We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceeds expectations - Perfect retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Orchid Hill Bedroom (2 of 4) with Queen size bed.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Orchid Hill Bedroom (2 of 4) with Queen size bed.
Our 2nd Win! 2014 & 2013. Out of 30,000 Queensland Holiday Homes, we've won 2 years in a row. Private Billabong (Pool) at Dusk. Totally Private, Secluded Luxury.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Orchid Hill Bedroom (2 of 4) with Queen size bed.
Our 2nd Win! 2014 & 2013. Out of 30,000 Queensland Holiday Homes, we've won 2 years in a row.
Private Billabong (Pool) at Dusk. Totally Private, Secluded Luxury.
Living Room with Indoor Dining Table for 8.
Living Room. Luxurious. Casual. Relaxing.
A taste of the lush gardens that surround Orchid Hill.
Family Room. Room to group together, prepare dinner and hangout. Pool just to the left.
Family Room with Kitchen, Cafe Table and TV/Media.
Gourmet Stocked Kitchen. Cook Like a Chef.
Perfect for evening BBQ's, chatting with friends.
Tropical BBQ! Yum!
Private & Secluded Billabong (Pool). Room to play, relax and gaze onto the lush tropical gardens
Pool in daytime showing lounges and a bit of the lush gardens surrounding the pool.
Your Billabong (Pool) at twilight. Warm, refreshing and heavenly.
Master Bedroom with King size bed and ensuite.
Master bedroom (king bed) overlooks pool and gardens.
Master Bedroom Ensuite. Luxury doesn't stop at the door.
Another shot of Bedroom2. View to Main Hall. Bedroom 2 overlooks front gardens and has Queen Bed.
Bedroom 3 has either 2xKing Singles or 1xKing Double.
Bedroom 4 has either 2xKing Singles or 1xKing Double.
Main Shower/Bathroom. Toilet is in another room.
Orchid Hill from the street. Double car garage. Complete privacy.
Floor plan of Orchid Hill. So much room on a 1000 mtr block surrounded by lush tropical gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Port Douglas, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Becstar_t...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations - Perfect retreat”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As a family of 7 adults, it gave us plenty of space, lots of different areas to chill out separately or come together as a group.

Fantastic set up. I assume the owners are or were interior designers. Their web site shows a lot of detail but it is even better in real life. The pool was bigger/deeper than I expected. The house has all the amenities you could want for a group of 7.

We travel alot and I can't recommend this highly enough. Brent was the perfect host. Very helpful through all steps of the process. They give you great tips for whats around.

I just wish I had had enough free time to flick through some of the fantastic books/movies they had on offer. Would definitely stay again and would love to stay longer than 1 week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design - all the different areas to break out or get together in
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcodon
Willows, California
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“This is the place to stay in Port Douglas”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have been blessed to book with many fine hosts in our travels with TripAdvisor, and Brent ranks with the Best. From 1st inquiry until departure, every aspect of our experience with Brent, and his tastefully decorated home, exceeded our expectations.
What a great foundation for our delightful vacation in Port Douglas.
Thank you very much Brent, and Leroy too!
Don Romeri

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the interior design of the home, and the beautifully landscaped pool area.
Liked least: The mattresses on the twin beds were good, but not great.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noname110...
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This place is amazing!!! Everything that is described is exactly what you will see! The house is situated only a few minutes from town which you literally cannot get lost in. Brent and Leroy are exceptional hosts and will help you with any questions or queries you may have. My husband and I don't get out much together due to work and family life so we opted to stay here instead of a hotel and just enjoy our very own private home away from home. We have stayed at a few holiday homes but this one is immaculate and spotless! Everything was so clean and tidy!!! All other homes we have stayed in are dusty, smelly (musky) and just not as pretty as they seem in pictures. Orchid hill however is picture perfect and anyone who chooses to stay here will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siobhán Q
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous place”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Spotlessly clean,very welcoming (lights on, Jazz music playing on arrival), great kitchen and lounge area, beautiful pool. This is a great place to stay. Beautiful decor and very comfortable. It is about 7kms from Port Douglas itself, so a car is needed. It is a great spot form which we explored the great barrier reef (with Tropical Journeys) Daintree forest (Mossman Gorge and The wildlife sanctuary at Karunda on the Skyrail), Cape Tribulation. Also enjoyed the harley davidson bike tour. Port Douglas is a lovely town lots of great restaurants ( reasonaly priced) Great beach. Sunday market worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F
Derry
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for a big group!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Orchid Hill for 1 week in July 2014. There were 5 adults staying in the house and we had more than enough space between us. No detail was overlooked, it was a joy to stay here!
It is beautifully decorated and presented, very welcoming with music and lights on, on arrival. The jewel in the crown was without a doubt the amazing back garden. The trees and plants were amazing, not to mention the fantastic pool and waterfall. It was absolute bliss!
Also if you have smaller children, the back garden area is very safe with glass panelling surrounding the pool area.
The housr is situated in a quiet housing estate, no busy traffic, although you can hear the trafgic from the highway when you are in the garden. Port Douglas town centre is only a 5/10 minute drive away, but I would recommend hiring a car for easier access.
This is definitely a great house for a big get together, would love to be going back! A great start to a fab holiday!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing