We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waters Edge Apartments
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
104
26
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
104
26
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge balconybedroom swim out apartmentstunning apartmentthese apartmentschildren's playgroundcomfy loungegreat apartmentsstayed for nightsthree bedroommain bedroomserviced apartmentmod conswasher dryernice sizespa bathbooking tripsspecial thanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We hired two of the three bedroom "swimout" apartments for the weekend. In hindsight one apartment probably would have been spacious enough for all of us, but was great to have the room to move. Nothing to complain about

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed in room 29 for one week with our relatives from Ireland and our three children. We absoutley loved our stay. The facilities were excellent and the staff friendly and helpful. The location is fabulous, with a miriad of options for dining and entertainment to suit all ages and tastes. The view from our balcony was to die for, so much so we enquired about apartments for sale! We will definately stay again. SM

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonya862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We stayed in Room 18 for 1 week with our 2 children aged 3 yrs & 2yrs. We loved everything about our apartment and found nothing to fault. the staff were friendly at every stage of our stay. the location is fabulous, especially for entertaining the kids. our apartment was clean and well decorated. the apartment was big enough to please everyone, especially when entertaining friends. we didn't want to leave and will absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment at Waters Edge in late September 2011. In this time we experienced countless problems, including cleanliness issues which seem to be mentioned often (yet are not addressed by staff or management). These problems included:
- Cockroaches: this was the first thing we found upon entering the apartment was a couple of cockroaches on the walls.
- Cleanliness: the benches and floors were sticky when we arrived (meaning my mother mopped the floor on her holiday), the towels had stains on them, as did the couches, there was other peoples hair in the shower, the toilet was dirty and the corners of the bathroom had little piles of dust and dirt.
- Reception unmanned: reception was very rarely manned, we were told by reception that we MUST check out at 10am as cleaners were coming to our room. When we left our room at 10.30, there were no cleaners in sight and reception was unmanned meaning we waited an additional half hour to check out.
- Poor Cleaners: a cleaner knocked on our door the second day we were there and as we would be leaving in 15 minutes, we asked her to return later in the day which she said she would do. However when we returned that night our room had not been cleaned. It was 'cleaned' once over the whole 5 days, which really meant that the old towels had been removed.

If you want to get an overall impression of how management think about cleanliness and customer service, all you need do is read the responses to poor reviews made by management on this site. It is clear that this apartment complex is not customer-oriented.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vuemanager, Manager at Waters Edge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2011

The management and staff at Waters Edge work hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable holiday, and leave with great memories of Cairns and Waters Edge Apartments. We appreciate all feedback and have taken on board the concerns raised in this review. We have now implemented procedures to ensure that in future guests have a mechanism to voice their concerns direct to management during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed for a week at the Waters Edge Apartments in early October and booked a Swim out apartment. The apartment was excellent and the pool facilities great. The apartment was spacious and well equipped with most of the features you would expect in a "5 star" establishment. The location was also good, being in fairly easy walking distance to the centre of Cairns, restaurants etc.

The downside of our stay was the quality of the apartment housekeeping with beds and linen not being consistenly and well serviced. It was hit and miss which is something you shouldn't expect for the price you pay at a place like this. Disappointingly it did not get any better after we raised concerns with management which was disappointing.

Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank Adel-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vuemanager, Manager at Waters Edge Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2011

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Waters Edge Apartments Cairns and that the apartment and pool facilities were great. With regards to servicing of the apartment, we note that Waters Edge Apartments are self-contained apartments. At times this does cause confusion with the guests, as our daily service is not comparable to what is offered at a 5 star hotel. We do provide a daily service, and this entails replacing towels, making of beds and the rubbish is taken out. We are also committed to minimizing the impact we have on our environment. We have a policy in place with respect to replacing towels. If your towel is hanging up, the cleaners assume that you want to use it again, if a towel is left in the bathtub/shower it will be replaced. There are signs in both bathrooms which explain this procedure. The bed linen is not changed on a daily basis, but is changed mid-stay if the guest is staying for 8 days or longer.

I apologise that this was not made clear to the guest during their stay, and we have now implemented procedures to inform guests upon check-in of what the daily service entails. We have also provided guests with the opportunity to raise any housekeeping concerns directy to management during their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews