We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hidden gem in rainforest..”
other travellers have booked this property
Your beautiful antique ouside river bath awaits, located on the platform by the river!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your beautiful antique ouside river bath awaits, located on the platform by the river!
Wanggulay Too Treetops at twilight, as seen from our luxury outdoor  riverside bath,  see more pics. Balcony at Twilight, with views over the Barron river below
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Your beautiful antique ouside river bath awaits, located on the platform by the river!
Wanggulay Too Treetops at twilight, as seen from our luxury outdoor  riverside bath,  see more pics.
Balcony at Twilight, with views over the Barron river below
Relax in the treetops looking over the river below
Main Entrance of Wanggulay Too Treetops. Feel the presence of Bali from the main entrance
Master bedroom 1 - Deserve a 5-star accomodation in Cairns
Luxury 24 jet spa bath
Master bedroom 2 with river views
Enjoy the wide space of Wanggulay Living Area
Your bar in the rainforest treetops
Luxury Retreat - Entrance View
Get Media entertianment at the Media Room of Wanggulay
Lounge Room
Lounge Room
Kitchen and river view bar only in Wanggulay
Family holiday house Dining Area
Outside dining area accommodates up to 13 guests
Enjoy the view of the forest inside the Master Bedroom 1 of Wanggulay
Bedroom 5
Bedroom 3 with king sized bed
This Romantic Outside Bath on the plaform by the river can only be found in Wanggulay
Wide bathroom at downstairs of Wanggulay
Suite off the Master bedroom 2, with views onto the river below
Balinese outside shower
Wanggulay Main entrance in the twilight
Main entrance in the twilight
Wanggulay Outdoor Bath tub in the middle of rainforest
Shower screen and LED lighting in the evening
Outside River Bath
Great girls getaway, we featured in the Cairns Life magazine - Hens Party
Outside River Bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Cairns, Cairns Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Darshan G
1 review
“Hidden gem in rainforest..”
Reviewed 16 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Our stay at Wanggulay Treetops could not have been any more pleasant. Me and my partner recently stayed here for 3 nights. A beautiful rain forest and private setting. The accommodation was clean and fresh as we walked in. Tracy (the manager at the site) was very welcoming and helpful. She is very knowledgeable and always up for a quick chat if you need information about places to visit around.

We found the accommodation well equipped and well maintained. Perfect getaway for couples or families. Beautiful decor, furnishings and amazing surroundings. Absolutely happy with the services provided by the staff on site and couldn’t thank Tracy enough for her time.

I would definitely come back here again and will share my enjoyment with others

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent V
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply amazing, just like a scene from the movies!”
Reviewed 16 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

I had booked this place at the start of the year for several friends and myself based on the recommendations of mates who've previously booked with Brett.
I must say, his abode was simply amazing, the view was a welcoming change to the busy city life we had all been accustomed to, the air was fresh, clean and an inviting change to my asthmatic condition.

Sneaking out to the hot tub in the middle of the night and enjoying a glass of wine with the night sky above my head was definitely something I could get used to.

The rooms and amenity were clean and everything we wanted was accounted for, after a long day of activities within the local areas from fishing to diving as well as hiking and swimming. It was simply amazing to wind down and enjoy the life of luxury. Affording my own holiday home is definitely on the buck list but for now, if you're looking for an amazing place whether it is a getaway, honeymoon or a gathering of family or friends, this would be one location you wouldn't want to pass up.

Thanks for the hospitality!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael A
1 review
“Beautiful Tropical Retreat”
Reviewed 16 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

My family of 5 (2 adults, 3 children) recently stayed at Wanggulay for 4 nights and we had an absolutely amazing time! I have always loved the idea of living amongst the treetops and, as we woke up to picturesque rainforest views and the sound of native wildlife every morning, my dream was able to become a reality.

My first impression of Wanggulay was "WOW". The property was clean, tidy and well equipped with everything we needed for our stay.
Key features of the property that we loved were the Bali inspired decor, the beautiful surroundings and the pool. We all felt so comfortable and relaxed that we didn't want to leave!

Many thanks to the lovely manager, Tracy, for the warm welcome and guidance on the local area and nearby attractions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GriffinFa...
Berwick, Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Beautiful Xmas Holiday”
Reviewed 24 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

What a great place to spend Christmas. The location is perfect in the mountains high up in the trees. Lots of space to enjoy the breeze flowing through the house. Such a relaxing location away from it all.

After a day out we so look forward to coming home.

Will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Dec 2017
Thank you for coming to stay at our lovely retreat. We so love that feeling of being in the treetops too, and we agree it feels beautiful to come back to9 after a day out! We look forward to welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bretblin
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Place - Delightful Holiday- Great Service and Video Guidebook”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our extended family group booked both places for 5 nights. We had an amazing stay. We walked to the local waterfalls and swam, dined on the balcony in the evening, watched the birdlife and fished from the nearby river.

Note for regular travellers this is one of those places where the photos, as good as they were were no match for the amazing views and ambience of the places. We had one small problem that was quickly sorted out by the manager Tracy. The extra rollaway bed was really appreciated.

The reef is a must do trip. We did this through the owner and he changed our reef trip date to a better weather day for us so glad he did. It was an amazing day out on the reef. We didn't want the holiday to end!

The only suggestion to improve the stay was we received their comprehensive guide book and videos the owner shot after we booked flights, we would have stayed an extra few nights had we seen them before we booked. Cairns is one of those places where there is so much to do- we are coming back next year. This time just my wife and I its perfect for couples too. Thanks also for accommodating our earlier check in!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2017
Hi Claude,

Thanks for your review. Our video guides have been a real hit with our customers and saved them lots of money and got them doing things like they know the tour as a local would. Let us know when you are coming back and we can help organise things. The best time length to stay in Cairns is 7 days. There is so much to do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing