We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only reason to go to Cairns” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Ranked #12 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The only reason to go to Cairns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Were it not for Gilligans anyone making a trip up the east coast would be very dissapointed!
Rooms are huge and ensuite with nice balconies (bar the 10 bed dorms) which are ideal to laze around/drink with your newly found friends
The kitchen area is fine but could do with a few more working toasters and fridges are locked at 10 which can be frustrating but there are plenty of places to eat near-by.
Free backpacker meal is great and can upsize for a paltry $3 which makes it a proper meal.
Comfy beds,great atmosphere and ensuite,what more could you ask for,not to mention entry to the best club in Cairns.
Just be aware no visitors after 10 and always have your door key as the (infamous) guy on reception can be very overzealous and needlessly aggressive (had to deduct a mark for it)

Room Tip: Dont pick the cheapest dorm there is no balcony and its only a few dollars cheaper. Club is thumpin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    289
    127
    53
    65
See reviews for
10
74
308
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ella
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

The best place for backpackers in cairns. Awesome place, Mind blowing night life, Insane Bar and club.. Must stay if you are in cairns...

Room Tip: 6 Bed rooms with the balcony is the best!!1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UHE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Some Aussie friends recommended this hostel. I am glad they did. I was in Cairns to do some diving on a liveaboard. Gilligans has a free shuttle that picks you up from the airport. It is a 15 - 20 min ride to Gilligans, which is in the middle of downtown Cairns. I spent 2 nights and had a great time. I stayed in a 8 bunk room. 6 girls and me and another guy. The room was a mess from my other bunk mates, and obvious nights on end of partying. My bed was nice and organized with clean sheets and a blanket.

Everyone was welcoming and made room for my stuff.

There was 1 shower and bath. Everyone was so friendly and the building itself and rooms seem relatively new. When you arrive it has an open setting with reception - tours and across from the reception is the night club that goes off at night.

It is a 10 walk to all kinds of restaurants for any price range. There are a number of super nice restaurants in Cairns. However, if your on a budget Gilligans serves a free meal most nights (I heard it was nothing special but free) I did not give the free meal a try. Across form the reception is a place that sells pizza slices which is great when partying late night.

Early evening everyone hits the balcony's and plays beer pong - and it is the beginning of the party. From there the nightclub and all night.

If you want a quiet hostel this is not your place and don't look for sleep. But if you want to party - have fun and meet other people who can share travel info this is your place.
I normally don't stay in hostels but this was a model one - large - with pool - nightclub - bars - shopping - tours - good looking people - with everything you can ever want in one place.

It is a cheap place to stay too - a great value - I only paid $26 / night. They ask for like a $30 room key deposit at check in and refund it at check out when you return the key.

I had so much fun - and did not care about sleep - I wish I would have stayed longer with my bunk mates.

Go there find some cute girls to party with - and have fun!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Rooms are clean and large, night club is fun, great concierge services.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amarieb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I recently stayed in Gilligans for 3 nights and really enjoyed my stay. We had a double room which was clean, spacious and the beds were soooo comfortable.... i slept like a baby, especially after my dive trip! Bathroom was big and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful and well organised. I certainly reccommend anyone to stay in gilligans. Perfect location to everywhere in cairns and great place to meet people!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cairns hotels
0.6 km away
Novotel Cairns Oasis Resort
0.8 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
1.0 km away
Cairns Plaza Hotel
Cairns Plaza Hotel
#10 of 65 in Cairns
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Reef Palms
Reef Palms
#3 of 65 in Cairns
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.4 km away
Tropic Days Backpackers
1.7 km away
Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort

Property: Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort
Address: 57-89 Grafton St, Cairns, Queensland 4870, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Cairns
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 89 Speciality Lodging in Cairns
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,247 - ₹ 7,482
Hotel Class:2 star — Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilligan's is the ultimate experience in accommodation and entertainment set in the heart of Cairns. Offering guests stylish backpacker accommodation, nightly entertainment and a relaxed atmosphere whilst soaking up the sun, why choose to stay anywhere else?All room types are fully equipped with full en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and four floors of communal areas. Or perhaps try our deluxe dormitories; designed to offer that little bit extra. Available in 4 and 6 bed configurations, these rooms offer TVs, refrigerators and some have a private balcony to kick back and relax after a long day at the reef, rainforest or even a lazy day by our pool.Free linen, Free car parking, Free crockery use in kitchens, VIP prices for in house guests, Half price to our international DJ eventsand so much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Gilligans Backpackers Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel And Resort
Gilligans Backpackers Hotel Cairns

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing