We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,980)
Filter reviews
1,980 results
Traveller rating
534
764
412
168
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
534
764
412
168
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar mantra port sea lap pools bedroom studio continental breakfast minute walk main pool enjoyed our stay bottle shop four mile beach great for families great pool no lift tennis courts spa bath close to town family holiday
Filter
Updating list...
823 - 828 of 1,980 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Only place we stayed in out of 8 hotels/apartments that charged for wifi. Rooms shabby, need renovating, all switches for fans broken. We arrived and first room had a shortage of equipment in the kitchen and a side table missing, we immediately asked to charge rooms but were told we would be charged a cleaning charge if we changed rooms even though we hadn't unpacked or used the room, We had a back to back booking so changed after 4 nights, the second room was better.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Barbara/Colin/S... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your stay.
We value all our guest feedback in order to fully provide the outstanding guest experience we strive and work diligently for. We apologize that some aspects of your stay were not up to our high standards.
Unfortunately Wifi is not yet included as part of your rate with Mantra hotels and resorts and this is being looked at seriously with our head office and suppliers. We are hopeful this will be a feature in the not too distant future. We are also in discussion with the owner of your room, in the hope that they will agree to upgrade shortly.

Warmest regards,
Tom Lade
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Mantra Portsea for a week in November. We booked a one bed studio and it was a good size for two people, and it had a balcony which was great.
I don't know what the others are complaining about. It is clear on the website and trip advisor that the rooms aren't serviced like a hotel. Surely keeping it reasonably clean yourself isn't hard.
Getting new towels was easy - you just took the used ones to reception and swapped them over if you wanted to.
The breakfast is described as continental, which is cereal, toast etc and that is exactly what you get - nowhere does it say that they serve hot food. I thought the breakfast was quite good, especially the fruit salad and yoghurt. Plus they had pancakes!
The pool was good, swim up bar great. Plenty of sun loungers in sun or shade. Yes there are some stairs which is a bit hard with luggage but it's manageable.
For the price - we paid just over $120 per night i think - i thought it was all really good value. Oh and the inhouse day spa was also good!! Great massages.
So we would definitely return and i hope that people aren't turned off by other reviews. If you keep in mind the price you pay then i think most people would be happy!
PS. there is beach access at the back of the complex (short walk) which is great for early morning walks or walking to town for dinner.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank nataisha19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

It sounds like you totally embraced a true tropical holiday- sunbathing, cocktails, dips in the pool...pure relaxation. Thanks for the wonderful review- we can't wait to welcome you back soon!

Warmest regards,
Tom Lade
Front Office Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

My room was on ground floor with possums and other animals running around outside at night.
Aircondition in one of my room was not working, out of gas.
The apartment its self was very dark, average, and bit dated.

Unless you stay more then seven days, you don't get room service. This is bad.

Breakfast is not bad but the problem is its the same everyday, plus there is no hot breakfast, just cornflakes and salami and toasts. I would've liked bacon and eggs.

I wouldn't come here again with my family.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jet216667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. I'm disheartened to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.
We do advertise that all stays under 8 nights do not receive any cleaning. However we do have a towel swap service at reception, where you can also collect an abundance of in room amenities and cleaning supplies. Likewise, we also advertise that the breakfast included in your rate is continental.

Oh, and the animals that you heard outside at night were probably our friendly local Bandicoots. Welcome to the tropics!

Warmest regards,
Tom Lade
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Good price, staff really friendly and really helpful at reception. Rooms are spacious but could really do with a better cleanup and the couches needed a really good clean as they smelled quite bad. All the swimming pools were really nice and as we were there in low season we were having the lap pool for ourselves which was really nice! Buffet breakfast quite disappointing but cheap.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Could not fault our stay ,room was clean & spacious the staff was very friendly and very accommodating, close to town plus shuttle bus service came in very handy after a day of walking in the heat ,we would definitely come back again .

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom L, Front Office Manager at Mantra PortSea, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Hi Yvonne,

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is good to hear that you found the resort to be clean and in a great location, and our staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra PortSea sometime soon!

Warmest regards,
Tom Lade
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews