We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,427)
Filter reviews
1,427 results
Traveller rating
535
547
224
72
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
535
547
224
72
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swim up bar pool area barramundi shuttle bus four mile beach town centre minute drive bedroom apartment rainforest queensland units dishwasher reef
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
329 - 334 of 1,427 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2018

I don’t believe in negative reviews, unless something outrageous has occurred. If you’re contemplating a place to stay, then you have already considered cost, location, amenities, etc, so you just want to know about the little things that may push you one way or another. This is a nice resort, reasonably priced, in a beautiful part of the world. So what do you get for your money? The resort has opted for the low-rise tropical setting, so lots of greenery, shade, birds and tranquility, but no balconies or even bug-screened windows. The pool area, which is a meandering lagoon style set-up is family oriented. You won’t be doing laps and you won’t be basking in sun or working on your tan. Neither can you access the pool from your room. However, if you want a shaded sun lounge from which to observe your kids all day and not have to worry about sunscreen, then this place is ideal. You can even sit poolside in the restaurant and still view the entire pool whilst relaxing with food or drink. The resort environment is calm, shady and relaxed. Having said that, there are no communal bbq areas, so you have to eat and pay in the open-air reastaurant. There is also on site free parking, but limited, and a few video games and small pool table in the foyer. The staff are reasonably helpful, but don’t get sucked in to the timeshare spiel from the lady next to reception. It will be three hours of your life you will never get back! If you still think this place is for you then please make sure you speak to Shane in the restaurant; he is incredibly knowledgeable, very friendly and was the only staff member during our stay to go above and beyond.
Ultimately, for two single girls on a sunbathing mission, it was the wrong choice, but for families who don’t want to self-cater? The price is right. One last point - it is 45 minutes walk from the town Centre (but only 5 mins drive) and you can walk on the main road in or along the beach. There is a frequent shuttle bus, so it’s not an issue, but should be noted. The nearest supermarket, restaurant or chemist is not a short walk, but there is an ATM in the foyer.

Date of stay: August 2018
3  Thank cyn7180
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
duncanmars, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Dear cyn7180,

Thank you for your detailed review. We are delighted you had a wonderful holiday in Tropical North Queensland and thank you for staying at Ramada Resort Port Douglas.

Kind regards
Duncan Mars
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

Room great. Suggest wait until renovation complete before you go.

Wifi all but non existent!

Be mindful of distance into main streets etc.

Food etc really good.

Pool bar closed due to Reno’s

Staff very helpful

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Bev5070
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
duncanmars, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Dear Bev5070,

Thank you for your feedback and your positive comments regarding our Restaurant.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Ramada Resort Port Douglas.

Kind regards
Duncan Mars
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2018 via mobile

Excellent food, attentive and efficient service and assistance. We did not have a booking and staff were very accommodating, making adjustments to find room for us with a table. Nice atmosphere and ambience.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
duncanmars, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Dear Karen G,

Thank you for your 5 star review.

I’m delighted to read your comments regarding the excellent food in the restaurant, we look forward to welcoming you back for your next trip to Tropical North Queensland.

Kind regards
Duncan Mars
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2018

The Ramada Port Douglas is getting refurbished. Room was fully renovated with new furniture and king size bed, clean and very nice. Restaurant is getting renovated. Resort has had full external paint. New carpets in all internal walk ways. Food in the restaurant was very nice and reasonably priced. Once the refurb is finished it will be very good. Unlike some we understand that there is some inconvenience when a resort is being upgraded for the future benefit of all guests. Overall our stay was very good. We got breakfast and it was excellent. Full range of cooked breakfast by the chef ordered from the menu plus cappuccinos. Staff were very friendly and courteous. As for the timeshare issue, they asked us once and offered us an extra free night is we attended the presentation. We declined, hardly onerous. The rainforest and flowing creek through the middle of the resort is very nice. The short walk to and the walk along the beach were lovely.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Gouldians35
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
duncanmars, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2018

Dear Gouldians35,

Thank you for your review.

I’m delighted you had such a great holiday and enjoyed our apartments!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Duncan Mars
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2018

booked for 3 nights for a baby moon, arrived to be informed of closed facilities including outdoor dining & pool bar. No notice given on booking site so this was disappointing.
Checked in & arrived at room to find the keys did not work.. back to reception we went!

Outdoor dining was moved to indoor area directly in front of our room, room was not clear dust on coffee table & we received call after call selling timeshare.
Notice to the resort we are on holiday we do not want to be contacted!!!!!!

Room tip: don't book this hotel, stay closer to town
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chantelles85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
duncanmars, General Manager at Ramada Resort by Wyndham Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Dear Chantelles85,

Thank you for your review, our sincere apologies regarding the building works. Notification was emailed out and was also posted on our website and advice was sent to 3rd party booking agents.

Please accept my apologies that you did not receive the notification; we hope you choose to stay with us in the near future to experience the beauty of the resort.

Kind regards
Duncan Mars
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews