We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic trip”

Southern Cross 4WD Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 112.55*
and up
Gold Coast Lamington National Park and Tamborine Mountain 4WD Eco Tour
Ranked #7 of 42 Tours in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern Cross 4WD offers a range of 4WD Eco-Tours and customized packages throughout the Gold Coast Hinterland and surrounds. From Guided nature walks, animal spotting and bird feeding to off-road driving, wine tours, conferences and overnight camping, every tour is a unique experience and is catered around what YOU want to do! A day with SC4WD as a real experience not just another bus tour.Over 16 years of Hinterland Tour experience
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

My partner and I spent an action packed day with Royd, and other passengers, unfortunately the weather was not bright and sunny but in no way did this limit the days activities.

Royd, our driver and guide, was a great guide, very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna. He also made sure that it was fun, not just for us but also two pre teen children who were onboard.

Lunch was very nice and there was lots to go round. The boomerang throwing and whip cracking after lunch was cool.

We definitely recommend this trip (we did the full day trip).

Helpful?
Thank Youngone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    40
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
“Top Shelf Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We enjoyed a pleasant, relaxing day thanks to Southern Cross 4WD Tours. Darren is a top bloke. We had a good laugh and he was very informative. Would recommend Darren and his team to anyone.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best 4WD Tour ever...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We booked a half day tour from Jupiter Casino with this tour guide. I have never been on a proper 4WD before, as I am from Sydney this was my first time and so was my wife. We had the best private tour. The tour guide 'Darran' was knowledgeable, and you could talk to him almost about everything. Me and the wife had a great time and the tour guide catered to all our needs. Love the guide's good humour too. We had a few special 4WD tracks over probably 45 degrees slope. Definitely a thrill and exciting if you have never been. Also, the afternoon tour included a meal, boomerang lesson, wine tasting and animal spotting. Definitely worth every bit of it...

My advice in advance to anyone who book the tour. Remember if you are coming over from different cities or states or overseas, remember to bring "Collectable Teaspoons' as one of the guide called 'Royd' collects them. I am sure he would put in an extra service to show you around.

Definitely best 4WD ever ^^ will definitely come back next time to gold coast and book this tour company again..!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best day we had in the Gold Coast with our tour guide Royd!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

My girlfriend and I were lucky enough to be in a small group of 3 with Royd as our tour guide.

You can tell that Royd loves his job and he was always telling us funny stories about how he scared people in his tour (he pulls some fun pranks on you! I won't tell you what he does so he doesn't fail!!!) or how he used google translate to give a tour to a Chinese couple who could understand no english at all.

He was full of knowledge about the sights, about the wildlife and surroundings of the area and we left the tour knowing a lot more and feeling very satisfied.

Royd is a very pleasant, friendly and yet naughty person who will be sure to make your day a fun one!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Roy and Darren were fantastic guides they were knowledgeable about the area and the wildlife and made sure the whole group enjoyed the experience by filling it with laughs.
The food on the 4WD O'Reilly Tour was fantastic! I definitely recommend choosing the steak for the BBQ lunch and the scones for the morning tea were also delicious. Definitely one of the best tours I've been on.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank illy155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Cross 4WD Tours also viewed

 

Been to Southern Cross 4WD Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing