We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Totally relaxing and private” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mowbray By The Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mowbray By The Sea
Ranked #20 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Bordertown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally relaxing and private”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

We booked online originally for January . Due to Family illness we had to reschedule for March. Managers where extremley accomodating with change of dates.

Fantastic rooms, very comfortable and unbeatable location. 2 minutes from beautiful 4 mile beach and 2 minutes from the main street. The rooms had all the mod cons and it was great to have 2 bathrooms and a beautiful big balcony that overlooked the park. Fabulous pool area, large spa and BBQ area.

Would absolutley recomend this lovely place to anyone.
Thankyou Lorna and Chris for a truly memorable holiday.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lschn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    20
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
76
25
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

I booked online, it was easy and fast. We stayed for 7 nights on level 1 apartment 8 facing the park. We were really enjoying our stay until my husband slipped on the stair landing whilst carrying my daughter and my daughter was concussed!!! PLEASE NOTE: TILES ARE VERY SLIPPERY WHEN WET!!!

Pros: It's in a great location. The apartment was clean and modern. The pool and bbq area is fantastic.

Cons: The room never got serviced. Did not have a personal bbq on the balcony . The gates where never down at night for secure parking. The kitchen equipment needs to be updated. The tiles are very slippery wet! Carrying luggage up a set of stairs, Mowbray needs to install a lift.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BHSMOOTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed at mowbray with our two teenagers and one toddler. We couldn't fault the property. It is only approximately 100 metres down to the patrolled beach and 5 minutes into the gorgeous port Douglas village. The location is excellent.

All apartments are 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms. They have a full size kitchen and are fully self contained. There was plenty of plates, glasses, cutlery, serving plates/platters etc. It was great to have a kitchen so well equipped with such a large family to cater for.

There is a bath and shower in the master bedroom bathroom and shower in the second bedroom bathroom. The rooms are fully air conditioned, a full laundry and the balconies are huge and all weather.

The pool is just gorgeous and great for kids of all Ages. In particular the shallow area is ideal for toddlers or littlies that aren't competent swimmers. It offers a really large area for them to swim and play complete with lots of pool toys. There is a great BBQ area around the pool also which is kept very clean and tidy.

We would not hesitate to stay here again. The management were great and didn't hesitate to help us with whatever needed.

We loved this property

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CairnsAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in apartment #8. This was a great location, close to the beach and central stip of Port Douglas. The stafff were so friendly and laid back, they were wonderful. Our apartment was very nice, beautful diing table and chairs, living room with 2 couches and flat screen tv. Very large balcony surrounded by trees and birds, perfect ffor sitting out and relaxing. Bathroom was a bit older, but clean. They provided extra beach towels which was a nice touch. Overall this was a very comfortable well appointment apartment. We paid $225 a night and it was well worth it. We did the Poseidon trip to the reef for snorkeling and rented scooters in Port Douglas. There is a pc in the lobby area with free internet, the pool was nice although we didn't make much use of it.
We did spend some time looking around at other apartments and this one definetely tops the list in Port Douglas. This was a perfect stay for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenco1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

We stayed for 9 nights with our two teenagers during the busy July school holidays.

Mowbray by the Sea is in the perfect location, just two minutes stroll from the main shopping area / cafes / restaurants in Port Douglas and the main beach.

Every day we had breakfast outside, under the cover of our large private balcony.

Excellent facilities that we used included the in-room kitchen, heated pool (which was fabulous), free Internet in the lobby (charges apply using in-room Wi-Fi), BBQ by the pool.

Service was outstanding; rooms were serviced twice during our stay.

We would stay again in a flash.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwibmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
2.0 km away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.1 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.4 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.2 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.0 km away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#18 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mowbray By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mowbray By The Sea

Property: Mowbray By The Sea
Address: 40 Mowbray St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#5 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,972 - ₹ 17,538
Hotel Class:4 star — Mowbray By The Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mowbray by the Sea offers sophisticated beachside accommodation only metres from Four Mile Beach and a short stroll from Macrossan Street's boutique shopping, cafes and award winning restaurants. The property offers modern and spacious two bedroom, two bathroom apartments. The apartments are fully equipped with kitchen and private laundry facilities. Mowbray by the Sea's quiet location makes it a pleasure to relax on the extra large balconies overlooking the parklands. The property also boasts a 25 metre heated pool, poolside BBQ and complimentary secure undercover carparking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mowbray By The Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Latitude 16 Mowbray By The Sea Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing