We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Mandalay Apartments Port Douglas” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mandalay Apartments Port Douglas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

Our stay at the Mandalay in Port Douglas was a very enjoyable experience. The apartment was delightful, clean, spacious and comfortable with good bathroom spaces and room to sit and enjoy the weather from the balcony. The access to the beach was easy and it also was an easy walk to the town and all that it offers. The surroundings were well kept and had the tropical ambiance we were looking for . Our grand children who were also staying enjoyed the pool, it was suitable for under 5's and adults as well .While we did not have time to use it the barbecue area is a nice touch and great for families.
The staff led by Raelene Hall could not have been more helpful and welcoming we felt at home from the moment we arrived.
Our stay was of necessity very short, but we both want to return in the near future.
Nola and Barry Hambleton

Room Tip: Rooms all seem good, perhaps a pool view may be nice, but we welcomed the quietness of our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    95
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
297
117
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay here! The apartment was very spacious and comfortable - we had a beachfront room and could hear the waves at night. Although not overlooking the beach, it was a quick and short walk to the beach itself. We found the location to be central (could walk to main street), but also quiet too. I'm glad we did not stay on the main street - it is quite busy and loud at times. The staff were wonderful, responsive and helpful. We hope to come again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyfrenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012 via mobile

We spent 10 nights here in June/July. Apartment 1 had two large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, outside patio area with table and chairs, two li-lows and a day bed. The lounge and kitchen/dine areas were enormous. You're close enough to walk to the main street to stock up or eat out. The room was serviced half way through the stay - though it would have been. Ice to be advised exactly when it was going to occur so we could have tidied a bit more! The staff were helpful with tour bookings etc. Good location code to the beach. The pool was a little chilly - but warmer days mean warmer water.

Having a laundry is such a good thing - and we did loads of washing so we didn't take a pile of dirty washing home!

The surf club on the other side of the beach park is really laid back and the food was good for adults and kids.

Advice for future stays - book really early if you're going during the school holidays. We booked in early February wanting to stay 14 nights but could only get 10, so moved to Palm Cove for the next 4 nights. The people in apartment 111, who owned it. Could only get 7 of their 10 allowed nights, and they tried in January! It is popular for a good reason. Not cheap, but good value for money

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Adelaide5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

We had pre arranged accommodation at a different apartment in pd and from the outside we decided not to stay there. Walked into mandalay to enquire about an apartment and spoke to a lady who told us we would have to do a room change half way through the stay due to late notice, wouldn't have bothered us but we went onto wot if and there was availability for the dates we wanted and no room change so we weren't too sure what the lady at reception was on about. Check in was fantastic. This was our first meeting with bec. She gave us our keys and walked us to our apartment, apologised for not having lifts but the pleasant conversation to our room meant we didn't even notice the stairs. She even offered to carry one of our bags up the stairs! We found the room to be clean, tidy, and well appointed. Everything we needed was there. The pillows were a little uncomfortable but there was ample to choose from so no big deal. One small concern is the bath/shower. There are no handles to hold onto and it's I little awkward to get in and out of, as a 25 year old it was fine but I was careful when getting in and out. Our next meeting with bec was when we booked the tennis courts. $5 for two people for an hour on the court including racket hire was the best bargain in pd! We played almost every day. One day we played for not even half an hour and the following day bec didn't charge us. It's not the money (obviously as its only $5) it's the thought and the fact that she paid enough attention to remember us from the previous day. Our room was very private, room 42, and while not facing the pool or beach we preferred it. From our stay there we assumed there was an older hotel called shallimar which Mandalay took over hence Mandalay and shallimar. Made no difference, just noticed a few old signs, rooms still modern. Upon check out we were disappointed bec wasn't there so we could thank her but checkout was still pleasant. We asked to leave our luggage there for a couple of hours and it was no trouble. Overall, very happy with service and room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed for 4 days but could have stayed for a few weeks. They pretty much set you up with all the space and everything a little family could need - wonderful rooms, kitchen, living room, laundry, all your little appliances including different size coolers, etc. plus on-site pools and barbie. Super easy walk thru a row of trees and you are right on one of the world's nicest beaches, and the fun little down of Port Douglas is just a few minutes stroll away. Staff in day is super nice and helpful, keep in mind it's an apartment resort not a full hotel, but you can call up just about any service you need.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.8 km away
Sheraton Mirage Port Douglas Resort
0.4 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.2 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
4.2 km away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.5 km away
Coconut Grove Apartments
Coconut Grove Apartments
#8 of 58 in Port Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments

Property: Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Address: Corner Garrick & Beryl Streets, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,090 - ₹ 28,398
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandalay Port Douglas Accommodation offers luxury beachfront apartments surrounded by lush gardens, directly across from Four Mile Beach and only a five minute stroll to the centre of Port Douglas. With an exclusive walkway direct to the Four Mile Beach, Mandalay Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments offer the opportunity to relax in five star comfort. Spacious resort surroundings, tennis courts and a large swimming pool are features of the two and three bedroom luxurious holiday apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandalay And Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing