We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - March 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tropical Heritage Cairns
Ranked #14 of 64 Hotels in Cairns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value - March 2012”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed 2 nights in March 2012. The room was very clean and pretty big. It is a fair price but can be quite a long walk to the centre of Cairns (approximately 10 minute walk to beginning of shops and restaurants). It is however very quiet and there was a free internet station in the front lobby. Front desk customer service was very good and always willing to answer questions and be of help. Didn't eat at hotel restaurant.

Some interesting things about Cairns: if looking to save money on excursions then Tribal Travel in Cairns is an excellent place to go to seek out deals (Erin the owner is amazing and very fun to talk with), the food court in the central shopping mall is a good place to seek out value for money meals, the Cairns night market is not very good, and tonnes of bats out and about during the night time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaCanadianMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    198
    50
    8
    1
See reviews for
86
252
64
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
366 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Had a great stay here!! Rosemary was amazing! we had a large apartment style room plenty of space including microwave, fridge and sink so we were able to keep some breakfast items for morning! Free milk,tea, coffee,and water downstairs you can refill for fridge! No problems with room it was clean, bathroom was fine too! location was good also near Esplanade and close to main area of towne with restaurants and the Lagoon! again Rosemary was so nice and helpful with everything we loved Cairns!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed at the Heritage for 4 nights 2 weeks ago. Rosemary (the hotel manager) was great, not only had she sorted the room to bed three single travellers, but she offered some great advice about local amenities, trips and general tips. Her kindness and good humour really enhanced our stay. The room itself was very large with good beds and kitchen facilities. The shower and air con were working nicely and the pool, although small, was a welcomed addition on a hot day.

All in all, a great value accommodation nicely located a 10-15 min walk from the busier part of town and only a 5 min walk from the esplanade. We would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Well worth emailing through any reasonable requests you may have to Rosemary before your stay. We em...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hutchinsign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for your positive comment. We are all very proud of Rosemary and he fantastic staff, they continues to lead the way to the point that Trip Adviser has awarded the Heritage Cairns the "Travellers Choice Award" for 2012 which is not mean achievement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here last yr on a last minute trip detour to Cairns- had to cancel New Zealand the day before bc of the earthquake in Christchurch so decided to go upto Cairns to see the Great Barrier Reef. Found the Heritage on Tripadvisor and was so happy that we did. Reasonable prices and such friendly service. rosemary helped us plan out activities to sign up for and was super friendly and helpful. Short walk to the esplanade. Room was ok but you get what you pay for and if you are in Cairns you should not be spending too much time in your room, even if there is a cyclone coming through

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
explorerCairns, Owner at Tropical Heritage Cairns, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
We are always pleased to read reviews which as you can see are very positive. Although we offer studio rooms, we also have other categories ranging from Studio to Executive Suites plus a presidential suite which consists of 2 lounges, 2 spa bathrooms, 2 king size bedrooms, 46"3D television in all lounges plus TV in bed rooms. Many of our guests are budget minded and take the studio rooms which are more than adequate but for those who want 4 or 5 star we can accommodate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, Dorset
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Rosemary was very helpful and let us into our room early - as we'd just arrived direct from UK this was much appreciated. The room was very comfortable and all the staff were very friendly. We were there at the same time as several Pastors from Papua New Guinea which made things interesting as we used to work there and made us feel nostalgic! It is a pleasant, intimate hotel and I'd thoroughly recommend it. The wifi was satisfactory.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italophile27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
1.3 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 64 in Cairns
577 reviews
0.3 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 64 in Cairns
1,080 reviews
0.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Coral Tree Inn
Coral Tree Inn
#20 of 64 in Cairns
482 reviews
1.1 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
0.3 km away
Ibis Styles Cairns
Ibis Styles Cairns
#15 of 64 in Cairns
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Heritage Cairns? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Heritage Cairns

Property: Tropical Heritage Cairns
Address: 8 Minnie St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cairns
#4 Spa Hotel in Cairns
#5 Family Hotel in Cairns
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,259 - ₹ 7,872
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Heritage Cairns 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Taxi service is available approx $20 each way between airport and hotel. Pool is basically large Spa. Internet is available at reception and wifi available throughout hotel. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, fridge, flat screen TV, en-suites and air conditioning . All rooms recently refurbished. We look forward to your visit to Cairns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tropical Heritage Cairns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Cairns Hotel Cairns
Heritage Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing