We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coconut Grove Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coconut Grove Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
perth, australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed at Coconut Grove in a terrace apartment early November for a wedding with another couple and LOVED IT! Fabulous location, right on Macrossan St, and the envy of other wedding guests that were staying at other resorts. We were 2 seconds from the beach and so close to all the restaurants and cafes.
The thing we loved the most was our own bbq and pool area. Other reviews mentioned the lack of privacy in the terrace apartments but we didn't find it a problem. You can position your chairs in the sun in such a way that you are not on display.
Lastly, we had an odd request. We needed a rake so we could rake a small section of the beach for our friend, the bride. Within 20 minutes we had a newly bought rake (with sticker freshly removed!!)
Fabulous accommodation and superlative service.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank robby74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    63
    13
    1
    2
See reviews for
136
197
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

My family of four stayed here for a week, we took a 2 bedroom apartment with a terrace , BBQ and private pool / spa. The apartment was spotless, faultless and very handily located at the end of the main shopping and restaurant street. Coles supermarket is 5 minutes walk away so restocking was easy. It's a fairly expensive accommodation cost, but this was really a top class place. The ladies at reception will easily arrange day trips , airport transfers etc. There could be some noise issues depending on neighbouring apartments / terraces, but this is a holiday resort town anyway, and most people are laid back and considerate there in FNQ ! Go enjoy !

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiepax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This place is almost faultless. We stayed on a rooftop sub penthouse. Stunningly equipped and cant complain about anything to do with the apartment itself. However, my only moan is that straight below us, was obviously a function/party of some type. It went on for hours and hours and as you can imagine the noise went straight up in our direction. Unfortunately every time I rang the supposed night manager, I was told by the answer service that there is not actually an on site manager living within the premises. So, call after call, eventually the party stopped at about 3am. I was disappointed that when paying such a large amount per night (as this place does charge), that the shut down of a party scenario took so long, management should have dealt with this much more quickly.

Room Tip: Pick one on the top level then you do not have other people looking down on you on your deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank taylor12auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Stayed at these apartments for five nights in November. Stayed in the three bedroom penthouse with a total of five adults staying in the apartments. Nice pool balcony and a great kitchen area with lots of space.

Pro's
-lots of space
-your own BBQ area
-private pool area
-perfect locations, 5 mins from beach and shops
-helpful front desk, can also organise tours
-private car park location

Negatives
-very pricey; although i have not stayed at any other apartments in port douglas to make a comparison of quality of other apartments
-main bedroom is just off the main living area - if you are going to bed before those still socialising in the living room then suggest you have one of the other rooms
-no shade area over the pool

Room Tip: Main room with main ensuite is noisest if you are staying with a big group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CherieClenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downunder
Level Contributor
159 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Coconut Grove was perfect. I have stayed at numerous properties built by the Juniper Group and Coconut Grove continues their tradition of perfect luxurious apartments. We choose a 2 bdrm balcony apartment which was ideal. You get a great kitchen, living area, multiple bathrooms, walk-in robes, balconies and a bbq. It's essentially a high-end appliance showroom with Miele and Bose products peppered around the apartment. The apartment is located on Macrossian Street (the only place to be in Port Douglas) and it's very close to the beach albeit you can walk to the North End of the Street in under 10 minutes.

Positives: Room condition, quality fittings etc... easy access to restaurants, marina and the beach.

Negatives: You don't get a traditional resort pool but it's large enough to keep anybody entertained.

TIPS: Definitely visit the reef with a smaller operator so you get to see pristine reef. It's really a magic day. Take a Daintree Tour and swim under a rainforest waterfall. Visit the market if you are in town in Sunday morning.
Restaurants in Port Douglas are not cheap but you get a fantastic choice. Salsa (rated #1 on Tripadvisor) wins our #1 pick. Bucci is great, On the Inlet is nice where you can get a bucket of prawns and watch George the Groper and TinShed (the value pick but worth visiting). Cane Toad Racing at the Iron Bar is also a "must do" in Port Douglas.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhys S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
2.3 km away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 km away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.6 km away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
4.7 km away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
0.4 km away
Shantara Resort  Port Douglas
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
#7 of 58 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Grove Apartments

Property: Coconut Grove Apartments
Address: 56 Macrossan St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,460 - ₹ 34,870
Hotel Class:5 star — Coconut Grove Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A heavenly retreat awaits at Coconut Grove, tropical north Queensland’s newest and most luxurious Port Douglas accommodation.Situated just 140m from magnificent Four-Mile Beach, divine views of rainforest, mountains and blue seas can be enjoyed in absolute privacy from a choice of 33 glamorous holiday apartments. Fully contained and complete with their own outdoor entertaining terraces which extend seamlessly from sophisticated living areas, our Terrace Pool, Balcony and Penthouses are so self-contained, you will never want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Coconut Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Grove Apartments Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing