We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Il Centro Apartment Suites
Ranked #38 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent reception staff”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

We stayed at Il Centro for five nights in March 2011. We booked a room with broadband access but were given a room without (please be aware that not all rooms have broadband). The original room was a bit of a let-down as the carpet looked quite worn and dirty and there was a musty smell to the room. This room was on the top floor and overlooked the back of buildings and had a side view of the pool. The manager moved us to Room 28 which did have broadband access ($15 for three hours) and this was much better as it had new carpet. The outlook was over the street at the front of the building and overlooked the courthouse. It was a much better room than the original. The room was quite comfortable, clean but not spotless, large bathroom with washer and drier and shower over the bath, small kitchenette which was well equipped. The linen is very poor as the sheets are worn and off-white and even had holes in them and the towels are thin and well worn. The room is serviced from Monday to Friday. The girls in reception were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. The position is excellent as it is in a quiet area but not far from all the restaurants, ferry terminals, shopping centres etc. The outside of the premises is in a pretty poor condition. The whole exterior needs a really good clean and uplift as it looks very neglected. There is mould over everything, the lift is dirty, the pool is stark as all of the gardens have been stripped out, there are broken lights which have not been repaired etc. We paid $97 per night which I feel was good value for the room. I would recommend Il Centro only if you get one of the rooms with new carpet and can ignore the outside state of the premises.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with new carpet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    33
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
8
42
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

This is a solid 3 star "apartment" hotel with the friendliest staff we have ever encountered anywhere. The management went above and beyond to accommodate all our whimsical requests. The carpets in some units may need a professional cleaning so just don't walk around in white socks or barefoot unless you want black soles. However for the price, it makes a great "home base" while enjoying cairns. We also stayed at the Harbour Lights close to the water and in the middle of the heaviest rainy season the il Centro room was dryer.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSC0TTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

This place was a real find. Close to the Cairns downtown area and all you could ask for. Quiet and away from the noisy part of town yet walking distance to the main shops, train st5ation and the Esplanade.
The apartment has a separate bedroom and a great little kitchen.
Staff were friendly and helped us with a tour booking. No trouble at all.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heltone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
429 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed at Il Centro for three nights while holidaying in Cairns. We were looking for quality self-contained apartment accommodation within the CBD and we didn't want to pay more than $100 per night. Overall, we found the apartments to be very good, roomy, all the appliances we could want, pool was good, free parking, comfortable bed, within walking distance to restaurants, Esplanade, ferry terminals. About the only downsides were the number of children staying there, which made the pool a bit inaccessible; the garden around the pool was a bit tacky and was undergoing renovations; the outside looked a bit tired and could probably do with a coat of paint. But realistically for $100 a night you really couldn't want more.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Have stayed here a couple of times when we come to Cairns to dive. Always very accommodating, great coffee available and beds very comfortable. Always our choice when we are in Cairns.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.3 km away
Park Regis City Quays
Park Regis City Quays
#16 of 64 in Cairns
532 reviews
0.3 km away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#44 of 64 in Cairns
39 reviews
0.5 km away
Pacific Hotel Cairns
Pacific Hotel Cairns
#7 of 64 in Cairns
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Jack & Newell Cairns Holiday Apartments
0.2 km away
Rydges Plaza Cairns
Rydges Plaza Cairns
#60 of 64 in Cairns
470 reviews
1.1 km away
Cascade Gardens
Cascade Gardens
#22 of 64 in Cairns
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Centro Apartment Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Centro Apartment Suites

Property: Il Centro Apartment Suites
Address: 26 - 30 Sheridan St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Cairns
#24 Luxury Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,849 - ₹ 9,304
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Centro Apartment Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Il Centro Apartment Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Centro Apartment Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing