We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot to stay in cairns”
Review of Reef Palms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Reef Palms
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Good value comfy rooms great part of cairns a bit north of the main esplanade

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3monthly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 527 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

me and my parents stayed in reef palm for one night during our visit to cairns. it had been a great experience staying in reef palms. the owners sharon and david had been very helpful and friendly! they offered us lots of accurate advices on excursions and dinning. they even offered us a free ride to the restaurant because it was raining. They did last minute room change for us because our languages were so heavy that we didn't want to take them upstairs. Sharon made lots of phone calls for us as we wanted a helicopter ride. She's very rich of knowledge about the local attractions! they were very considerate, warm and generous!
The room was very clean and it was spacious. we cooked our own breakfast in the kitchenette. there is a landscape pool and free barbecue facilities in the motel as well! shampoo, shower gel, hand wash, shaving gel, body lotion, and hair conditions are provided in the room! The rooms were not expensive so staying there was of good value.it was like paying motel's rate to live in a serviced apartment or a hotel room!
it was around 10 dollars by a cab from the city(the city centre) and 5minutes walk from the waterfront. it takes 3 minutes for a taxi to come to the doorstep.
thanks again Sharon and David! Personally i would like to come back to your accommondation next time when i come to cairns!

Room Tip: there is no elevator in this two storey motel so ground floor rooms make your life easier especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tianze D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Booked online for a brief overnight stay. Have stayed in many of Cairns accomodation rooms and Units,this one rates very highly for me. Very clean, spacious, (had my 23 year old grandson with me), beautifully appointed with kitchenette and small courtyard, and best of all, very pleasant welcoming hosts. It was inexpensive, and a great find. I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed here briefly as a 'cheapie' as part of a bigger trip. We were after something inexpensive, cheerful and decent.

I was very impressed with the Reef Palms. The service was very friendly and welcoming and the cleanliness of the rooms amazing. It really stood out after quite a lot of traveling.

Also, the accommodation was much more spacious than I'd anticipated, well laid out, as was the bathroom. In addition, the pool area is really very nice too. Included was breakfast as well - this was a basic breakfast; cereal, toast, juice, tea/coffee, fruit etc and this was simple but very nice.

This was a great little find and I'm really pleased with the stay we had there.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

We booked a week here from the UK on the basis of the excellent Trip Advisor reviews. It exceeded our expectations. The room was very comfortable and spacious, with functioning kitchenette. We were given the choice of 2 rooms on arrival. Most days there was a list of times when you could have a lift into central Cairns at reception. Advice on local trips/tours and places to visit was full and accurate. Booking trips/tours through them was easy, They made sure we had a door-to-door service from trip organisers and we just paid one bill at the end of the week. When we booked a Great Barrier Reef trip they drove us into Cairns and were waiting to bring us back on our return to Cairns.

The outstanding feature of the motel is the wonderful, caring attention given to guests by Sharon and David. If we had a problem or difficulty they would help. They helped us to sort out an itinerary and book all our flights, for the following weeks touring Australia. That attitude is of course shared by the staff who work with Sharon and David. If all businesses were run like this there would not be a recession.

There is a continental breakfast for $10, and wifi costs $16.75 for 10 hours [good if you stay for a week like us].

Room Tip: Make your requirements known when you book and trust Sharon and David to do what is necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cruisekid61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
6.9 km away
Ingenia Holidays Cairns Coconut
2.3 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.4 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#11 of 63 in Cairns
1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Cairns Harbourside
2.4 km away
Hilton Cairns
Hilton Cairns
#6 of 63 in Cairns
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Palms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Palms

Address: 41-47 Digger St | corner McKenzie Street, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
#7 Family Hotel in Cairns
Price Range: ₹ 5,167 - ₹ 8,046 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Reef Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Reef Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Palms Cairns
Reef Palms Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing