We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, great breakfast, very warm welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Port Douglas B&B and Inns
Shenfield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great views, great breakfast, very warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stopped off for just one night in the Treehouse on the way from Cairns to Cape Trib - should have stayed longer. A very warm welcome, great breakfast and a wonderful setting with beautiful views. Nice, comfortable two bedroom treehouse/apartment - really felt like we were in the rainforest. Good for families.

Room Tip: Treehouse was great for a family of four
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonSimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

We stayed at the Treehouse and loved it. The furnishings and decor are unfussy and simple, but the point of this place is not what is inside but what is around you outside. The view from the accommodation level itself was lovely, and from the private lounge above your room, well, just spectacular. The three hostesses were friendly, warm, helpful and knowledgeable about the area. They were always there when we had a question, served us amazing breakfasts in the outdoor lounge with the great views, wished us well on our daily adventures, welcomed us back from therm. At the same time we had our privacy. They really know how to make it a perfect stay. The pool was lovely. The sounds of the rainforest are lovely, as are the sights. There were birds, butterflies the size of small birds, beautiful plants, and so much lushness and peace. The only thing missing was a comfortable chair to sit in our screened-in accommodation in the evenings. The private lounge is great during the day, but the rainforest being what it is - insects do take over out there at night, and we couldn't sit there and read. Otherwise, it is a perfect place to spend a few nights or even a week.

Room Tip: The Treehouse is absolutely divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrisDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2011

Unfortunately we only stayed one night in this magical setting as we were returning the car and staying in Port Douglas for the following nights but it was enough to instantly relax us...I intentionally woke up early the next morning just so I could plant myself on the chairs of the viewing platform to "take it in" as much as possible! It's a cross between a B&B and a hotel...B&B with that homely and personal feeling, like you are part of their home...but hotel in the way that the rooms are self-contained and separate enough to feel private. We had ordered a self-BBQ dinner package and it was great after chowing down on fresh seafood to sit in the chairs of the platform and just listen to the sounds of the forest. Downsides might be the mass of mozzies and that you have to drive there but then you must expect that when you are going to a magical place in the middle of the forest!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetFlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2010

Denise, Marie and their family make this place what it is - very comfortable, welcoming and thoroughly enjoyable. Fabulous breakfasts in the tree house overlooking the rain forest and ocean. We also enjoyed a pizza night and full dinner there - well worth it if you are exhausted at the end of the day - which we were. Wonderful people who were very helpful to us. Another Australian B and B where you really feel comfortable and the family sort of takes you in and looks after you - it was great. Be prepared for a visit from the laughing kookaburra's early in the morning - what a racket!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlk919395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater Beach, FL
Level Contributor
264 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

Rather than repeat the great comments in previous reviews which are accurate, I will explain why I give it a 4 rather than 5. * Our room #1 was nice but on the small side with no good place other than the floor to place suitcases. * There is a $5 charge for the internet which is only available on the patio. *And the B&B is not nearly as elegant as the pictures on their website shows. All that being said, Coral Seas was a nice stay, our dinner meal was excellant and the hosts could not have been more helpful

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler5548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Douglas
342.1 km away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
342.8 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
343.1 km away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#11 of 43 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
338.8 km away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
3.5 km away
Jacana Apartments
Jacana Apartments
#4 of 40 in Townsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
343.0 km away
The Port Douglas Outrigger
The Port Douglas Outrigger
#1 of 56 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast

Property: Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast
Address: 7-11, Bruce Ave, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Port Douglas
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,159 - ₹ 6,794
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set high on a ridge overlooking the beautiful Coral Sea and surrounding rainforest, is one of Port Douglas' best kept secrets - Coral Sea Retreat B&B. Sit back relax and drink in the views. Holiday with a difference! The Tree House: 2 bedroom, self-contained unit with stunning views of the Coral Sea and rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Coral Sea Retreat Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing