozcoco
Thank you for your feedback on the Vibe Hotel Gold Coast, as we really appreciate hearing great news.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the style of the hotel and that you found our team to be friendly and I'll be passing on your appreciation to Peter.

We look forward to having you back to the hotel sometime in the near future & please feel free to contact us directly or use our website for your next booking.

Kind Regards
Glenn Thurston
Hotel Duty Manager
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 km away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
414 reviews
2.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,627 reviews
0.3 km away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,479 reviews
0.7 km away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,265 reviews
0.6 km away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Hotel Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Hotel Gold Coast

Property: Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Address: Chevron Hotel 42 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#16 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,996 - ₹ 20,578
Hotel Class:4 star — Vibe Hotel Gold Coast 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will love the convenience of staying right in the very heart of Surfers Paradise.Your Vibe Gold Coast hotel is centrally located in the midst of Gold Coast lifestyle, opposite the Chevron Renaissance Village, just a block from Cavill Avenue, the heart of the Gold Coast shopping district, and overlooking the picturesque Nerang River.We are perfectly placed for a leisurely stroll to Surfers Paradise beach, world-class shopping, fantastic nightlife, restaurants galore and lots of fun attractions...Or you can just relax in comfort. The Gold Coast is brimming with fun filled activities including fishing charters, bungee jumping, motorbike tours, surfing lessons and even a few swings at one of the many leading golf courses at hand...And did we mention the beaches? And at the end of your busy day, return to your ideal Gold Coast hotel and relax in the comfort of your well appointed hotel room or suite, take a plunge in the pool or take an evening stroll along the promenade an soak up the atmosphere of the Gold Coast...Enjoy the vibe at your Gold Coast hotel with personality...Vibe Hotel Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, EaseMyTrip, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Vibe Hotel Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Hotel Surfers Paradise
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast Surfers Paradise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing