We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandalay & Shalimar Luxury Beachfront Apartments
Nearby Hotels
US$ 207
US$ 153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
QT Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$ 185
US$ 153
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peninsula Boutique Hotel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$ 330
US$ 306
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$ 197
US$ 190
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Peppers Beach Club(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$ 255
US$ 197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$ 144
US$ 138
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Thala Beach Nature Reserve(Oak Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 295
US$ 191
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$ 93
US$ 87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saltwater Luxury Apartments(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$ 481
US$ 433
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Port Douglas Motel(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$ 96
US$ 92
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
431
114
17
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
431
114
17
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree bedroom apartmentshort walkfour mile beachwalk in wardrobequiet roadutility roomthe main streetfantastic apartmentsurf clubreception stafftwo single bedsa ground floor apartmentlarge balconymain bedroomsmall poolthe great barrier reefstayed here for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
398 - 403 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I stayed in the Mandalay apartment with my family in October/November 2011. It is absolutely a wonderful vacation place. It is just 2 minutes away from the beach (unfortunately due to the trees there is no beach view but you can hear sound of waves) and ca 5-10 minutes walking from the main shopping alley of Port Douglas. We were a group of 4 people and we had a 3 bedrooms apartment – indeed it was spacious, comfortable and clean (there was also a well equipped kitchen, 2 bathrooms, big balcony with a table, chairs, sofa etc.). Two ladies at the reception desk were very helpful and they managed to organize all our tours. The car parking place (garage) was also available.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Darshwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Just got back from a great stay at the Mandalay Luxury apartments. Well appointed and spacious, our apartment had everything that you need for a relaxing holiday. Great kitchen and laundry room was an extra bonus since we have been travelling for 2 weeks. We had fantastic help from the moment we arrived from Raelene, on the front desk. She not only made us feel really welcome but also suggested trips for us that maximised our time in Port Douglas. She was spot on with her choices and we were glad we took her advice rather than guessing which trip was best for us. We would recommend this apartment hotel and were sad when our holiday came to an end.

Room Tip: We preferred first floor as you could see all the birds in the tree tops surrounding the balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AWarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My friend and I recently visited the Mandalay in Port Douglas and were VERY impressed. The apartments are absolutely beautiful! Very clean and spacious. We had our own outdoor patio with garden, which we enjoyed having dinners and coffee out there any chance we got. The apartments had everything you need including a full kitchen, full dining room and living room and even a laundry room. Also, the master bedroom and bathroom were huge!

However, while the rooms were amazing, the one thing that really impressed me was the customer service. It was absolutely phenomenal. We dealt with Raelene and Pauline during our stay and they were both wonderful and took care of all our needs, helped us book all our excursions and were extremely friendly. I really enjoyed chatting with them everytime we came through the front desk area. They knew the area very well and were able to advise on on excursions and every one we did we had a great time. You could tell they were good people and really enjoyed their job.

Location-wise was also very good. It was about a 10 minute walk to the main strip and only a couple minutes to the beach. They even have their own pathway to the beach which is nice.

We had such a wonderful time here, that I would definitely stay here again next time we are Port Douglas and would highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Get one of the ones with a patio on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chrismedia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The appartments are beautifully furnished and fully equipped. The private patio surrounded by beautiful trees and flowers provides a relaxing outdoor area. Underground parking, 2 swimming pools and wonderful friendly staff ensured we had a week to remember for ever. Bliss!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sudha_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed as a family of four in September 2011 (2 girls, aged 2.5 and 6 months). The 3 bedroom apartment was excellent and perfect for our needs. All the staff were very friendly but Bec, especially, was fantastic and, according to our 2.5 year old, one of the world's great babysitters. We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews