We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and friendly place to stay”
Review of Pink Flamingo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pink Flamingo
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing and friendly place to stay”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

We stayed in a garden villa at the Pink Flamingo with our Labrador puppy! The owners Gigi and Andrea go to a lot of effort to make you welcome, with a little pet basket (bowls, blanket etc) waiting for us on arrival. Our villa was private and peaceful and in beautiful tropical surrounds. The outdoor shower is amazing! We ordered a breakfast hamper for 2 for our first morning, which was delicious and very good value. Great space for pets to chill out in the courtyard garden of the villa. Overall, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahandBen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    429
    87
    10
    7
    1
See reviews for
11
396
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We loved this place, the entire resort is bright and colourful. The staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed in a king villa which was spacious and well appointed, it was the small personal touches that made the stay so great. Like candles so romantic. when we stayed the resort was fully booked out but you would never know it was so peaceful. I will stay there again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnice1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Among all the accommodations we stayed in during our 3 week tour of tropical N. QLD, Pink Flamingo was our favourite! The short walk to 4 mile Beach really is nothing to whinge about. The walk into town is a bit of a trek, but we were told there is a shuttle bus that comes by right in front of the property every 15 minutes at minimal cost. The professionally-designed tropical landscape is really quite exceptional. The entire property is a mature and lush garden that is very lovingly tended by GiGi, and allows you to feel like you are alone in the jungle. The pool area is beautifully planted and the lounges are comfortable for sun bathing. We didn't swim but the pool looked inviting. The pool bar is a nice touch. The barbeque area is spotless and they even provide oils and sauces for your culinary use. The villa we had had a practical open plan; the king-size bed was super comfy; the kitchen was adequately equipped with basic pots, pans, m/w cookware, glasses and dishes. Free ground coffee was a nice touch, as was the provision of cooking oil in the pantry. The bathroom was fine; yes, there is no shower door but the tiled floor is canted and adjust the shower head to keep the spray in-bounds. (The only annoyance was the installation of a juvenile-size toilet in our bath. It was a loooooong way down to the seat!) Behind your private, gated, high-wall enclosure is a garden area where there is romantic lighting, outdoor dining and seating, a hammock and your private soaking tub for two. We did not have any problem with hot water supply. We filled that sucker almost every night of our stay and never ran out of hot water. Our hostesses could not have been more gracious and helpful. But the real appeal of this place to us was its small size, the adults-only policy and the attention to detail to make your stay here memorable. The villas are so private and the grounds so lush you really can believe that you are all alone in this garden oasis. Next time we go to Port Douglass, Pink Flamingo is our choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADLass5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Pink Flamingo end of July 2012 and enjoyed the colourful, original decor, mosaics in the bathroom and around the pool and sculptures in odd little places, the friendly helpful attitude of the managers, the personal touches and attention to detail e.g. of the pink recycling bins. the comparable low cost also made it attractive. The the only down sides were that the appts were not that sunny and one could only get the internet by walking to a wi-fi hut i.e it was not in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Llinderose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We LOVED the PINK FLAMINGO. The amount of space in the units is extra generous. We loved the privacy of an outdoors bath. We REALLY loved the surroundings, the gardens are lovingly tended so you really feel the atmosphere of the rainforest.
Gi-Gi and Andrea made us so welcome (and i know it's a cliche) but they really couldnt do too much for us. The kitchen was generously stocked which was just part of the service which actually felt like a personal welcome rather than business....the pool is fantastic, the honour-system stocked bar is a nice touch...really...why would you stay anywhere else in the port douglas area??
We will be back!...i have read some of the less generous reviews and really think they need to toughen up a bit..i know its port douglas but really..you had to DRIVE to the beach..are you 85 or just lazy?...its a really short walk and the great thing about the Pink Flamingo is its funkiness...it is GREAT value for the price

Room Tip: Rooms furtherest from the neighbouring backpackers would be the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.1 km away
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Port Douglas
560 reviews
0.7 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.8 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
773 reviews
3.4 km away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
3.5 km away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pink Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pink Flamingo

Property: Pink Flamingo
Address: 115 Davidson St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
#4 Best Value Hotel in Port Douglas
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,616 - ₹ 9,279
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pink Flamingo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pink Flamingo offers a unique blend of: Open plan room layouts and colourful decor. The resort features lush tropical gardens with plenty of deck chairs, heated pool, pool bar and large villas with private garden courtyards. Candles, hammocks, bare feet, exotic smells, midnight swims and a friendly accepting environment gives you the relaxation you need! Complimentary Wi-Fi in public areas, complimentary welcome drink, guest laundry, pool towels and DVD hire. Pink Flamingo has a sense of space and privacy that few resorts can offer.Winner of 2012/13/14/15/16 Travellers choice award and certificate of excellence - unique accomodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pink Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pink Flamingo Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing