We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“WRONG HOTEL - BAD ATTITUDE” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Central Plaza Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Central Plaza Apartments
Ranked #56 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“WRONG HOTEL - BAD ATTITUDE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Do NOT book this hotel by accident. This is NOT Best Western Cairns Central Plaza Apartments across from the shopping mall. This is a DIFFERENT hotel and not up to scratch. It is a FAR walk into the city and the room felt low class. There is also no elevator so you will have to haul your luggage up several flights of stairs if you are not on the ground floor.

We had booked at Best Western Cairns Central Plaza Apartments but were given this one by mistake (same name, different location). We later moved to the Best Western at 60 McLeod Street. MUCH better.

Management were nasty about refunding for the remainder of the unused booking.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSC0TTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Central Plaza Apartments, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear TheSCOTTMan,
Thank you for giving us your views. We very much regret that you booked our property under the impression it was somewhere else. We are the only property in Cairns named Best Western Central Plaza Apartments, although there is another Best Western property with the word “Central” in its name nearby. We are just 1.6km along the Esplanade to the Cairns CBD and we are sorry you felt that this was too far. We do not have a lift as it is a maximum of two flights of stairs to any of our self-contained apartments but we are always happy to help with bags when our staff are on site. I hope that clears up a few of the points you have raised and we hope you enjoyed your time in sunny Cairns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    23
    13
    6
    9
See reviews for
15
31
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I stayed here for a night, organised through Q,Health. The booking was in a one bedroom apartment, for one person (queen bed). When I arrived I informed the staff that my husband was joining me. No problem, but cough up another $75 for the night! give me a break!. Did not give us any more towells, coffee or milk. Making it worse, the aparment was stuffy and hot, in only September. No cross ventilation, so we had to use noisy aircon. Also the curtains don't block out much light, so it was daylight in the rooms at 6am. We awoke at 7am that Saturday morning to the noise of building across the road. No warning at all, and when I complained (whcih I rarely do) I was told in thickly accented English, bascially "too bad". Will never go back, and warn off any QHealth staff who were thinking about its close proximity to the hospital. Rydges is much better, and costs Q Health the same!

Room Tip: Certeainly at the back would be better, given the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank switchedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motel M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Central Plaza Apartments, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Switchedoff,
Thank you, Kirsten Palmer for giving us your views. I am very sorry you were upset by aspects of your stay and I would like to explain the reason for the tariff charged. You were booked in under a special Queensland Health corporate rate as negotiated with us by your employer. This rate is for single occupancy. However, as you were travelling with your spouse and two children I do feel that we were entitled to make a charge for the 3 extra persons not included in the original corporate discounted tariff.
I am very sorry that you found the air-conditioning noisy. Our maintenance team has since replaced this airconditioner.
We very much regret you were disturbed by building works nearby. Unfortunately we had no power over the timing of these works. However I am pleased to report that the building is now finished and there are no more disturbances.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your views. I do hope we may see you again on your next visit to sunny Cairns.
Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cairns hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Well priced and very clean. Rooms are spacious and have a full kitchenette. Air conditioners are excellent and plenty of parking. Probably the only let down is no lift and I was on the second story. It's a lot of stairs with a heavy suitcase. I will definitely stay again but this time request a lower floor.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breakerbreaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here for three nights over the Xmas/New Year holidays in a 2 bedroom self contained unit. Unit was wonderful - very spacious and clean - everything provided. The owner was very friendly and very helpful in booking tours. Highly recommend these apartments. Also a very nice pool/spa and BBQ area.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor apartments as there are no lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brizziekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights,Only 2 streets away from the beach, and a $8 taxi ride into the heart of the city. The apartment was great and roomy would def stay there again. Room was very clean and spacious, Would def suit a family. We paid $105 a night, they wanted to charge us $125 but on the internet it said $105. There was plenty of phamlets for things to do, was really helpful.

Only downside is, the reception is only open select hours during the day, and they did not tell us there was a pool, we found this out the last day. Also we were told they serviced the apartments every 3 days, when no one showed up i asked and was told no, weekly.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europe08Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.2 km away
Reef Gateway Apartments
Reef Gateway Apartments
#51 of 66 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.7 km away
Mid City Luxury Suites
Mid City Luxury Suites
#40 of 66 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.3 km away
Bay Village Tropical Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cairns Central Apartments
0.9 km away
Edge Apartments
Edge Apartments
#47 of 88 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.2 km away
Villa Vaucluse Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Central Plaza Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Central Plaza Apartments

Property: BEST WESTERN Central Plaza Apartments
Address: 255-257 Lake St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 88 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,202 - ₹ 11,678
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN Central Plaza Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Best Western Hotel in Cairns. We have 1&2 bedroom holiday apartments in the centre of Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Central Plaza Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing