We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really great location and excellent in almost every way” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beaches Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beaches Port Douglas
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester,UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Really great location and excellent in almost every way”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with balcony looking over 4 mile beach
It was quite and the sound of rolling waves made sleeping easy
The beach is only 50 m from the apartment and early moring and sunset walks were great
The lamost was it took 2 days to get a toilet leak fixed

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room - or your missing the point
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globalminer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    42
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
75
46
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment was located on the ground floor, very convenient for families with young children which had direct access to the pool and to the beach and a short stroll to Macrossan St which was perfect. We found the apartment very spacious but we were a little disappointed as it was dated! Feature colour in lounge room was emarald green not great, it had a large kitchen but with basic cooking utensils, bathrooms were also dated with broken patch up tiles with a 90's renovation. Queen bed was a little uncomfortable and for the price you would expect a King size bed.
I expected the overall appearance of the apartment to be more contemporary, we felt it was a little over priced and well over due for a renovation!

Hope you find this helpful!
Regards
mmxe4

Room Tip: Every apartmement has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmxe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We chose Port Douglas as our base for the Great Barrier Reef and stayed at Latitude Beaches for our 4-night visit. The two-bedroom, two-bathroom unit was great for two couples to share. The master bedroom has a balcony, TV, ensuite bathroom, nice view of the pool, and partial ocean view. The other bedroom is very basic, with no view to speak of and guest bathroom outside the room.

The guest bathroom has a washer and dryer, which was nice to have after we had spent the previous few nights camping in the Red Centre. The dryer does not vent outside, so the room gets pretty warm when doing laundry. High-speed internet is not available from the unit.

We booked the unit by contacting Latitude Resorts directly via their website form. They were very responsive in advance of our trip, and booked our transfers for us to and from Cairns airport. By booking directly with them, we avoided having to pay a deposit in advance.

We chose Latitude Beaches because it's one of the few places in Port Douglas that faces the beach and is in walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants in town. We enjoyed having the pool that overlooks the beach. Just around the corner is a bus stop, which was convenient for getting to and from the Port Douglas Wildlife Habitat.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank longhorn_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2011

There are probably hundreds of serviced apartments available in Port Douglas, but very few of them are 'on the water'. Beaches is literally across the road from the beach, and directly across from the area of the beach that is netted to exclude the 'stingers' and patrolled by life guards. And yet it is only a few minutes walk to the cafes and shops in the main road of the town, or to the marina from where the boats go out to the reef, so the location is perfect.
We booked a 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom ocean view apartment, which was very comfortable and had plenty of living space, so was large enough for 4 adults to not be in each other's way. Our unit was on the ground floor with direct access to the pool (2-3 steps from the deck), and the gate that lead to the beach (15 metres). The living area is open plan with a full kitchen, dining area and lounge, and doors that open to the deck from both the lounge and main bedroom. There are airconditioning units and fans in each area of the apartment, and the kitchen is well equipped. It was quiet enough through the day, with the only noise coming from other guests using the pool, and construction work on the road outside, although that looked to be close to completion, and was extremely quiet at night.
There was nothing majorly wrong, but the minor annoyances were:
The blinds in main bedroom didn't completely block the light (and there was a light on in the adjacent garden all night).
There were scraps of rubbish in the garden outside our deck
When we checked in we were told what days the apartment would be serviced, but the days we had been told were wrong which was a little inconvenient
I paid extra for wireless internet, availability of which was at best intermittent, and although a modem was provided when I queried the level of service, it would have been good to have been told that this was a possibility when I requested and paid for the internet access, as it was obviously known that this was an issue

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy998, Public Relations Manager at Beaches Port Douglas, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful review. We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you return in the near future.
We are under new management and are making positive changes. Please contact me directly when you find yourself in Port Douglas and I will ensure that we take good care of your booking.
Kind Regards
Lynette Lai
Business Development Manager
Latitude 16 Pty Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

We had a great 7 day family holiday at Beaches. The location and view is magical. The self contained apartment's decor was a little outdated, ceiling fans needed to be replaced but everything else was great. The pool was nice and big, the kids loved the way the pool lit up green at night ! As per usual couldn't get the kids out of the pool. The menu at the cafe downstairs was great for a snack, coffee was also good and home made muffins were very much appreciated ! There is a play ground across the road and a life saver on the beach.
Eateries in Port Douglas worth mentioning: Tin Shed - great everyday meals and average prices, located not far from the church. Jade Court - great asian food. Wicked Ice Cream and the Seafood House behind Coles, were we purchased fantastic mud crabs and king prawns. The lady was nice enough to clean and cook the crabs for us. The apartment were a little pricey, but you are in the Esplanade with great views of the beach !

Room Tip: Buy some fresh seafood and cook it on the bbq !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chopslama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy998, Public Relations Manager at Beaches Port Douglas, responded to this review, 29 April 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful review. We were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you return in the near future.
We are under new management in 2011 and are making positive changes. Please contact me directly when you find yourself in Port Douglas and I will ensure that we take good care of your booking.
Kind Regards
Lynette Lai
Business Development Manager
Latitude 16 Pty Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 km away
Beachfront Terraces
Beachfront Terraces
#37 of 44 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.1 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.1 km away
Beach Terraces
Beach Terraces
#19 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Mowbray By The Sea
Mowbray By The Sea
#20 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 km away
Reflections of Port Douglas
Reflections of Port Douglas
#28 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 km away
Garrick House
Garrick House
#3 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Port Douglas

Property: Beaches Port Douglas
Address: 19 Esplanade, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Port Douglas
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,373 - ₹ 23,544
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Beaches Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beaches Port Douglas is the ideal holiday getaway for couples and families. Each self contained apartment provides large living areas and spacious bedrooms with stunning views out to the Coral Sea. Each apartment has its own laundry with washer & dryer and pool towels are provided in each apartment. The property offers a selection of two and three bedroom apartments with private balconies or terraces. The property is perfectly located on The Esplanade close to restaurants, cafes, boutique shopping and across from the famous Four Mile Beach. Beaches Port Douglas offers a complimentary barbeque area, large resort-style swimming pool, undercover car parking and tour desk services. Free Wi-Fi access is available throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Beaches Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing