We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“palm villas @ cyclone time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Villas Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“palm villas @ cyclone time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We found Palm Villas by word of mouth from an information kiosk on the main street. The lady in the kiosk said "have i got a gem for you" and gosh was she right, fantastic rates. located behind the main street within easy reach of all the shops, bars & restraunts. Although basic it supplied everything you need great comfortable beds, quite, clean and very friendly and offers loads of local info on tours and what to do etc. Dip pool was a god send (98% humidity).

Jacob the owner/manager bent over backwards to help as we had to stay extra nights due too the cyclone (he even gave us 1 free nights accommodation).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    78
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
8
113
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Firstly, we were travelling in the low season. We were looking for good clean accommodation at a reasonable price where we could save money on eating out and have plenty left in our budget for activities. This property met all these ctireria and to have an owner/ manager like Jakob was the icing on the cake. We could walk to everything in town which eliminated the need for transportation. If you are planning tours, eating out or require transportation, leave everything to Jakob. He knows all the tours and who is offering deals etc so you get the best bang for your buck. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Our room faced the front and overlooked the pool and we were quite happy with this location. Whil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roamingmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We came here for our first anniversary and wanted to spend more on activities, less on accommodation so were lucky to find a deal for , stay 5 night pay for 4 at the low season rate which worked out very cheap.

The villa is a dining+kitchen+lounge area and room with ensuite. The kitchen and bathroom were a bit dated but suited our needs perfectly. The balcony was nice and there was a lovely outdoor pool/bbq kitchen area

Jakob was lovely and gave us tips on where to go.
The location is great just behind the main street. We loved port Douglas in general its a great place to explore the area
Would definately come back!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank damore06-233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Palm Villas provides simple accommodation is a great location at the quiet end of the main road on Port Douglas and just a skip to the wonderful 4 mile beach. Jakob is absolutely dedicated to making your holiday the peaceful restful escape you might have come this far North to try to get. Port Douglas provides some great cuisine which is now competitively priced some outstanding scenic opportunities and a priceless laid back feel that will have your pulse slowing and your mental state reduced to the timeless world of siestas and thoughts of doing it all 'manyana'. The accommodation is neat and tidy but don't expect it to be slickly modern (no stainless steel here). Each unit has an ample size balcony in a colonial style, a kitchenette and shower and toilet. There is a lovely garden and a pool. The highlight is Jakob helping organise our itinerary with his in depth local knowledge and the handiness of the location. Can't wait to go back. For the essential Reef Day Trip go Poseidon adventures: top class.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamaraGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

The manager, Jakob makes all the difference here. he is so friendly and makes you feel welcome. he made some great trip recommendations and made my few days here so much easier.
The rooms are spacious and very clean with a nice lounge area, big flatscreen TV and separate bedroom, bathroom and kitchen. The kitchens are basic but fine for a few days. I didn't use the patio and had a view of a fence but wasn't in the room very much anyway. Wifi is expensive in Port anyway but $6 for 30 minutes here was extortionate. That's my only complaint really. I'd say here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.5 km away
Club Tropical Resort
Club Tropical Resort
#34 of 43 in Port Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 km away
The Pavilions Port Douglas - Boutique Holiday Apartments
0.1 km away
Port Douglas Backpackers
Port Douglas Backpackers
#26 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Regal Port Douglas
Regal Port Douglas
#17 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Cher Du Monde
Le Cher Du Monde
#3 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.1 km away
Villa San Michele
Villa San Michele
#6 of 56 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Villas Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Villas Port Douglas

Property: Palm Villas Port Douglas
Address: 40 Warner St, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,603 - ₹ 7,325
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Villas Port Douglas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Villas is located in the center of town within easy walking distance to the beach, marina, restaurants and shops on the Macrossan Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Palm Villas Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing