We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spend the extra money and go somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I was so sad when we turned the key to this motel. The "kitchen" was a mini fridge and microwave on top of what is to be used as a dresser. To wash the dishes, you must do it in the shower. Oh, which has about three inches of mold in it. No exaggeration at all. It is about a twenty minute walk from town too. It smelled rather badly as well. Also, the jacuzzi is unheated and you cannot use it past 9PM i want to say. The people working there were nice though which does make me feel bad for giving them such a poor review but, honestly it is a terrible motel. Oh and we had no laundry facilities yet they didn't offer fresh towels.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank krista p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoTreePortDouglas, Manager at At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

As with all our reviews we listen and learn and thank Krista P for bringing to our attention a serious mistake in our marketing on a particular third party booking site which has now been rectified.
We were quite distraught when we read this review as we could not believe that someone could be so wrong. Then we realised that maybe a marketing error had led Krista to believe she was booking an Apartment when she had in fact booked the Studio Room. This triggered alarm bells and we desperately searched to track the booking to its source and sure enough we found a terrible error in the way a third party booking site was advertising our property. This has now been fixed and double checked on all other channels.
At The Mango Tree we have 19 fully self contained apartments and townhouses and one small Studio Room. We sell the Studio Room at almost half the price of our fully self contained apartments. We are not a motel as stated in the review. This room is a private motel style room with its own ensuite bathroom. We do not advertise that it has a kitchen or a laundry - in fact we make a point of advertising that it does not. Everywhere we advertise the Studio Room we emphasise that it is not an apartment like the others in the complex and that it has limited facilities.
Usually people that book this room are fully aware of that and are grateful to have saved some money on their accommodation.
We do in fact provide additional towels in the room because it does not have laundry facilities and we provide more whenever requested. We totally agree with Krista’s comment to spend the extra money because in this case this room type was clearly not what Krista wanted but due to the error on the booking site the room was booked (probably chosen for its low rate) with the expectation it had the facilities of the other room types which do cost more.
The Studio Room is very popular with people that are looking for a couple of nights at a low price without needing all the amenities or whom might normally share accommodation while back packing and can see the comparative value.
If you are considering booking an apartment or townhouse at The Mango Tree please be assured that these options have full kitchen and laundry facilities. On the other hand please do not select the Studio Room unless you are fully aware that it has limited amenities.
This situation highlights the importance of guests discussing any issues with management as this could have easily been rectified on the day of arrival if only Krista had said something. Fortunately we have discovered the error that led to the problem but we are now burdened by this negative review.
We apologise to Krista for the inconvenience and thank her for bringing this matter to our attention although to bring it up while she was here would have been far more beneficial to us both.
Mick & Helen Gwilliams, onsite managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 71 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed here for a week. It was glaringly obvious from the minute we arrived that the apartment we were staying in probably hadn't seen a duster for quite some time. It was musty, only one of the bedside table lamps worked (and my daughter badly burned her hand on the globe about ten minutes after it was turned on!) and the bathroom light cover fell from the ceiling at some point during our stay. There was a pretty poor offering of 2 sachets of coffee and 2 sugars, 2 rolls of toilet paper and 2 bin bags - for four people for 7 nights. And the final straw for me was the smoking of other guests making our lives hell. When I had finally had enough of it by the pool area i complained to the management and only got a shrug for reply. There were also a number of sharp broken pool tiles lying around, pretty hazardous with small children swimming in the pool. The entire pool area was filthy and was covered in rotting berries and bird excrement. The management would do well to get out there with a broom every morning, like most other hotel/motel establishments that take pride in their facilities. We were there with 3 other families all with young children and we endured the smoking by the pool the whole week. It was torture and I wouldn't recommend to anyone to stay here when other hotels around the area had a no smoking policy in the shared areas. The smokers were upstairs from me, so every time we opened the door the smoke just wafted in. So our apartment stank of cigarettes. My poor daughter who is an asthmatic suffered terribly. Until they review the smoking policy and do a spring clean I would not recommend this place to families.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Layla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoTreePortDouglas, Manager at At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2011

We thank both Layla B and Jane B (see previous review) for posting their reviews and for presenting the opportunity to address this sensitive issue.

As non smokers ourselves we appreciate that the actions of smokers can cause discomfort to others as has been the case with Layla and Jane.
Smoking is however still legal in Australia and unfortunately while this remains the case we are powerless to stop guests that choose to smoke.
Until such time as governments make smoking illegal non smokers must all suffer the consequences of the smoking minority.

There is in Queensland a ban on smoking in certain outdoor areas but unfortunately Section 3.1.2 Tobacco and Other Smoking Products Amendment Bill 2004 (Qld) states that the prohibition will not apply to a public swimming pool or a swimming pool on residential premises. Queensland’s Tobacco and Other Smoking Products Regulation 2010 prohibits smoking at prescribed outdoor swimming areas but again falls short of a general prescription of public swimming pools or swimming pools on residential premises.

There are however two valuable lessons that we can learn from these reviews. We need to be more aware of our guests smoking preferences and we need to encourage smokers to be more aware of other guests.

We have now implemented steps to better determine if a guest is a smoker or a non smoker. Bookings made direct through our website and by telephone are now all required to declare if they are smokers or non smokers. This will enable us to be better prepared for their arrival. However, please be aware that bookings made through third parties may not always provide such information as this is outside of our control.
Hopefully in future we will be in a better position to accommodate all our guests without the discomfort of one caused by another.

Had these bookings indicated a preference against smoking we could have situated them away from our smoking guests that were already in house and had any mention been made we could have moved the guests to different apartments.

On the occasion we were asked if there was a no smoking policy poolside we tried to politely explain that we did not have the right or the power to stop people from smoking. Even a non smoking policy with signs everywhere has no legal means of enforcement unless in an area decreed smoke free by legislation.

We feel that had smoking not been an issue for Jane and Layla their reviews might not have been presented as the smoking issue seems to have had a snowball effect.

The pool area is cleaned daily but at this time of year (spring time) the abundant palms and fruit trees surrounding the pool are flowering and the seeds are constantly falling as they attract large numbers of birds that feed on them.
Our accommodation is not serviced accommodation such as hotels that provide and replenish complimentary items. We offer self catering accommodation that provides facilities to prepare and cater for oneself and for that reason we provide a small welcome pack of essentials such as toilet rolls and bin liners, tea, coffee and sugar etc. Most guests realise that in non serviced self catering apartments these items are not meant to last for seven days but are merely a convenience we provide for guests on arrival. Having said that we do provide more of these items to anyone who asks.
The rooms are of course properly cleaned after every departure and again before every arrival.

We offer all our returning guests a 10% discount and would be happy to welcome Jane and Layla and their families back to The Mango Tree at a 10% discount off our published rates.
We sympathise that their holiday was marred by the actions of others and hope that they realise this situation is beyond our control, although we have moved a step closer to avoiding a repeat situation thanks to their reviews.
We endeavour to provide best value accommodation to everyone regardless of personal habits and we share Jane and Layla's view that Queensland should be a smoke free state.

Mick & Helen Gwilliams onsite managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Whilst I realize that this in only a 3 star establishment and I should not expect too much - a little more attention to cleaning between clients would improve the look of the apartments. The one thing that I found utterly unbearable was the smoking of endless cigarettes by other clients around the pool. The stench was disgusting and most unpleasant for the small children we were traveling with. Surely a No Smoking sign at the pool (like lots of other establishments in town) would present a more family friendly environment. Cigarette smoke wafting into Apartments downstairs too was disgusting. Definitely would not recommend this place to anyone who values their lungs until their policy regarding smoking changes.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Spacious, clean & airy apartment, fully equipped for cooking & washing. This meant saving on meals, & not having to pack so much! Having a pool was great for our daughter & we could relax poolside enjoying the sun. Tennis was also another option within the complex. The owners were always able to help with any local information & nothing was too much trouble. The complex wasn't large which meant it was quiet & safe for children. Location was close to town,accessible by car, bike or walking. We stayed for 5 nights & did not feel cramped or crowded in together which kept everyone relaxed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoTreePortDouglas, Manager at At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2011

We thank Jenny for her pleasant review and we are very happy that Jenny enjoyed her stay at The Mango Tree. We would love to welcome Jenny back in the future and will offer her a 10% discount off the published tariff as a reward for being a repeat guest should she choose to stay with us again.
Mick & Helen Gwilliams, on site managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We stayed at the Mango Tree apartments for 3 nights. We actually moved from another motel which was fine but we were attracted by the full facilites Laundy self catering fully equiped kitchen and and extra bedroom. We found the apartment absolutely great, clean and comfy with everything at our fingertips. Really helpful staff and quiet environment close to all amenities. Oh also lovely pool area and tennis court. would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiefrangitira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.2 km away
Coral Beach Lodge
Coral Beach Lodge
#8 of 57 in Port Douglas
426 reviews
0.9 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
11.9 km away
Thala Beach Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,660 reviews
3.8 km away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
1.8 km away
QT Port Douglas
QT Port Douglas
#21 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments

Address: 91 - 93 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: ₹ 5,780 - ₹ 12,931 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not suitable for people who like to complain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your At the Mango Tree Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At The Mango Tree Holiday Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing